We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“'Perfect'” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“'Perfect'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We have just returned from a three night stay at the Grasmere Hotel and cannot praise it highly enough. The management of the hotel is superb though unobtrusive and every attention is paid to detail. The decor in our bedroom and downstairs rooms was very tasteful and there was a sense of quiet calm throughout the house and the secluded garden which backs onto the river. The food was delicious with excellent service and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. I cannot think of a single negative thing to say about this hotel and I would definitely go back there

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Applewonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    29
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
492
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We called in at the hotel looking for a room for the night and were given a warm welcome and shown to a beautiful en-suite room to the front of the house. After a relaxing sit in the river bounded garden we enjoyed a pre-dinner drink in a tastefully furnished lounge. Our food was of exceptional quality at a very reasonable rate. The hotel has a friendly and homely feel. The service is first rate and we hope to return very soon. A big thank you to all of the staff. Nigel & Chika

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelohare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We wanted a short break in the Lakes and couldnt have been better looked after, the owners went out of their way to accomodate our dietry preferences (one of us is gluten intolerant), they asked on booking and remembered on arrival, they adapted specific dishes wherever they could to accommodate. We also noted they catered specifically for vegetarians on request

Rooms very comfortable, nice lounge and very friensly helpful owner.

When we stayed in early April the owners had only be in for a few months and we can see this hotel is definately going up.

Would throughly recommend to those who like excellent food, relaxing environment on the edge of the main tourist hotels.

Room Tip: We stayed at first floor rear, room was quiet with excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I recently enjoyed a superb 1 night stay at the Grasmere Hotel with my Mum and Sister. The owners have done a fantastic job refurbishing this Victorian house and the whole place is comfortable and welcoming but also with a touch of luxury reflected in the stylish interiors. It also offers excellent value for money. Highlights are the elegant lounge with oak panelling, luxurious sofas and beautiful chandeliers (where we enjoyed afternoon tea and pre-dinner drinks) and the superb restaurant overlooking the garden. Dinner was first class, the menu is small but perfectly formed and the breakfast excellent too! Bedrooms were lovely and comfortable and the whole place was absolutely spotless - great attention to detail. The only thing missing was a larger choice of wines or Champagne by the glass for pre-dinner drinks and maybe a small cocktail list for special occasions! Well done to the team at Grasmere - we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We don't ever, ever go back anywhere more than once, but breaking the habit of a lifetime, we just spent 5 nights here for the third consecutive year, same week, and it just gets better. The new refurbishments going on mean the place is going from strength to strength, and a new less fussy menu still gives adequate choice; portions are big enough for a Lancashire man or a Yorkshire man, but delicate enough in presentaiton and flavour to suit the most sophisticated taste. A very adequate wine list, attentive but not obtrusive staff mean we have already booked the garden room for next year, so if you want it you will have to book a different week to that comencing 28th April!!! Well done Rob, Anton, John and all the staff, we look forward to ur next visit.

Room Tip: Go for the downstairs rooms for easy access as there is no lift yet! The Wordsworth room opens strai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed initially for 1 night DB&B and were so impressed we returned 2 weeks later for a 3 day break. The hotel is in a superb location close to the village centre and park and the rear garden backs onto the river Rothey providing a haven of tranquility for Guests. We were greeted by the owner Rob who together with all of the staff made us feel very welcome. The food prepared by co-owner Anton was of very high quality and plentiful and its presentation has to be seen to be believed. The public rooms were comfortable and finished to a very high standard and guests were invited to congregate before dinner for Canapes and pre dinner drinks in the lounge before moving to the well appointed dining room which overlooked the rear garden. We have stayed at some point in most of the hotels in Grasmere and without doubt this hotel is by far the best, friendly helpful staff, superb food, wonderful location, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobvanderPalen, Owner at Grasmere Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We enjoyed welcoming you again to the Grasmere Hotel. Thank you for mentioning the staff. They work really hard to make our guests feel at home.
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed one night here and were delighted by the elegant furnishings and also the delicious food at a bargain price. Canapes served in the lounge before dinner and half bottles of wine available for the modest drinker. The staff were helpful - we had a wonderful time. It accommodates dogs, too, so we will definitely be back again, next time for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Beautiful views across to a sparkling stream and the hills around Grasmere from the rooms at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobvanderPalen, Owner at Grasmere Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are grateful for your kind comments. The Lake District is a wonderful place to bring a dog. Therefore we welcome 1 well behaved dog in a few of our rooms. Unfortunately, in view of the inconvenience it might cause to other guests, we regret that we can not allow dogs in the public areas.
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.9 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
11.4 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
11.8 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
14.9 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
28.5 km away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Property: Grasmere Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing