We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The perfect base to explore the Lakes!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of How Foot Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
How Foot Lodge
Ranked #8 of 22 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“The perfect base to explore the Lakes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Coming from South Africa, we wanted something affordable but also beautiful. Our plan was to explore the Lakes for a few days so we looked for a bed and breakfast in Grasmere. Most of the places were above our budget, and then we discovered How Foot Lodge. What a treat! Great value for money and what a beautiful establishment! From our room, we heard sheep baaing and we saw rabbits hopping all over the field. Breakfast was 5 star and the fruit salad was more like dessert! We really didn't want to leave How Foot but we know that one day when we visit the Lakes again, we will definitely be spending some time at this B 'n B!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    17
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
84
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

fantastic location, great views, amazing breakfast (inc fresh fruit salad! and eggs from the garden hens), great hosts. highly recommended..

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank janecayman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginosar, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

very good,highly recommended! very frindly people, good breakfast very nice rooms

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leshem_ilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Fl
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Kate and Mike are amazing. Their home and accomodations are even better!
Gracious and accommodating in every way. Breakfast is outstanding, with special extras. Mike is also the chef at the Columbria restaurant, next door - so you can expect perfection! The minestrone is to die for! They are also next door to the Wordsworth Dove cottage & museum. They are a short walk from the village of Grassmere, an absolutely wonderful Eden.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a wonderful sunroom and garden/dale views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yayaAlyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We have been visiting this place for many years now and it never fails to live up to the memories and standards.
Before we leave we are sure to make another booking to come back.
Both Kate and Mike make you feel so welcome both in the B&B and the restaurant.
You are sure to put a few pounds on, after eating at these wonderful places.
Also, in Winter there is a beautiful log fire to welcome you in the morning.
The rooms are individual, welcoming and spotless.
Thankyou Mike and Kate for some wonderful breaks. See you soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonzodog75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

How Foot is unbeatable. The central Lakeland location is marvellous, with Dove Cottage and the Wordsworth Museum just down the lane and footpaths to Rydal and fells just up the lane. The hospitality is first rate, with magnificent breakfasts (try the amazing Continental one if you can't cope with full English). Closeness to the excellent Colombina restaurant is a decided plus. The rooms are a delight - all of them are spacious and light (except for the slightly dark suite at the back, but this makes up in space for what it lacks in light). We have been here many times and would always make it our base for a visit to The Lakes.

Room Tip: All are delightful, but room 5 is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richarddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

Stayed here on our c2c holiday. What can I say? 10 out of 10 on all counts! The warm welcome was much appreciated after an exhausting wet day of walking. The room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and warm. Stayed in a double room (very spacious) with the added benefit of a sun room. Comfortable bed with arm chairs to watch flat screen tv. Breakfast was superb. Delicious and plentiful. Location was again, spot on, less than a five minute walk to the heart of Grasmere. Kate the hostess was friendly and helpful. Couldn't recommend this B & B enough. If you are staying in Grasmere - stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orange6566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.2 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 15 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.6 km away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 15 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#3 of 15 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
1.2 km away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 15 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.8 km away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#2 of 15 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to How Foot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about How Foot Lodge

Property: How Foot Lodge
Address: Howe Foot Lodge Town End, Grasmere LA22 9SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
How Foot Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing