We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“WOW! What a dream!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crosthwaite House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crosthwaite House
Ranked #22 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW! What a dream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Amazing house, outstanding food, warm and friendly atmosphere, lovely personal touches, spacious immaculately clean room, superb scenic countryside views. Tiree and Sam were wonderful hosts, nothing was too much trouble.

We especially loved the private seating area outside our room & the homemade damson jam.

Thank you for the best ever 3 night break we have ever had.

Jeanette & Nick

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 (Merryweather room) which was positioned at the rear of the property with views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanetteManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Hello both

Thanks so much for taking time to post a review - our first for 2012 season :)
Your comments are so kind, we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again, best wishes Sam and Tiree xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
39
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Breakfast is out of this world, rooms are crafted in meticulous artistic detail. Exceptionally clean, beautiful views and if you have the fortune to stay here I'm sure you will agree, xx

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funkyj30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Wow thank you so much for this review! Very kind of you to bestow us with such compliments! Glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again. Best wishes Sam and Tiree x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

This is the kind of B n B I dream of and I will definitley re visit. It is tasteful and friendly and I loved all the little touches like fresh flowers and home made juices etc. Lovely white bed linen, yummy biscuits in my room , aga egg was a revelation and really lovely genuine hosts who obviously like their job and do it so well and effortlessly. I loved it. I stayed in single room which was great and I sneaked a peek at the other rooms which looked wonderful too. The area is great and the pub down the road is excellent so go visit and enjoy!

Room Tip: Front rooms have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trinity M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Gosh thanks for such a glowing review - we're both so pleased you enjoyed your stay and took the time to tell others - we're very grateful :)

We hope to see you again,

Best wishes Sam and Tiree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

My hubby and I stayed at Crosthwaite House for 2 nights. We had a full itinery - the original need for a stay was to visit the superb Brewery Arts Centre in Kendal to see Midge Ure - who was, incidentally, fantastic as usual :)

Anyway, back to Crosthwaite House. The lovely owners were warm and welcoming and did not bat an eyelid when our 2 small dogs were not very well behaved and my hubby had to return pronto to settle them.

The dogs had the run of the orchard, which was accessible from our room at the back of the house - the garden room. The room was warm, comfortable and beautifully decorated.

We made use of the most comfortable lounge one night - Tiree lit the real fire for us and chilled our wine - my only complaint was that I fell asleep for the end of the film after a full day walking!

The food was superb. I am a fair cook myself, so am not easily impressed - but the homegrown and home cooked breakfast, plus choice of menu was really something else - we didn't even need lunch afterwards!

We did however eat dinner at the nearby Hare and Hounds - very well worth a visit too!

On leaving, Sam and his Dad recommended we go to nearby Gummer's How - I was thrilled to conquer it and reach the Trig - I felt like I was very close to heaven up there!

We will most definitely return to Crosthwaite - it is the sort of place you wished you lived in.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a view over the Lyth Valley. The garden room at the back, where we staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieH1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Hello!
Thanks so much for posting such a fab review for us, and for taking the time to go into such detail - very kind of you. We're very excited to have our first guest photos posted too :)
Glad you all enjoyed your stay...your not the first guest we've had to fall asleep by that fire! ;)
Take care and hope to see you again, best wishes Tiree and Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed here last month taking 3 rooms for my sisters, friend and mother-in-law. Mother-in law got the best room - single facing the front with excellent views over the hills.! All bathrooms the same with shower, nice white towels and toiletries. We were given use of the front room, which was a bonus so all 5 of us could meet, chat and have a glass of wine before going out. The fire was lit both nights as well which is a real novelty for us townies.
Breakfast consisted of cereals and/or a granola mix with fresh fruit and greek yoghurt which is nice. On top of that there is then the usual full breakfast or a specials board. Plenty of tea, toast and coffee. Very pleasant owners who have recently taken over the house from their parents. We were allowed to have our little dog stay too.
There is a pub/restaurant 2 mins down the road - nice but expensive. We enjoyed The Hare & Hounds the following night more - more relaxed, cheaper and fantastic food. (need to drive to this one though). Bowness on Windermere itself isn't too far away.
So overall - would stay here again. We have stayed in numerous places over the years. Recommend for both service and value. Thank You to the Owners.

Room Tip: Rooms at fron will give you the view of the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBRchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed and complimentary review :)
We're really glad you all enjoyed your stay, and we love it when groups use the lounge, so it was great to have you all enjoying a drink by the fire. We hope to see you all again

best wishes

Sam and Tiree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

I stayed at Crosthwaite house while attending a friends wedding. My room was both clean and very homely. We were made to feel very welcome and even had a brief walk round the orchard. The breakfast is absolutely gorgeous the balsamic roasted tomatoes and aga fried eggs are a must. Even homemade apple and elderflower juice is on offer. If you're looking for a getaway with gorgeous views, friendly family service and a eal Cumbrian experience, please visit Crosthwaite house, it's just lovely.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahUK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Thanks for posting a review for us! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us...and particularly glad you liked the home pressed apple and elderflower - Sam's dad does a grand job of doing all the juicing so I'll pass on your comments to him! Hope to see you again at some point. Best wishes Sam and Tiree x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

A charming B & B near Kendal, the house itself has a great vibe and the food is excellent, with a choice of traditional cumbrian breakfast or the special of the day, e.g. smoked salmon & scrambled eggs on organic brown bread. Choice of cereals or greek yoghurt with fresh fruit & granola (scrummy!) My single room was comfortable with the usual facilities (en suite wc & shower, tea/coffee & tv). Fantastic views of the open countryside from the rooms and a lounge where you can relax in the evening. There's a pub, the Punchbowl, within approx 200 yards, and the area is very peaceful.The hosts, Sam & Tiree, are welcoming and friendly & most importantly for me, allow dogs to stay.in their home. Definately recommend staying here!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahjwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Thanks so much for leaving us such a review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and it's very kind of you to have outlined everything you enjoyed in such detail! We hope to see you again, best wishes Sam and Tiree x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
2.2 km away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
8.3 km away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
2.1 km away
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Underbarrow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Millers Beck
Millers Beck
#8 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
8.7 km away
The Glen Guest House
The Glen Guest House
#6 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
7.7 km away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosthwaite House

Property: Crosthwaite House
Address: Kendal LA8 8BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Lyth Valley on the southern edge of the Lake District National Park, we offer a 3 bedroom self catering apartment. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing