We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a museum”
Review of Keswick Museum

Keswick Museum
Ranked #17 of 50 things to do in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Great exhibitions, activities and cafe in a glorious park setting by the river. Giant map, musical stones and loads for kids to do. Open daily 10-4
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

Visited this museum as the weather was not predicted to be good. There are two main exhibition areas on the entrance level as well as a shop, plus a further space at the lower level and a cafe.

The main reason for e visit was to see the exhibition on Blencathra. This was excellent with artefacts, history boards and a couple of video screens depicting local life and events in the area over time

Following an excellent coffee and cake in the cafe, we looked at the permanent exhibition which had a variety of exhibits, including local flora and fauna, geology, characters and mountaineering.

We were there for a couple of hours and the reasonably priced admission allows re-entry for the next 12 months.

This is well worth a visit.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank TrinityDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Hi Dave, Thank you for your very kind review. You really did make the most of our wonderful museum! An excellent idea to break off half way through for tasty refreshments in our cafe. We are delighted you found the £4.25 annual ticket value for money and we hope you will visit us again soon. We are looking forward to the opening of the new exciting Mountain Heritage Trust exhibition, 'British Women Climb' on 29th September. While our next major exhibition, 'Women of Cumbria' will be unveiled in January 2018. From fantastic exhibitions to family workshops and lunchtime talks, there is always something new happening at the museum. Please check our website for all the details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"musical stones"
in 33 reviews
"local history"
in 15 reviews
"mummified cat"
in 7 reviews
"temporary exhibition"
in 6 reviews
"his life"
in 6 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 9 reviews
"stuffed birds"
in 3 reviews
"re entry"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful exhibition"
in 3 reviews
"queen victoria"
in 3 reviews
"main room"
in 4 reviews
"lake district"
in 21 reviews
"spare hour"
in 3 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 16 reviews
"well worth the entrance fee"
in 3 reviews
"fitz park"
in 8 reviews
"short film"
in 3 reviews
Filter

71 - 75 of 257 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2017

Cheap
Excellent and interesting exhibitions on Mountaineering, Blencathra and 100 curious things.
Helpful and Friendly Staff
Shop and Cafe on premises
Admission ticket valid for re-entry for 12 months

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Chris_Barbara_SLSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2017

Hi Chris and Barbara, Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted you found us such value for money. Our volunteer staff are committed to offering all our visitors a warm welcome. Keep hold of your 12 month ticket. This month we are looking forward to the opening of our next exciting Mountain Heritage Trust exhibition, 'British Women Climb' on the 29th September. We hope you can join us for that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile

I use the word little just in terms of size. It is not meant to be derogatory at all. The museum is modern and light and the staff great. For its size it packs in a lot of stuff. It feels like a Victorian collection. All fascinating. The Blencathra temporary exhibition was good too.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank MummaMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2017

Hi, Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are really glad you enjoyed your visit. We are very proud of our volunteer staff who have such an amazing knowledge and love of our wonderful museum and heritage. Don't forget your £4.25 admission ticket gives you free entry for 12 months from purchase and, with changing exhibitions and events such as our monthly lunchtime talks and workshops for families, there is always something new going on. We are looking forward to the opening of our new exciting Mountain Heritage Trust exhibition, 'British Women Climbers' due to open on 29th September so do visit us again for that. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2017

I went here to kill some time and found it to be most enjoyable I loved the camera exhibition and I was fascinated by all the draws of bird eggs.
I still have my pass so I will be visiting again very soon.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Hi Kay, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed the exhibition, 'Blencathra: Life of a Mountain'. There are some fascinating artefacts on display along with photographs and paintings, not to mention film and oral history. It has been a labour of love for the local residents and the museum. We hope you also enjoyed 'A History of Keswick in 100 Curious Objects' giving an insight into the amazing heritage of our stunning area. Keep hold of that pass giving you free entry to the museum for 12 months from purchase and we will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

It was raining and this museum was just down the road so we headed over. Umm...random collection of 'stuff' really. There was a good exhibition on about a mountain that is on until early 2018 (I think). The large glockenspiel/xylophone was cool. But apart from that there is a lot of stuffed animals and random artefacts. We read everything there was to read and looked at every bit, plus 20 minutes with the play doh. Our visit totalled about 50 minutes at a cost of £8 something. Under 3s are free. Personally, I wouldn't bother. Just head to the play area opposite for free! Much more fun!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Johnathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Hi Jonathan, Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed our very popular temporary exhibition, 'Blencathra: Life of a Mountain'. You are right. The exhibition runs until January 4th 2018 so plenty of time to use your £4.25 admission ticket to visit again. It gives you free entry to the museum for 12 months from purchase. The exhibition in our permanent gallery, 'A History of Keswick in 100 Curious Objects' takes you on a journey through the fascinating heritage of Keswick and our beautiful area through archaeology and history as well as natural history and art. We are very proud to welcome visitors of all ages and you will find activities and trails for families throughout the galleries. Our website is updated with all up and coming exhibitions, activities and events and we do hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Keswick Museum also viewed

 

Been to Keswick Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing