We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Accommodation - not really welcoming...”
The Hyning Estate, Beautiful, Peaceful, a wonderful Retreat and wonderfully warm all year around
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Hyning Estate, Beautiful, Peaceful, a wonderful Retreat and wonderfully warm all year around
Beckside Barns - 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms with optional extra beds Beckside Barns is part of a traditional 'Bank Barn'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
115 reviews
The Hyning Estate, Beautiful, Peaceful, a wonderful Retreat and wonderfully warm all year around
Beckside Barns - 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms with optional extra beds
Beckside Barns is part of a traditional 'Bank Barn'
The large window upstairs has amazing views over the Parkland and Lakeland Fells
The 'default' layout - Kitchen & Dining Upstairs (optionally can be downstairs)
Dining for up to 10 people (potentially 12)
Optional downstairs dining for 8 people (for those with low mobility)
The kitchen with stairs down beyond
Bedroom No 1 (upstairs - double) - there is room for a cot where the camera is.
Bedroom No 2 (upstairs) - room for an optional extra child's bed if required.
Family Bathroom No 1 (upstairs)
Lounge area (downstairs)
Bedroom No 3 (King - downstairs)
Bedroom 4 (downstairs)
Family bathroom 4 (downstairs)
Optional extra bed (downstairs)
The Bar at Reception
The Patio at Reception
Summer drinks on the Patio at Reception
Amazing Sunsets
The Bar and Patio at Reception (at dusk)
The Hyning Estate in bloom (Spring)
Landscaped Grounds
Lambs on the fellside in Spring
EV charging point (free for guests)
The Hyning Estate uses Heat Pumps, Solar Panels, MVHR and low carbon electricity
The Hyning Estate in Winter (Wonderfully warm & Cosy)
Sheep in front of Beckside Barns in the snow
Fireworks on New Year's Eve
Fireworks on New Year's Eve
The nearby Howgill Fells
Lowgill Viaduct
The Lake District in the Autumn
Lakes & Mountains
Haystacks from the shores of Buttermere
The Lake District is a great place to bring kids walking, cycling or exploring in the woods
A New Year's Day Walk to Latrigg (The Hyning Estate's Walk 27)
Wonderful Views
7 miles from Kendal - A Gateway to The English Lakes
The Hyning Estate - Cumbria Tourism's Self-Catering Winners and Sustainable Tourism Finalists 2015
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 115 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JA1403
England
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful Accommodation - not really welcoming for Small Children though”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 4 nights in the Granary in June with our 17mth old son. This is a difficult review to write as we had really mixed feelings about our stay. The accommodation has been lovingly created is absolutely stunning, the apartment is incredibly well presented , everything is thought of , everything is high quality, the welcome pack is great , the accommodation spotlessly clean, though we just felt it wasn't really suitable for small children or the owners particularly welcoming either and I felt that might be because we had a toddler in tow . I am not sure what happened, as we didn’t have a good start to our visit which meant we had to rethink our holiday, maybe we misread the webpage as we booked based on the fact that this was great accommodation with a little bit more than normal self catering. We thought the bar would be open every evening and had understood from the webpage that we could pre-order a couple of evening meals in advance so after a full day out we may be able to have some dinner rather than cook ourselves. Unfortunately on arrival we were told the bar was open 3 evenings a week and quite coldly told pre-ordering dinner wasn’t an option. This wasn’t a great start as we had just spent 90 minutes trying to find the estate having come via Windermere. Unfortunately the estate is only signposted on one side of entrance so if you do happen to approach from the non–recommended route by the owners you are pretty much lost, we must have passed the entrance 3 or 4 times and didn’t even see it. My advice would be that not all visitors will always approach from the direction you recommend so please cater for these visitors also as they pay quite a lot of money to stay here. Jan laughed it off but when you have a tired child in the car , it was not overly funny. So our break did not start well but we were relieved to be there finally.

The bar area is very pleasant however some of the patio furniture is home made , there was one table that had very sharp edges on it that would have cut my son’s head open if he had walked into it so it was difficult to relax with a toddler in this area. Rich and Jan provided good quality child equipment in the apartment i.e high chair, travel cot etc however the combination of tiled floors, rugs and sharp cornered furniture meant our son came home with quite a few bumps and bruises and we could not relax so actually ended our holiday a day early as it was easier to come home.

I would recommend the hyning estate but I think it is best suited to middle aged couple or groups of people without children , for stays with a small child or if you want any option of having food provided this probably wont be the place for you however we do with Rich and Jan continued success, however we left feeling a little disappointed in our choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of the accommodation
Liked least: lack of signposting
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Large groups
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
We were very upset to receive this review as we try extremely hard to attend to every detail and to make everyone feel really welcome. We were very embarrassed for David & Jules when they first arrived and we are sorry if this was misunderstood. We love young children and we don’t understand the comments to the contrary. The accommodation is the very best but we do have stone floors and solid oak furniture (which by their nature have hard edges) and there is a stream in the garden so guests with toddlers will need to make their own judgement from the photos as to whether it’s suitable for them. We do provide melamine plates (so you don’t need to worry about breaking the Denby) as well as high chairs, cots and stair gates. We have a number guests with small children and toddlers who return several times a year, every year.

We are a stone’s throw from the main A685 and the Directions (which point out the potential pitfalls of using a SatNav) are excellent and have been tested many times… they bring people in from the South on the main road (via the Windermere roundabout) so when approaching from Windermere you can just pick up the Directions from there and there is no need to approach via single-track roads with no signs. (Potential guests with concerns can download the directions from our website and check them out for themselves).

Bar opening varies based on the expected demand but a notice in each property and a large red scrolling sign on Reception advertise the fact that we will open the Bar additionally on request (subject to 24 hours’ notice).

The Accommodation is Self-Catering and we don’t have a restaurant but we can provide catering (for Parties, Family Get-togethers, Events and Groups) by prior arrangement (which would normally be agreed when booking the accommodation). ASDA, Sainsbury’s and Tesco deliver as does a local take-away.

We have taken on the difficulties experienced by David, Jules (and toddler Jude) and will try to make our website clearer for the benefit of future guests. We are sorry that they weren’t 100% satisfied.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed June 19, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ridiculously high quality and sustainability of the property, and the peacefulness
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
That's wonderful, Thank so much. By the way, we have just been awarded Cumbria Tourism's Self-Catering Holiday of the year 2015!

The very Best to you all as you return to your homes in France & Oregon,

Jan & Richard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OwenNoake...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed June 19, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely peaceful accommodation with a warm welcome. We stayed in The Granary with our 5 & 2 year old. The whole place was beautiful, peaceful and we would highly recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samueldra...
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent standard of accommodation but still comfortable and homely”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Excellent standard of accommodation but still comfortable and homely. Everything that you need for self catering apartment all finished to a high standard. Plus a good amount of space to be comfortable. And of course in beautiful, peaceful surroundings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sandyring
london
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent property, but left feeling that our presence was an inconvenience”
Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The Hyning estate is located in a Pretty amazing setting (although having driven around the Lake District for days there would appear to be lots of places to stay which feel more like you're in the middle of the district, although I would expect no way near this standard).
You get the feeling that every little conceivable thing has been thought of, and you can only likely grasp a small amount of how much time and effort has gone into what you see; therefore a certain wow factor does resonate with you.

Our only gripe is that it appears you need to read the booking email and the 5 attachments in detail, failure to read all of these in detail even if there is any modicum of ambiguity, will lead to potential confrontation, which in our case lead to the feeling during our stay that it was an inconvenience that we were there.

In terms of improvements, we would whole hearty recommend amending the red line 'if you intend to arrive late then please let us know your approximate time of arrival so that we can make the necessary arrangements', to include a time frame, so people such as ourselves with no common sense who know little about the area/setup of the estate can have a 'helping hand'.

Finally we found that any 'content' of conversations pre-booking, should be re-clarified once the booking has been placed would also be beneficial, based on our experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
Thank you for your kind words about Location, Quality and Attention to Detail. We're sorry that you missed our general request to let us know if you intended to arrive after 6pm and also our specific offer to make an arrangement for you for a late arrival (we have a key-safe) - the body of your confirmation letter was not standard and was personally tailored to add this offer (in red) following your earlier suggestion that you may wish to arrive late. Having made no such arrangement we do apologise if we were then a little bleary-eyed when you finally woke us at around 1:30am although we did try to make every effort to be courteous and to spend time with you showing you around the property and explaining all the facilities (including the "Hyning Card" and an invitation to join us in the bar the following evening). We understand that you had expected that there should be a 24-hour Reception and we're sorry if our adverts somehow gave rise to this perception. We will also do our best to change our Booking and Confirmation letters such that important information is highlighted in some better way in future (rather than in red) when viewing documents on a mobile phone.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R8chel_T
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top quality home from home”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Warm welcome and quiet setting made a relaxing base for exploring the eastern Lakes. Loved the flexibility of the Tack Barn's fully equipped kitchen and large Waitrose on outskirts of Kendal. Beautiful fittings and comfortable furniture throughout. Genuinely green credentials are the icing on the cake.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing