We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ladywood Lodge

The Lodge at Ladywood in autumn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge at Ladywood in autumn
Main sitting room Fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
The Lodge at Ladywood in autumn
Main sitting room
Fireplace
King size bed
Dining area, with table, chairs and window seat
Kitchen
Patio
View of the Lodge from White Moss Common
Lodge private woodland garden
Lodge private woodland garden
Ladywood main garden in autumn
Ladywood main garden in summer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Grasmere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CathyW209...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 5, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

If you’re looking for high end perfection go somewhere else. If you’re looking for natural rustic beauty where you can truly relax, then this is the place for you. The moment I stepped inside the lodge I felt immediately relaxed like I’d come home. The place wraps its arms around you and engulfs you in warmth and tranquility. All my stresses just melted away. The place has everything you need to create your own bit of heaven. It is basic and simple, warm, comfortable, and nestled in beautiful grounds in a mature garden with a wood at the bottom. It is 15 minutes at the most from grasmere and 3 miles by the side of the lake rydal to Ambleside. It’s set right back from any traffic noise so all you hear is the sound of birdsong. The host, Ruth, was very warm and friendly and shared the history of the lodge with me. You’ll have to book to find out more about it! I totally recommend this beautiful place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ladywood lodge”
Reviewed November 8, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. My two dogs had a great time exploring the garden. The lodge was spacious, a little cold but it was November. I will definitely be booking again. My little piece of heaven...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax”
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We wanted to spend a long weekend somewhere peaceful and Ladywood Lodge was perfect. The Lodge has a large main room which also contains the very comfy bed. Seperate kitchen and bathroom are both small but everything works well. The shower cubicle is tight but it's a good shower. Everything was very clean and all the utensils, crockery etc is good quality. We took our 2 dogs who enjoyed exploring the large gardens surrounding the Lodge and the main house. We found it difficult to find at 11pm when everywhere was pitch black. Perhaps a small light near the tiny sign near the road would help. We have loved our stay and hope to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jul 2018
Since this review was written we have changed cleaners, and the owner Ruth now lives in the main house and is able to oversee the cleaning. We have also upgraded several of the furnishings, including the sofas.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
opticook
middle england
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Superb Location, Disappointing Cottage”
Reviewed November 27, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
3
people found this review helpful

: The cottage was ideally situated for walks and country activities, but lacked what I would regard as basic amenities.
Heating was inadequate throughout, lighting in the kitchen and lounge was not fully working, kitchen (entrance lobby really), was very small, poorly equipped (no toaster, no grill pan or frying pan), minimal crockery, cutlery and food prep equipment. Don't even think about cooking anything apart from breakfast.
The small bathroom (down two steps form the lounge) had a quirky electric shower arrangement and the towel rail cable had electrical tape around it. The small mirror was high on the wall, so if you are not tall enough you couldn't use it. No hooks for dressing gown.
Lounge was spacious with great views to the outside, but was cold. The fire surround was loose and dangerous. (fell forward twice during our stay!) TV 'stand' seemed like an afterthought, wi-fi was good but only in the window area.
The property is generally tired, poorly maintained and needs some updating. It could be really excellent with some attention to detail.
A torch and means to light the fire would be helpful.
It was not properly prepared before our arrival and the cleaner was sitting outside in her car, with the engine running, as we were packing our car to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Heating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2018
Thank you for these comments. Over the last six months we have addressed most of them. We have fixed the heater that was not working, and ensured that the storage "boosters" are also operating properly when switched on. We have replaced the TV and re-organised the sitting area in front of the fireplace, so everything fits properly. We have replaced the toaster, provided a frying pan and baking tray. There is lots of crockery stored in the cupboards in the mahogany cupboards in the main room.
Importantly, we have also replaced the cleaners, and the owner Ruth is now living on site and is able to oversee the cleaning and respond instantly if there are any problems.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jul 2018
Since this review was written we have taken steps to upgrade the Lodge.
We have put in new sofas and TV, and re-organised the sitting area in front of the fireplace. We have changed cleaners, and the owner Ruth is not living at the main house so is able to keep a close eye on the cleaning and respond if there are any problems.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
fatange
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Ladywood Lodge”
Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Had a very relaxing stay again in this comfy, cosy lodge. Main room comprises dining, living and sleeping space with separate kitchen and bathroom off....and the main room is huge! Heaters in all rooms and we found it lovely and warm. It is nice and clean and both the sofa and bed are extremely comfy. Instant hot water from small tanks which heat super quick. We had some beautiful walks to Rydal Cave and down to the Badger Bar, and to Grasmere along the lake. Rydal Water itself is gorgeous with lots of places to swim and splash about, as there is no boating here. Rainy days were just as good, with plenty of books, games and puzzles to do plus a to and iPod dock...and wifi (best signal sitting near the window). But the main selling point for me....just peaceful, quiet and secluded...wonderful. Loved every minute of our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded...but 5 minute walk to Rydal Water and main road for walk or bus.
Liked least: Nothing I really disliked. If pushed, would say fridge was small, but it has to be for kitchen size.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing