We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Visiting Museum and Man + Mountain Chris Bonington Exhibition

Second visit this year to the museum. Has some interesting exhibits detailing life and nature in a... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Paul C
Keswick's littleGem

It seems that this Museum was destined to close and has been rescued by local people, so well done... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
DIANE A
,
Bolton, United Kingdom
Read all 258 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Keswick
from US$61.60
More Info
from US$33.30
More Info
from US$378.30
More Info
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveller rating
149
77
18
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
77
18
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews musical stones local history mummified cat temporary exhibition his life interesting exhibits stuffed birds re entry wonderful exhibition queen victoria main room lake district spare hour worth a visit fitz park short film rainy day
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 258 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2017

The museum is fairly small but packed with interesting exhibits. The staff are very friendly and helpful and there is a nice little cafe downstairs. Exhibits include geology, natural and human history and information regarding local fell runners. The current Blencathra Exhibition is absolutely fascinating and worth a visit on its own. An ideal place to visit on those odd occasions when it rains in Keswick. Make sure you allow enough time

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank graham d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Hi Graham, Thank you for your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much. Our enthusiastic and friendly volunteer staff are committed to giving all our visitors a warm welcome. While a fantastic cafe onsite offers the opportunity to make a real day of your visit. We hope you enjoyed the recently opened exhibition by the Mountain Heritage Trust, 'British Women Climb', exploring the fascinating story of women's contribution to mountain climbing over the years as well as 'A History if Keswick in 100 Curious Objects' offering many insights into our wonderful local area. Don't forget your admission ticket gives you free entry for a year so we very much hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2017

This is one of those small, well-managed, local museums that show how it should be done. Numerous and very interesting displays on the Keswick area including its geology, natural and human history and some fascinating personalities including notable fell runners and a local boy who became a noted mountain climber. And there''s a nice little cafe in the lower level that serves up a great latte. Plan on spending more time here than you think will be needed at first glance.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Roger_Samson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017

Hi Roger, We are so pleased you enjoyed the museum so much. Thank you. 'A History of Keswick in 100 Curious Objects' takes you on a fascinating journey through some of the more quirky items in our collection giving lots of insights into our beautiful town and landscape. We hope you also enjoyed the very popular 'Blencathra: Life of a Mountain' exhibition. Visitors have told us how much there is to see and experience with many coming back for another look. So easy to do when your admission ticket gives you free entry for a year from purchase. Do come and see us again to enjoy the Mountain Heritage Trust's new exhibition, 'British Women Climb', telling the fascinating story of women climbers through the ages. As you say...great cup of coffee too! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

The museum has had a major facelift since I last visited it many years ago. They have kept a lot of what they had before but have enhanced it tremendously. The exhibition about Blencathra was really interesting with many different forms of presenting the information. I thoroughly enjoyed this "new" museum, well new in that it has had a major refit. It is also good to have a shop with local literature and a cafe underneath. A must for a wet day.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Dannykimweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017

Hi Danny, Thank you for your kind review. You are right. The museum reopened in 2014 after a Heritage Lottery funded refurbishment which gave us the opportunity to re display and develop our collection as well as new exciting temporary exhibitions and events. We are delighted you enjoyed 'Blencathra: Life of a Mountain' which accompanies the film by Terry Abraham shown on the BBC. Don't forget your entry ticket gives free admission to the museum for 12 months from purchase so do come and see us again to enjoy what we have to offer. A new exhibition opened a few days ago in the Mountain Heritage Trust gallery. 'British Women Climb' tells the fascinating story of women's contribution to the history of rock climbing and mountaineering. Check our website to find out more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2017

We always spend a day at Keswick when visiting the Lakes ,but it gets dearer each year
The car parks cost £3 for 2 hours .The public Toilets are 40 p ,
Well worth a visit is Roly s Fudge shop in Lake road ,lots of different flavours at £4 a bag or 3bags for £10 .
Lots of eating places at a assortment of prices to suite all pockets .And most are dog friendly

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank becky47Sunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2017

Hi, We very much hope we offer value for money here at Keswick Museum. The £4.25 admission ticket for an adult, and £2.50 for a child, gives you entry to the museum for a whole year and we are keen to welcome visitors of all ages. There is also 2 hours free parking on Station Road where we are situated. We showcase Keswick's amazing heritage with exciting changing exhibitions, our own comprehensive collections and activities for children and families. Our major, and very popular, exhibition at the moment is 'Blencathra: Life of a Mountain' which accompanies the BBC film of the same name by Terry Abraham. With a fantastic cafe offering a great cakes, coffee and lunch menu, as well as Fitz Park on our doorstep, we do hope you will come and see us on your next visit to our beautiful town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2017

I have visited before, so was ready for the main room. I think it is quite nice that the old display cabinets have been kept to show the exhibits as they were. The other room is used for special exhibitions,. Last time it was Wainwright's Walks, and this time about Blencathra mountain, history and people, so not just appealing to walkers and climbers. A small selection of books and souvenirs sold at the ticket desk.
Downstairs is a cafe, run as a charity, with very good reasonably priced food. Comfortable inside with a view of the park, but also outside tables.
Worth a visit.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank bec1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2017

Hi, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our popular 'Blencathra: Life of a Mountain' exhibition. 'A History of Keswick in 100 Curious Objects' will have taken you on a journey through the amazing heritage of our beautiful area as well. Don't forget your admission ticket gives you free entry for the next 12 months so do visit us again soon. At the moment we are looking forward to a new exhibition by the Mountain Heritage Trust. 'British Women Climb' opens on September 29th and explores the contribution women have made to mountain climbing over the years. Great idea to take advantage of our wonderful cafe and amazing location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews