We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic 4 night stay over Easter.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Allerdale House Keswick
Ranked #27 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic 4 night stay over Easter.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

We recently returned from a 4 night break at Allerdale House in Keswick with our friends and we cannot fault our experience of The Lakes in any way, from the moment we checked in until the moment we checked out. We were looked after by our hosts, Paul and Barbara and welcomed with tea and biscuits on arrival. They were always on hand to offer any advice if required.
The rooms were modern and comfortable with plenty of storage for clothes and wonderful views overlooking the fells. The bathroom was small but adequately equipped with a nice hot, powerful shower. Most importantly everywhere was spotlessly clean!
Breakfast was served each morning from 8.15am to 9am with a choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, juices, tea and coffee followed by a choice of a Cumbrian big breakfast or vegetarian option or you could pre-order a continental option, a yoghurt crunch option or porridge. There was a lounge area with comfy sofas and guests could have free access to the computer and internet together with a bookcase containing many useful maps and leaflets of Keswick and surrounding areas.
The location of the B&B was fantastic as it is only 5 minutes walk from the centre of Keswick where you are spoilt for choice for places to eat on an evening, many tea rooms and not to mention the many many outdoor shops!
Overall our experience was excellent and we will definitely be returning to the Lake District and hopefully Allerdale House if there are vacancies! The fact that the weather was gorgeous the whole weekend really did make our trip all the more wonderful. Thank you Paul and Barbara.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiona_huxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
337
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

Excellent bed and breakfast accommodation. Very friendly and efficiently run by Paul and Barbara. Nothing was too much trouble. Competitively priced, very good value for money.
Location is very good, only a short walk into the centre of Keswick. Breakfast excellent, really sets you up for the day.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb47NorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

All I can say is that Allerdale House was a home from home in a perfect location and superbly located for exploring Keswick and The Lakes. The room, breakfast, the owners and overall house were 5 star and we will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0nestfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

I stayed at Allerdale last week with my partner for two nights after finding it on Tripadvisor. We usually don't stay in guest houses but on this occasion I'm so glad we did. The welcome we received from Paul and Barbara was warming and came with a nice pot of tea. They even have private off road parking which made it easy to unload. We were shown to Room 1 which was very spacious and bright and well decorated. The bathroom again was well decorated and had a lovely power shower perfect after a days walking. In the room were tea and coffee making facilities, digital tv, hairdryer, dressing table with drawers and a large wardrobe. Everything was spotless. Extra pillows were also in the wardrobe so they came in handy. On both evening we dined out in two restaurants, an Indian and Italian, both recommended by Paul and both were excellent. On waking the breakfast was fresh,filling and gorgeous with a full choice on continental and Full Cumbrian, perfect to set you up for a days walking. Allerdale is located a few minutes walk from the centre of Keswick with lots of shops,bars and restaurants. You can also get to the Derwent water ferry in 5 minutes which drops you off all round the lake which is perfect for walkers. On the whole Allerdale House offered everything we needed for our short walking break to the lakes and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Book early as they seem to be very booked up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secretrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

Allerdale house was extremely comfortable and clean. Barbara and Paul were so friendly and accomodating. The room each day was tidied and the beds remade. It was also in good walking into Keswick. The breakfast we had was extremely tasty. We will certainly stay here again. It was just like a home from home! Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janehooper2497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

We enjoyed a fantastic couple of nights at the Allerdale. Barbara and Paul were very welcoming and attentive and even gave us a card and some chocolates as we were celebrating our 25 wedding anniversary. The room was large and comfortable with an excellent view from the big bay window.and along with the ensuite bathroom was very clean. The breakfast was very good, especially the fruit salad. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Err0l1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

Just arrived home from a fantastic weekend in Keswick, made all the more enjoyable by the excellent hospitalty we received when we stayed at Allerdale House. After our journey we were greeted, on our arrival, by Paul and Barbara who immediately offered us tea and biscuits- which we gratefully accepted! This service continued throughout our stay. It was unobtrusive but very attentive and the friendly personalities of Paul and Barbara really added to an enjoyable weekend. A private car park meant we didn't have to worry about finding a parking space-quite a bonus, as parking in Keswick can be a nightmare!! Breakfasts are delicious, a great selection, wonderful quality and portion sizes that set you up nicely for a days walking. Our room was very clean, comfortable and the shower was warm and powerful, perfect for tired walkers. All in all we had a wonderful stay and we will definitely be back-we've already started planning our next visit AND we've recommended Allerdale House to our family and friends! Thank you Paul & Barbara.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollysheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 km away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#63 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.4 km away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#36 of 176 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 km away
Honister House
Honister House
#3 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Tarn Hows Guest House
Tarn Hows Guest House
#87 of 176 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 km away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#10 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.5 km away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allerdale House Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allerdale House Keswick

Property: Allerdale House Keswick
Address: 1 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Allerdale House Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allerdale House is an interesting and impressive Lakeland stone building built around 1877 for a local dignitary with PRIVATE PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. It now offers full en suite accommodation exclusively for adults with all the facilities associated with a small personally run guest house and has been awarded a 4 Star Silver Award for the quality of our accommodation and a Breakfast Award for the quality of our breakfasts by Visit England (the Hotel Inspector). ALLERDALE HOUSE IS ONE OF THE FEW GUEST HOUSES IN KESWICK OWNED AND RUN BY A LOCAL COUPLE, PAUL & BARBARA, BOTH BORN AND RAISED IN KESWICK. Situated in a quiet residential area, it is less than five minutes level walk from the interesting Keswick town centre, where you will find a good variety of eating places, shops and visitor attractions. WE HAVE PRIVATE OFF-ROAD PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. We also have a GUESTS' LOUNGE and FREE WiFi THROUGHOUT THE HOUSE. Repeat Winners of Keswick In Bloom. Certificate Of Excellence Winners 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 & 2016 and members of TripAdvisor Hall Of Fame. 4 Star Silver Award (Visit England), Breakfast Award (Visit England). SORRY WE DO NOT TAKE PETS ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing