We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is how it should be done” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillside

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillside
Ranked #132 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is how it should be done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed in the Skiddaw room for 2 nights, with our 2 children and small dog. Everything was absolutely superb. The finish of the room, the ensuite shower room and adjacent (private) bathroom was exemplary. Eleanor was a joy - so welcoming, kind and thoughtful, willing to go out of her way to help. The breakfasts were sumptious. I won't repeat what other reviewers have said, because they are all spot on. This is a gem of a B&B. I am very particular, but this was simply flawless in every respect. Many, many thanks.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnygib1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hollym
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

The accomodation and food are first class and all that you would expect to get from
an excellent B&B. The star element is that your are made to feel that you are part
of the family and nothing is to much trouble,
Coming home,and it does feel like home, to a log fire after a long days adventure, having tea and cake, then a long hot soak in a role top bath followed by pub meal recommended by Eleanor is as good as it gets.
This was my first trip to Hillside and it will not be the last.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We had a wonderful 2 nights here and I would thoroughly recommend it. We stayed in the Skiddaw room, with king bed, tv, chaise longue, coffee table, tea/coffee making, ensuite shower room and private bathroom with roll top bath. Loads of room and beautiful views from the windows overlooking the hills.

We were made very welcome by Eleanor who helped us with ideas for what to do. We had tea in front of the open fire when we arrived and breakfast in the same room - lovely. Good breakfast with plenty of choice.

We travelled with our dog, but for anyone worrying about staying there because dogs are welcome, don't worry, the standard of cleanliness is second to none. The furnishings are new and very attractive - the bed was one of the comfiest I have stayed in.

All in all a lovely place to spend some quality time. The garden is large and attractive with plenty of places to sit and enjoy the tranquility.

Within walking distance of Keswick, you can leave the car and stroll in.

Room Tip: Skiddaw - with ensuite shower room and bathroom with roll top bath and lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elainer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Great views from the window in the room (latrigg) and while enjoying a full English breakfast and the dog got a sausage too we stared out of the patio window to see the hills that appear as if they were part of the garden. Eleanor is a wonderful host who shared her passion and knowledge of the area as well as places to eat. She made us laugh and feel instantly comfortable in her presence and we enjoyed our time with her, we took our dog with us who was made a fuss of. We walked to Keswick where shops and pubs were dog friendly so you could eat and have a few drinks before walking the short distance back to the b&B. I would recommend staying here and would happily visit again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kp847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Such a lovely, cosy, peaceful B&B run by a friendly couple who welcome you into their home. Nothing was too much bother, they were so helpful and really made our trip excellent. Great if you're looking for somewhere to stay within walking distance of Keswick but want peace and quiet outside of the town.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizibeth23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

The Skiddaw room in which we stayed was a good size, plenty of room to move about, and with a beautiful view. It was very clean with a comfy king sized bed and also a nice stand alone deep bath in one of the two bathrooms if you cared to indulge! When we arrived Eleanor made us very welcome, and after dropping off our things in our room, spent half an hour or so chatting over a cup of coffee, cake and biscuits in front of a lovely log fire! My dog Charlie was made more than welcome as we don't like to go away without him. It's a nice walk into Keswick from the house, which I'd recommend, and doesn't take too long, meaning you don't have to worry about parking and can also visit a few nice pubs if you feel like it. Come the morning there was a huge choice for breakfast, from cereals to juices, full English ,vegetarian...whatever! We had the traditional English which was delicious and very filling. I can't fault this place, and will definitely return again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Col_J_B67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed in the Skiddaw room which had an absolutely stunning view from the main window. The room itself is much nicer than shown in their website and has lovely furniture and two private bathrooms - one with shower and one with the roll-top bath.
The family is very friendly and even got up early to make us breakfast before we headed off for an early-morning flight.
The only downside is that there is a busy main road to cross to get into the village, but seeing as a taxi is only 3.50/4 pounds, this didn't cause a problem at nighttime.

Room Tip: Open the curtain in the morning to lie in bed and see the view (Skiddaw room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHVRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
2.6 km away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.6 km away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#10 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.0 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Dalegarth House
Dalegarth House
#2 of 9 in Portinscale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.5 km away
Skiddaw Croft Bed & Breakfast
Skiddaw Croft Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Portinscale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.6 km away
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
#3 of 8 in Braithwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside

Property: Hillside
Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing