We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Break”
Review of Oak Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oak Bank Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My husband and I have just spent 4 days at the Oak Bank Hotel in Grasmere and Simon and Glenys are to be commended on the hotel, the food and the welcome. This will have been our fourth visit all of which have been beyond excellent and we will certainly be going back.
John and Janet Rigby

Room Tip: Room 2 and Room 7 are our favourite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bretonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

In February we visited Oak Bank for the fourth time since March 2011 - it just draws you back! The welcome received from Simon & Glynis and their staff is wonderful, they all work so hard to ensure your stay is first class. Perfection is hard to achieve (many hotels have excellent individual points) but Oak Bank certainly hits the mark with lovely, warm comfortable rooms, stunning food and such attention to detail without being obtrusive. We enjoy chatting with other guests before dinner and find that like us many are returning visitors and all agree that this is a first choice when thinking of visiting Grasmere or the Lake District. Roll on May for our next visit!

Room Tip: We have stayed in three different rooms and all are lovely. If you walk a lot and need to relax alw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolydaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed at Oak Bank, for the first time, for 4 nights at Easter and were completely bowled over. First and foremost the food is absolutely stunning-in fact some of the best we have ever eaten, including at many top London restaurants. Portion sizes are just right so you never feel you have overdone it and the chef relies on great local produce, skill and an amazing palate, rather than lots of cream and salt. Service is impeccable and the atmosphere is lovely. Oh, and the breakfasts are divine, with extra touches added for Easter. Rooms are spotless and also with lots of extra touches eg a mini decanter of sherry. The hotel is perfectly located for walking - you can go straight out the door in any direction and find great walks - no need for a car at all. Simon and Glynis work incredibly hard to make sure everything is perfect and deserve every success.

Room Tip: Room 6 is perfect for one person but might be too small for 2 - although it has everything you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

booked Oak Bank by mistake, we were trying to remember the name of the hotel next door where we'd stayed a year or so earlier. But Oak Bank was fantastic, lovely room with the benefit of a top floor room. The food was stunning and we all had a great time.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We are frequent visitors to Grasmere but had not stayed at Oak Bank and did so as a result of reviews. The exterior of the hotel does not prepare you for the beautiful and tasteful decor to be found within. The public rooms and bedrooms, each decorated differently with great style are spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. The owners obviously take great pride in welcoming you to stay and the food was exquisite and far superior to some other meals which we have eaten in Michelin starred restaurants. Would we return ? we booked on our return home for ourselves and friends and would recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates excellent accommodation and superb food.
Dianne and Stephen

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandSHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Our 2nd stay and 2nd Easter break at the Oak Bank Hotel and it was every bit as good as the last stay. The food was exceptional and we ate in the Hotel 3 nights this time and could not fault anything. We had room 6 (again) and it was lovely and cozy. The breakfasts are really good, with a good chioce and all freshly cooked. Had some nice wines with the meals and if you are a Red Wine lover, try the Black Siraz.

We met some lovely people at the Hotel, and a family who have been going there for years, go back a couple of times a year.

The Hotel and the staff are a credit to Simom and Glynis who all work really hard to ensure your stay is a perfect one.

Looking forward to going back to the Oak Bank in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Murraysx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We booked a 3 night weekend break including dinner each evening. We were delighted with the experience and have only knocked off one star because the en suite was cramped. It would, therefore, have benefited from having a shower rather than a bath. Moreover the bath controls did not work properly.
Having got that out of the way, we can only award plus points all round for location, service, comfort and value for money. The hotel 'punches well above its weight' in terms of its food. The menu changed daily. The principal ingredients were locally sourced and the dishes (and the chef's 'extras') were presented with many additional touches and refinements. This was fine dining modestly priced. An extra benefit - and one rarely experienced - is that Oak Bank operates a 'flat pricing' policy across a very decent wine list; so that we were able to enjoy a Faiveley Côtes de Beaune and a Jadot St Véran each at around £25 a bottle.
Glynis and Simon are to be congratulated and should be supported - though not to the extent of prejudicing our future bookings.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NatGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
11.7 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.2 km away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,544 reviews
0.3 km away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
866 reviews
0.6 km away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: $130 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette awarded beautiful dining room and conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oak Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing