We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Keswick Museum

Keswick Museum
Ranked #21 of 77 things to do in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Great exhibitions, activities and cafe in a glorious park setting by the river. Giant map, musical stones and loads for kids to do. Open daily 10-4
Reviewed January 14, 2018

A lovely welcome from the helpful ladies on the reception,and a nicely laid-out shop and cafe. Having said that, the museum itself, surely the focal point of the whole place, was a huge disappointment. Stuffed creatures which had seen better days; cases and cases of someone's passion for entomology; odd artefacts bearing no relation to one another stuffed willy nilly together, with little or no explanation as to their significance; and, worst of all, what was of real interest ie the objects appertaining to Southey and Wordsworth were crammed in a little case in the corner making them difficult to fully appreciate. And, oh dear, what about Walpole? - surely more could have been made of this one-time superstar? Such a shame; the entry fee wasn't worth it especially as there was no exhibition on at the time.

Thank Susan Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2018

So sorry you were disappointed Susan and that you found us between major temporary exhibitions. The permanent collection exhibition at the moment is 'Keswick In 100 Curious Objects' - perhaps this was not explained properly to you - I do apologise. There is a free guide and souvenir brochure to accompany it. The current reduced charge of £2.50 (equivalent to a cup of coffee) allows entry to this and Mountain Heritage Trust's 'British Women Climb' exhibition. We thought this a fair price.

Our next exhibition opens on Friday - 'A HERstory of Keswick' - an important retelling of Keswick's history, from a woman's perspective. The £4.50 ticket is an annual pass and will therefore also cover 'Man and Mountain' - the life and climbs of Chris Bonington which is on from May.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"musical stones"
in 27 reviews
"local history"
in 13 reviews
"mummified cat"
in 5 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 9 reviews
"temporary exhibition"
in 4 reviews
"stuffed birds"
in 3 reviews
"re entry"
in 3 reviews
"main room"
in 4 reviews
"lake district"
in 17 reviews
"on display"
in 8 reviews
"well worth the entrance fee"
in 3 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 13 reviews
"fitz park"
in 7 reviews
"lovely cafe"
in 3 reviews
"cake"
in 4 reviews
"rainy day"
in 6 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 3 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 212 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

Just be clear this is NOT the Pencil Museum - it is the genuine article a real local museum that should interest visitors wanting to know about the stories behind the tourist trail and explore local culture and community identity. Do visit, take your time, not a quick fix but a lot for families especially prepared to go with the flow.

Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2018

Hi Claire, Thank you for your lovely review. The museum prides itself in welcoming visitors of all ages to experience and enjoy the fascinating heritage of our wonderful landscape and history. We very much hope you will be back to use your admission ticket giving free entry for 12 months. Our new fantastic exhibition, 'Herstory of Keswick', opens on 19th January and explores the town through the eyes of some amazing women through the ages. With lots of stories and activities it promises to be a must-see! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2017

This local museum is both charming and interesting in equal measures. Well worth a visit and has a cafe also.

Thank alvin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2017

Hi Alvin, Thank you for your great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit. Your admission ticket gives you free entry for 12 months so you will be able to enjoy all our up and coming exhibitions and events. There is not long to wait for a new fascinating exhibition, 'Herstory of Keswick'. Opening on January 19th, it explores the amazing story of our the town through the eyes of local women including our own suffragette. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2017

Spent a couple of enjoyable hours looking round this small but enjoyable museum. There is a permanent display featuring objects from the history of Keswick with many examples of geology. The temporary exhibition about the mountain Blencathra was surprisingly very interesting and worth a view. Good value at £4.25

Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2017

Hi Kevin, Thank you for your great review. We are delighted you enjoyed our exhibitions and that you found us value for money. Don't forget your admission ticket gives you free entry to the museum for 12 months. We look forward to seeing you again for our fantastic new exhibition, 'Herstory of Keswick', exploring Keswick through the eyes of women. The exhibition runs from 19th January to 10th May.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2017

Some interisting exhibits and nick nacks. They have exhibitions which are well presented. Cafe was ok,

Thank Gerry195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Hi Gerry, Thank you for your review. It is great that you found our exhibitions to be interesting and well presented. The present temporary exhibition, 'Life of a Mountain: Blencathra', has proved very popular with many visitors returning to have another look. As a local museum we are very proud to offer a fascinating insight into our beautiful area through the 'A History of Keswick in 100 Curious Objects' exhibition. The Mountain Heritage Trust's new exhibition, 'British Women Climb', has also been very well received. Don't forget your admission ticket gives you free entry to the museum for a year and there is always something new going on. Do check our website for details and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Keswick Museum also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Keswick Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing