We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab last minute break”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sunderlan...
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab last minute break”
Reviewed 18 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Our third stay at Swinside in 4 years! It was great to be back in the cottage which is like a home away from home. It's perfectly situated for the short 5 min walk into Keswick town centre and all the amenities and to go walking up the fells or out for a drive to other parts of the wonderful Lake District.
We made full use of the fully equipped kitchen this time cooking most nights and enjoying cosy nights in before a late night meander for our pooch to stretch his legs as there is no garden at the property.
If I had to be picky I'd say that the downstairs could do with a spruce up paint wise, some parts are looking dirtier than others, which of course is only natural given the cottage is both dog and child friendly. However this certainly would not put us off coming back to Swinside next time we're in Keswick!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2017
Good morning
Thank you for your review following your third stay at Swinside. We are delighted to hear that you have had another great stay in this home from home and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plantahol...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great base”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Comfortable good quality interior. Have enjoyed our stay. This place is ideal for town centre, and Keswick well located for other outings

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Swinside. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the location ideal. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigRiver5...
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very clean and comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Very happy with our short stay in Swinside, it is a very clean, comfortable and well-equipped cottage, conveniently situated in the heart of Keswick just minutes walk from all its amenities. We will certainly be back, thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Comfy beds!
Liked least: Noisy builders opposite! Not your fault of course!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review following your stay at Swinside, we are delighted that you had a lovely holiday and will pass on you comments to the owner and cleaner of the cottage. We look forward to your return
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJFLancs
Accrington Lancs
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“mixed”
Reviewed 10 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We came to Keswick for a long pre-Christmas break and searched hard for a suitable place for us and our dog.
Swinside Cottage has everything you need in terms of furnishings and kitchen equipment, it is practically equipped with hard wearing flooring for ease of cleaning. The kitchen is small but planned out well. The cottage is snug, warm and cosy in a quiet location without any outside noise or disturbance. The bedroom is large with dual aspect windows and a really comfortable bed and plenty of storage space. The bathroom is tidy.

If I was to make any improvements I would add blinds to the bedroom windows and replace the bathroom curtain with a blind along with a Perspex shower door.

It didn’t really work for our dog not having a back door and outside area for her to out to the toilet and thanks to Storm Desmond we completely lost the television reception on the Saturday tea time and then on Sunday the water supply was cut off. Unfortunately it wasn’t a good experience for us so we made the decision to head home a day early.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2015
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Swinside. We are pleased to hear that you found the cottage snug, warm and cosy with everything you needed. We were sorry to learn that you didn't have a good experience due to having no television form Saturday and no water Sunday as a result of Storm Desmond. Unfortunately as you are no doubt aware this storm caused major flooding through parts of Cumbria and was declared a major disaster. We are sorry that this affected your stay and we would hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula K
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful cottage with everything you need”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Have just come back from having a wonderful time in Keswick. Stayed at this gorgeous cottage which was very clean, tidy and had the most comfortable beds! It is fitted out with everything you need and has been renovated to the highest standard. Great pictures on the walls too!

Thank you very much for a wonderful stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are dlighted that you had a wonderful time at Swinside cottage, we agree it is a lovely place to stay in Keswick.

we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Mar 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Swinside, Keswick.

We are pleased you have found Lakes Cottage Holidays booking process easy and straight forward.

We are glad you found everything you needed at Swinside and found the accommodation offered at the property to be at a high standard and comfortable.

We are delighted to hear you wish to return to Swinside and we look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stevee303...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Happy couple with a happy dog”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Really clean and well maintained and with everything you could want for a stay in Keswick. Everything worked perfectly (wifi, shower, heating, tv etc etc) and we will definitely be shortlisting this and booking again.

Comfy bed with almost no outside noise. Slept really well.

Well located just a short walk to the centre. We managed to park right outside but if you cant then park somewhere close and be patient as spaces will become available.

This company are excellent to deal with.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2014
Thank you for your review of Swinside.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at his property and found our services to your liking. We hope that we can welcome you back to one of our properties again in the future.

Kind Regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
Tel 017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;