We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great time had by all !”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Greta Bank Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
The river Greta, viewed from Greta Bank Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
948Chappy...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great time had by all !”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Really chuffed, lovely location, nice cosy little cottage with fantastic River Greta as the back garden. Husband got fishing permit and fished along the river so we could watch from the garden ... luxury! Much nicer than going to Ambleside or Windermere. Keswick is a fantastic little town with lots to offer. Well recommended and thanks for the lovely flowers and fruit Dorothy and Ron. A nice, personal touch.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony W
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A quality cottage - very homely”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

A modernised quality cottage, with good facilities, very near to town, within easy walking distance of a local pub [reasonable food - real ale]. Good views and easy access to the river at the back of the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private parking
Liked least: no washing machine or dryer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“compact, convenient & comfortable”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This was our 2nd visit to this cottage which has all the facilities we need. Its on a main road into Keswick about 10 mins walk into the town centre. Parking is allocated off road although a bit tight. Lovely stream at the rear of the property. Would definitely consider it again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: impaired view of stream at rear
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 5, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very practical
Liked least: Nothing significant but parking a bit of a tight fit
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bob O
Newhaven, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy and comfortable”
Reviewed October 16, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

3rd time at this cottage and we had the usual warm welcome from Dot and Ron. Situated 10 mins walk from Keswick it is ideal for the northern lakes. Cottage is clean and comfortable and with the fire on in the evening is very cosy. Brother and sister inlaw also stayed for the week, the beds are comfortable and were most welcome after a days walking. Everything you need if you wish to cook at the cottage in the evenings but with 10 minute walk into Keswick you will find pubs and restaurants. Will be back in 2013.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The welcome
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat195173
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely comfy cottage in superb location”
Reviewed July 6, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Really enjoyed our stay in Greta Bank Cottage, met with the owners on our arrival, which was lovely, cottage clean and well equipped, on the banks of the River Greta. Nice level walk into Keswick Town Centre. Excellent location and would not hesitate to recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the location
Liked least: everything was fine
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mindy R
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“what a lovely cottage in Keswick”
Reviewed April 10, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We booked this cottage at the last minute, and what a delight it was. When staying in the Lake District, I usually prefer to stay in Ambleside or Windemere but we thought we'd try someone different. We arrived at 7 pm and were personally greeted by the owners. They showed us where everything was and even left us a bowl of fruit and some fresh flowers. The cottage was cosy and nice & clean with a fully equiped kitchen. It was nice not to have to worry about taking towels and bedding. The cottage has space for one car. I was surprised how quiet the house was at night, even with cars going past. We went to the pub across the road, Twa Dogs which had a pool table and darts board which my 13 year old liked. We didn't eat there but meals were around £8-12 pounds I think. Quite a few walks with Keswick as it's base so we didn't drive the entire week we were there. If you want to self cater, make a trip to Booth's Supermarket for great quality food. As the cottage doesn't have Wifi, we went to Costa Coffee for that. It's about 8-10 minute walk into town. Would definitely recommend this cottage and hope to return again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the friendleness of owners
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing