We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You won't find a warmer welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Babbling Brook Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Ranked #34 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You won't find a warmer welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

I made a very last minute booking for a few days of walking in the Lakes. There were lots of options for accommodation, but I booked The Babbling Brook based on the reviews I had read...and they were spot on. This B&B is a gem.

Angela and Paul are exactly the sort of hosts you hope to find when you arrive at a B&B; welcoming, friendly and genuinely passionate about what they do. They clearly love the area and were able to provide great advice on the best areas for walking and also where to eat after a long day in the hills!

Whilst the room wasn't huge (it doesn't need to be if you're spending time outdoors in the Lakes!) the accommodation was spotless, with comfortable beds meaning a great nights sleep. Breakfast was certainly hearty with a quality and perfectly cooked full English setting you up for the day.

Thank you Angie and Paul for a great few days and for being so welcoming. Hope to be back again later in the year.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geodesic76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    33
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
111
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed here for a weekend trip in Feb to run the Buttermere round race. Nice modern accomodation, very friendly owners and delicious breakfast served with a smile.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GPennNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The best thing about this guest house is the owners. Paul and Angela are extremely accommodating and nothing is too much trouble for them.

I was on a hiking holiday for four days with a friend and Paul allowed me to use his backpack each day while Angela prepared the thermo flask. Paul also advised us each morning about the best tracks and peaks to explore in this outstanding place of natural beauty.

We paid what I thought was a very reasonable £28 per night each for which we got a comfortable single bed each, tea/coffee making facilities in the room and a well-cooked English breakfast. I was able to park the car close to the guest house in the street outside the property.

Having a car Keswick proved to be a good place from where to explore the national park, although I found the town itself to be disappointing with some interesting locals to say the least...

After eating very poor food at Casa Bella on the first night we decided to venture out of the town for the other evenings and had some outstanding food which sourced local ingredients at both the Pheasant Inn (15 minutes away by car) and the Kirkdale Inn (20 minutes).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJH1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

6 of us have just returned from a weekend stay here and I can't underline enough what a welcoming, friendly and incredibly helpful couple run this b&b. We were running an event in Keswick and needed 4 rooms (2 doubles and 2 singles) for one night. Its hard to find somewhere that can do this, but for the Babbling Brook, nothing was too much trouble. We parked 3 cars in the street with no trouble at all. The rooms and en-suites were small, but obviously furnished with care. Good beds meant a great nights sleep. The size wasn't a problem for us at all - it wasn't what we were in the lakes for. Breakfast was fantastic - a good selection and an english breakfast that was amongst the best we've tasted. 2 of us went for a run to Lattrigg and 2 of us went for a long cycle from the b&b on the back of this and we were in the countryside within minutes. The b&b's also only a 2-5 minute walk from Keswick centre, with a small park opposite the b&b where we could walk our dog - perfect. This isn't a spacious, boutique hotel and it doesn't sell itself as such - it doesn't need to. For us, what makes this place special is the price, location, beds, the ability to rustle up a delicious breakfast and, most importantly the warm, friendly and helpful hosts who are passionate about the lakes. We all are definitely planning to return. Paul and Angela - thank you for our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiverpoolChuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Wanted to stay on a saturday night in Keswick at short notice for a birthday surprise, so checked laterooms and most b&bs, hotels forced a two night stay at weekends which i didnt want, except the Babbling brook, We were welcome to stay just on the saturday night only which in the lakes is very difficult to do, The Stay was very good, fair sized room, comfortable bed, en-suite, tv, views to the river outside, Great breakfast in the morning, Very nice hosts, will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

We have stayed at Angela and Paul's guest house a few times now and hope to stay again soon. The location is close to town with excellent views of the hills. The best part of the place though are the hosts it's lilke staying with family. It's also a lovely breakfast and great value for money. Cheers

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j5_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We had read many good things about this place and were very happy when we arrived to find a lovely little room, well decorated and clean. If I had to fault it the room, it was at the top next to the road and we could hear the traffic until late. There was also a bit of damp in the room and the en suite was a little pokey. I would say as a women with many toiletries I needs more shelving and better lighting, but for the price I was happy enough. The breakfast and the hosts made it for me, very friendly, accommodating and happy to help and the breakfast was well cooked and very good quality. making my own toast was a little bit unusual, but again for the price I was prepared to.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancashire_Freckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 km away
Rickerby Grange
Rickerby Grange
#7 of 9 in Portinscale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.8 km away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#64 of 177 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 km away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#52 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.4 km away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#57 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
11.0 km away
Lane Head Farm Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babbling Brook Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbling Brook Guesthouse

Property: Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Address: 1 Wordsworth Street, Keswick CA12 4HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Babbling Brook Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Guesthouse in the Lake District having quality beds and offering superb breakfasts to set you up for the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Babbling Brook Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing