We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hostel”
Review of YHA Keswick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Very good hostel. Nice and clean and comfortable. Good breakfast too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkHolidaygirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

This hostel is in a great location (provided you keep moving your car) for the lovely town of Keswick and fabulous walking, plus has a really good playground opposite.

We've stayed in several youth hostels before: this has good friendly staff especially reception. However, it's a bit tatty - ie broken not-replaced coat hooks in our room, broken toilet flush, shower that only works with the head tilted one way - small things that could easily be improved. Plus our room could have been cleaner round the edges and was very small and hard to ventilate. The communal kitchen is quite small for a hostel of this size (not helped by family-from-hell who let their toddler scream and shout continuously in there!) with not much seating and food-preparation space.

So it's okay and does the job but could do with attention to some smartening-up. You can't do much about other family's behaviour in these places, and at least our night was fairly quiet, including thanks to a very courteous and well-behaved stag party.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nevillescrossgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Went with friends to Keswick to go mountain biking at Whinlatter Forest. The first thing that struck me about this hostel was the great location beside the river. It is only a couple of minutes walk into the town centre and the staff were really helpful and friendly! The rooms were neat and tidy and the showers fantastic- especially after a day getting cold and muddy on the bikes! There is a drying room which came in really handy for us and our wet gear. There is also plenty of secure storage space for the bikes and equipment to clean them off. Breakfast was £4.95 and included full english, cereals, croissants, tea, coffee and juice.
All in all YHA Keswick was a great value hostel which felt more like a hotel. I shall be definitely staying there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carthorse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

I stayed here as one of a group of five as a base for walking in the local area.

Set slightly away from the road next to the river, the location could not really be better.

Although there is no dedicated car park, you can park on the road next to the riverside path to the hostel for 2 hours between 8am and 6pm. As we were walking during the day this was not a problem and there are free parking discs available from reception and in boxes on local lamp posts.

If you need to keep your car parked during the day, there is ample parking at the end of the road.

The hostel is clean and newly appointed. There is an excellent lounge with TV and pool table, along with self catering facilities and a reading lounge.

There is also a cafe area, where the excellent breakfasts are available on a self service basis. Everything from sausages, egg, hash browns, toast, fruit and cereal is available. Evening meals are also served here at extra cost.

We paid £24 each for a bunk in a room that accommodated 6 souls.

Unfortunately, our second night was shared with a very rude chap who insisted on being noisy, leaving lights on and the sort of behaviour you would not expect in a Youth Hostel.

Still, you pays your money and you takes your choice as it were.

If you are walking in the area, or just want a reasonably priced place to stay with a relaxed atmosphere, then this fits the bill.

Other facilities include a drying room, ample showers and toilets and internet access at extra cost.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chriswith2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

There were 3 of us travelling together but we wanted a private room so booked for 4 people and were happy to pay the extra. But the kind person on reception told us that because they weren't full he was happy to left us only pay for 3 people and still give us the private room which was wonderful of him!
The location is out of town so you do need a car but it is worth it. The hostel has stunning surroundings, with a stream running right in front of it and a walking track leading through paddocks and trees which was a lovely.
The hostel itself is clean but of course isn't anything fancy as it is a hostel. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lozz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We stayed at the YHA in Keswick after spending the day walking up Skiddaw. One word of warning there is no on site parking at this YHA so you have to run the risk of finding a parking space on the nearby streets (more difficult on a Saturday). However, it was well worth it when we got there as, after the nice greeting at reception, we found our private two bunkbed room was clean and modern just next to the showers and toilets (both very clean).

On the same floor there was a common room complete with pool table, TV, sofas and a balcony which overlooks the river running underneath - the perfect place on a sunny afternoon to watch the world roll by and listen to the sounds of the cricket match taking place at the park over the river. You'll also find on this floor a quiet room for reading and the self catering facilities (also clean and everything in good working order).

Keswick itself is only a few minutes walk to be right in the centre of the town. There is a restaurant serving evening meals and breakfast at the YHA but we didn't try this although the smells were very tempting. My tip is to try the food at the "Dog and Gun" in the centre of the town - it was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ant2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Annemarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.6 km away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
779 reviews
0.3 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
5.9 km away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#11 of 17 in Keswick
800 reviews
9.4 km away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
232 reviews
23.2 km away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Keswick

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Keswick
Price Range: $41 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing