We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a rest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Travellers Rest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Travellers Rest Inn
Ranked #7 of 21 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a rest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed 23 - 26 March. A very enjoyable stay. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very good and looked to be modern and recently re-furbished.
The meals we had were excellent (enjoyed the beer too). We had dinner an breakfast at the inn. The staff were friendly and helpfull.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    154
    61
    31
    28
See reviews for
71
237
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We booked into the Travellers Rest for two nights over the Easter weekend, looking forward to a relaxing time and well earned rest. The room we were allocated was at the front of the hotel adjacent to the main road. The room itself was very clean, but in my opinion very cramped, especially the toilet and shower. The main problem however was the noise from the road, which was probably busier due to it being the bank holiday weekend and as such we hardly slept at all on the first night. The breakfast was very good and when after enjoying a fantastic, but tiring day walking in the nearby mountains, decided that we did not want to risk another sleepness night and decided to check out early. To be fair to the proprietor they did offer to find us alternative accommodation, but we decided to cut our losses and leave any way

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front of the accommodation, as they are very close to the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tug568wil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at the Travellers Rest in Grasmere at the end of March 2012 and were very impressed with the beautifully presented bedrooms, excellent food (including the very good value packed lunches which we acquired for our ascent of Helvellyn) and the extremely helpful, knowledgeable and friendly staff. Would definitely revisit and recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We ate at the Travellers rest at lunchtime, and as with all the places we visited in the Lake District we found it friendly and comfortable with good wholesome food. So much so we did not want to go, and had to force ourselves hence it being like a gluepot!

All the food looked and smelt delicious, so much so we could not choose, but opted for a main size portion of a starter which turned out to be a real winner. It was the Hunters Skillet - definitely only for the real meat lover, which consisted of lambs liver, bacon, wild mushrooms and garlic served on a hot skillet and accompanied by fresh bread. It was fabulous, and so was my pan fried chicken.
This is a very welcoming and cosy pub with nice staff and great food, and is definitely worth a visit on your trip round the lakes.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Murff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have visited Travellers Rest for meals before but never stayed,
pleasently supprised at the cumfort , Hospitality and good food & friendly staff nothing was to much trouble , lovely views ,some road noise on the front.

Room Tip: Preferably at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PrestonWalker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange over Sands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

A perfect oasis after a day on the fells. Beautifully situated just above Grasmere with stunning views along the valley. Slate floors, open fires, and obliging staff made for a relaxed and enjoyable visit. I ordered Sea Bream, which was so delicious and succulent. A very impressive dish. This was followed by endorphin heaven with the Chocolate Molten Pudding, and all my energetic work on the fells was wasted.
This is an idyllic find in the Lakes with an unpretentious, genuine atmosphere and good food away from the throng of tourists elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This was our first visit to The Travellers Rest in Grasmere and I must say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.It was a welcoming atmosphere and both Room and Restaurant were first class.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.Room was a little on the small side, but my wife and I were out and about all day,so this was not that important.We will definitely return at a future date in the not too distant!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the rear of Hotel.We were at the front so there was a little bit of road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
1.4 km away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
0.7 km away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
1.4 km away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
1.4 km away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Travellers Rest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Travellers Rest Inn

Property: The Travellers Rest Inn
Address: Dunmail Raise, Grasmere LA22 9RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Travellers Rest Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot fo Helvellyn on the outskirts of the picturesque village fo Grasmere, The 16th century Travellers Rest Inn enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of the Lake District National Park. The Travellers Rest offers an award winning restaurant with an extensive range of dished created from the finest local produce, a traditional bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Travellers Rest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Travellers Rest Hotel Grasmere
Travellers Rest Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing