We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel(Bassenthwaite)
US$97
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ravenstone Manor Hotel(Bassenthwaite)
US$115
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$225
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge in the Vale(Thirlmere)
US$111
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
163
39
5
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
39
5
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomcomfy bedguest housegave us a maptown centreat short noticefab breakfastfull englishstayed here for one nightlast minute bookingwould stay here againenglish breakfastpleasant stayfriendly ownerscooked to perfectiongood nights sleepstreet parking
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 210 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend trip in Feb to run the Buttermere round race. Nice modern accomodation, very friendly owners and delicious breakfast served with a smile.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPennNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2012

The best thing about this guest house is the owners. Paul and Angela are extremely accommodating and nothing is too much trouble for them.

I was on a hiking holiday for four days with a friend and Paul allowed me to use his backpack each day while Angela prepared the thermo flask. Paul also advised us each morning about the best tracks and peaks to explore in this outstanding place of natural beauty.

We paid what I thought was a very reasonable £28 per night each for which we got a comfortable single bed each, tea/coffee making facilities in the room and a well-cooked English breakfast. I was able to park the car close to the guest house in the street outside the property.

Having a car Keswick proved to be a good place from where to explore the national park, although I found the town itself to be disappointing with some interesting locals to say the least...

After eating very poor food at Casa Bella on the first night we decided to venture out of the town for the other evenings and had some outstanding food which sourced local ingredients at both the Pheasant Inn (15 minutes away by car) and the Kirkdale Inn (20 minutes).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJH1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2012

6 of us have just returned from a weekend stay here and I can't underline enough what a welcoming, friendly and incredibly helpful couple run this b&b. We were running an event in Keswick and needed 4 rooms (2 doubles and 2 singles) for one night. Its hard to find somewhere that can do this, but for the Babbling Brook, nothing was too much trouble. We parked 3 cars in the street with no trouble at all. The rooms and en-suites were small, but obviously furnished with care. Good beds meant a great nights sleep. The size wasn't a problem for us at all - it wasn't what we were in the lakes for. Breakfast was fantastic - a good selection and an english breakfast that was amongst the best we've tasted. 2 of us went for a run to Lattrigg and 2 of us went for a long cycle from the b&b on the back of this and we were in the countryside within minutes. The b&b's also only a 2-5 minute walk from Keswick centre, with a small park opposite the b&b where we could walk our dog - perfect. This isn't a spacious, boutique hotel and it doesn't sell itself as such - it doesn't need to. For us, what makes this place special is the price, location, beds, the ability to rustle up a delicious breakfast and, most importantly the warm, friendly and helpful hosts who are passionate about the lakes. We all are definitely planning to return. Paul and Angela - thank you for our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiverpoolChuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Wanted to stay on a saturday night in Keswick at short notice for a birthday surprise, so checked laterooms and most b&bs, hotels forced a two night stay at weekends which i didnt want, except the Babbling brook, We were welcome to stay just on the saturday night only which in the lakes is very difficult to do, The Stay was very good, fair sized room, comfortable bed, en-suite, tv, views to the river outside, Great breakfast in the morning, Very nice hosts, will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrmeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We have stayed at Angela and Paul's guest house a few times now and hope to stay again soon. The location is close to town with excellent views of the hills. The best part of the place though are the hosts it's lilke staying with family. It's also a lovely breakfast and great value for money. Cheers

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j5_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews