We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Linda R
Market Drayton, United Kingdom

No complaints enjoyed every minute

Review of County Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 24, 2024
A small bright welcoming hotel with friendly staff. The hotel offered a varied menu with excellent presentation. Entertainment good especially the Elvis Tribute from the deputy manager Henry. We could find nothing to complain about, a very enjoyable 4 night break. We will definitely be back
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maya McKeown, Guest Services / Front Office at County Hotel, responded to this review
Responded May 28, 2024
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review, we are glad you enjoyed your holiday & the entertainment. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$136
  • Travelodge
    C$126
  • Agoda.com
    C$107
  • Trip.com
4.2 km from County Hotel
C$214
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$182
  • Hotels.com
    C$215
  • Tripadvisor
    C$182
0.1 km from County Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$179
  • Hotels.com
    C$180
  • Algotels
    C$172
  • StayForLong
    C$209
1.5 km from County Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$179
  • Expedia.com
    C$180
  • Agoda.com
    C$154
  • Hotels.com
    C$180
2.2 km from County Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Romney's Apartments, Kendal, UK
C$154
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$154
  • Prestigia.com
1.9 km from County Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Patio View
C$166
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Booking.com
    C$138
  • Expedia.com
    C$139
  • Hotels.com
    C$139
7.1 km from County Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$161
C$146
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$147
  • Hotels.com
    C$147
  • Agoda.com
    C$147
9.1 km from County Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$164
  • Expedia.com
    C$174
0.8 km from County Hotel
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$182
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$172
  • Algotels
6.8 km from County Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kendal
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
311
129
49
17
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
311
129
49
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self drive evening entertainment coach driver coach holiday opposite the railway station coach parties local buses staff shortage bar prices lake district walk in shower lovely hotel enjoyed our stay third floor single room high standard lovely break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 521 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2024

Hotel is very clean, well decorated. Our room (115) had plenty of drawer space but no hooks to hang a coat up and only five hangers in wardrobe. as another reviewer said, it is at the back of hotel overlooking laundry, kitchen and fire escape, and believe me, the noise from 7am until quite late at night is VERY annoying. Had to keep windows closed, not good in the heat wave we had. Food was just OK. Very little veg given ( four bits of green beans and five baby carrots on first evening) and what we did have was solid. Teapots either need a good clean or replace. Service a bit haphazard, meals are all pre-ordered ( dinner ordered at breakfast time and breakfast ordered at evening meal) and we had wrong orders brought to the table more than once. I chose chicken tikka one evening, no chicken in it at all, told the waitress and she brought another one out which only had 3 pieces of gristly chicken in it. Not impressed. The bar/entertainment room is a bit cramped when full. Only one draught beer on offer )(there is lager though) which was unbelievably gassy, took far too long to settle and when it did ended up with three quarters of a pint. Asked bar staff to fill it to a pint. Saw a few others not happy with the measures they had. The bar closed before 11 on first night while entertainment was still on with no "last orders" called or any notice in case anyone wanted another drink. Got there on a Wednesday, Thursday and Friday we went into town for a drink. On our last night the bar was shut at 10.20pm (on a Saturday!!) again with no notice whatever. Staff just seemed to want to get out of there. So,needless to say will not be returning.

Room tip: don't accept room 115
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hibbertbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maya McKeown, Guest Services / Front Office at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2024

Sorry to hear your experience at the hotel was unsatisfactory, if you did want to formally complain please contact us on info@daishs.com where we can assist further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2024

Just returned from a lovely stay at the County Hotel Kendal.
Hotel very clean. Rooms comfortable, nice bathrooms.
Food very nice and good choice.
Staff very friendly and obliging.
Entertainment good.
Hotel situated for easy access to the bus station and the town centre.
Issue with the shower which was dealt with promptly.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carla Manners, Owner at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2024

Thankyou for taking the time to leave a lovely review. We welcome your feedback.
I am pleased you enjoyed your room, and that the food was good.
I am happy the shower issue was dealt with quickly so you could continue to enjoy your stay with us.
I really do hope we see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2024

First time travelling with daishs.
Been on more expensive coach holidays which included trips out but daishs dont and that meant we could do our own thing.
Never stayed in the lake district before so quite exciting.
We had room 106.
Saw a fan when we entered the room and thought that's good.
Then every evening blazing sun shining in at 5pm warming the room up.
The room was ok but not large but had a beautiful large bathroom with walk in shower.
The room was too warm for us, so if you like a nice warm room ask for 106.
View was awful, so keep net curtain on.
Food was ok.
BReakfast was excellent.
Museli beautiful.
Dinner most days was good but 2 nights the soups were well watered down and pretty awful and one man didn't get any as they had run out.
Leak and potato soup had no taste.
The other night soups were lovely.
The roast dinners great with fresh veg. And plenty of roasties.
Puddings ok.
Eton mess lovely.
Service was slow at times but I can understand they are working on a shoestring.
Meal times kept changing.
Entertainment first night was henry the deputy manager as Elvis.
I'm not a great fanof elvis. But henry was very professional. Fantastic guitar playing.
Small Dance floor and we had a couple of dances.
Second night Jason Stewart singer who was great and had good songs to Dance to.
Next night the turn didn't turn up due to being broken down.
On the last night Michael khan. Again excellent and with lots of dancing going on.
Hotel 10 minute walk from bus station.
Send off for a bus timetable to lake district information centre and plan your routes in advance.
In spring bring plenty of wet weather gear and your bus pass.
Forget the brolly just a hindrance.
And just enjoy the lake district even if it's wet.
We had rain, hail but plenty of sun.
It was all gorgeous.
Bath buns from the tea shop in Ambleside are delightful.
We will return.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John2578
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maya McKeown, Guest Services / Front Office at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2024

Thankyou for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay we will pass your kind comments onto the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2024

Our room (115) was very pleasant and comfortable huge double bed. Spacious bathroom with large walk in shower. No view except the fire escapes and laundry room but we didn't spend that much time in the room. The noise from the washers/dryers was a bit annoying. Food all good, the usual Daish's standard, in the main served hot, with a smile. The entertainment on 2 evenings was Jason and Shirley, hilarious as usual! I wonder where he gets his energy from. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 892hazeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria Green, Guest Services / Front Office at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2024

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review.

We are so pleased to hear you had a lovely holiday.

We look forward to seeing you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2024

Requested a view & bath if possible & got both.Had a good view of the remains of the castle from bedroom window.Plenty of hot water for baths & showers.Good food ,good service, good entertainment.Friendly polite staff. Bus service to other locations nearby.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linfreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria Green, Guest Services / Front Office at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2024

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review.

We are so pleased to hear you had a lovely holiday.

We look forward to seeing you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews