We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curious little museum”
Review of Keswick Museum

Keswick Museum
Ranked #18 of 50 things to do in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Great exhibitions, activities and cafe in a glorious park setting by the river. Giant map, musical stones and loads for kids to do. Open daily 10-4
Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile

I use the word little just in terms of size. It is not meant to be derogatory at all. The museum is modern and light and the staff great. For its size it packs in a lot of stuff. It feels like a Victorian collection. All fascinating. The Blencathra temporary exhibition was good too.

Thank MummaMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2017

Hi, Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are really glad you enjoyed your visit. We are very proud of our volunteer staff who have such an amazing knowledge and love of our wonderful museum and heritage. Don't forget your £4.25 admission ticket gives you free entry for 12 months from purchase and, with changing exhibitions and events such as our monthly lunchtime talks and workshops for families, there is always something new going on. We are looking forward to the opening of our new exciting Mountain Heritage Trust exhibition, 'British Women Climbers' due to open on 29th September so do visit us again for that. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"musical stones"
in 28 reviews
"local history"
in 14 reviews
"mummified cat"
in 5 reviews
"permanent exhibition"
in 4 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 9 reviews
"stuffed birds"
in 3 reviews
"re entry"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful exhibition"
in 3 reviews
"spare hour"
in 3 reviews
"main room"
in 4 reviews
"lake district"
in 19 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 15 reviews
"on display"
in 8 reviews
"well worth the entrance fee"
in 3 reviews
"fitz park"
in 8 reviews
"short film"
in 3 reviews
"rainy day"
in 9 reviews
Filter

67 - 71 of 251 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2017

I went here to kill some time and found it to be most enjoyable I loved the camera exhibition and I was fascinated by all the draws of bird eggs.
I still have my pass so I will be visiting again very soon.

Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Hi Kay, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed the exhibition, 'Blencathra: Life of a Mountain'. There are some fascinating artefacts on display along with photographs and paintings, not to mention film and oral history. It has been a labour of love for the local residents and the museum. We hope you also enjoyed 'A History of Keswick in 100 Curious Objects' giving an insight into the amazing heritage of our stunning area. Keep hold of that pass giving you free entry to the museum for 12 months from purchase and we will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

It was raining and this museum was just down the road so we headed over. Umm...random collection of 'stuff' really. There was a good exhibition on about a mountain that is on until early 2018 (I think). The large glockenspiel/xylophone was cool. But apart from that there is a lot of stuffed animals and random artefacts. We read everything there was to read and looked at every bit, plus 20 minutes with the play doh. Our visit totalled about 50 minutes at a cost of £8 something. Under 3s are free. Personally, I wouldn't bother. Just head to the play area opposite for free! Much more fun!

Thank Johnathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Hi Jonathan, Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed our very popular temporary exhibition, 'Blencathra: Life of a Mountain'. You are right. The exhibition runs until January 4th 2018 so plenty of time to use your £4.25 admission ticket to visit again. It gives you free entry to the museum for 12 months from purchase. The exhibition in our permanent gallery, 'A History of Keswick in 100 Curious Objects' takes you on a journey through the fascinating heritage of Keswick and our beautiful area through archaeology and history as well as natural history and art. We are very proud to welcome visitors of all ages and you will find activities and trails for families throughout the galleries. Our website is updated with all up and coming exhibitions, activities and events and we do hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2017

More of a commercial venture than a cultural hub. Its a refurbished building housing a collection of stuffed animals and a slate key board. Yes there are other things but in my humble opinion a waste of time and not cheep. Many other museum's across the country are free but this is the lakes. I guess if passing by or stuck in the rain with nothing to do its OK but its certainly not a must do.

Thank kandaharG28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not find our museum value for money. Opened in 1898 as the first purpose built museum in the county we house a large and very varied collection of archaeology, social history, natural history and fine art all relating to beautiful Keswick and its surrounding area. We are largely volunteer run with no support from any other source but ourselves. Both staff and volunteers are committed to offering a great experience to all our visitors and, most importantly, involving visitors of all ages in our amazing local heritage through changing exhibitions, events and activities. The Keswick tourist information centre is situated in the Moot Hall in the town but we are always happy to help visitors with any question and queries they may have. Please do use your admission ticket giving you 12 months free entry to the museum to visit us again. Information on all of our collections as well as up and coming exhibitions and activities can be found on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2017

Keswick seems to exist more as a setting off point for viewing the Lake District than as an attraction unto itself. Having said that, the Keswick Museum is a nice local museum that is worth an hour or so, particularly on a rainy day.

The Keswick Museum recently expanded and modernized its displays. Still, it is made up primarily of three or four rooms, one of which is used for temporary exhibits and one for what appears to be the contents of an older museum. This is purely a local museum, so the emphasis is on local flora, fauna, and history (or people from the area).

The more historic part of the museum definitely brings to mind the old kind of natural history museums with lots of oddities in large wooden display cases. This one is packed with local historical relics, items like bird eggs and insects, and other unusual items. To make it easier, they mark some of the most notable with something akin to a top 100 listing.

We had a few favorites:

-One is a large xylophone made up of different sizes of slate stones. They encourage you to play it and works surprisingly well

-A local mountain climber disappeared while trying to climb Mt. Everest using a novel route and atypical methods. They have a display about him and some of the equipment used in such dangerous climbs. You can try on the space-age outer gear the climbers wore, which basically make you look like a warm Teletubby.

-There is a display of WWI era ceramics that includes what looks like a fine china hand grenade.

-There are lots of cases of insects and birds eggs collected in the 1800s, many of which are colorful and make for fairly amazing displays

The museum is a short walk from the center of town and is a good choice if you want a small but unusual attraction.

Thank ElaineAndGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Hi Elaine and Greg, Thank you for your very kind and comprehensive review. We are really pleased you enjoyed the fascinating 'Keswick in 100 Curious Objects' exhibition guiding you round the most quirky items in our collection. We do highlight the beautiful local area and strive to offer great stories, information and activities for visitors and residents alike. We do hope you also enjoyed our present temporary exhibition, 'Blencathra: Life of a Mountain'. It has been very well received indeed. Many visitors have used their admission ticket, giving 12 months free entry from date of purchase, to come again and take another look. With all sorts of events, from great holiday workshops for families to fascinating monthly free lunchtime talks, there is always something new happening at the museum. We do hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Keswick Museum also viewed

 

Been to Keswick Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing