We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
137
32
4
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
137
32
4
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown centrestayed herecoast to coast cycle routecycled milestriple roomnew ventureowners were friendlywarm welcomefresh local producesecure storagebike ridetwo night staymain roadprivate parkingfive minute walkfull englisha great nights sleep
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 176 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

We booked to stay here in October of 2016 (actual stay was august 2017) our whole party at the original time of booking had taken over this guest house and as we are all family certain arrangements were made with the owner. Now fast forward to 2 weeks prior to arrival we ring to just confirm we can have the early check in and this is where is went wrong! The guest house had been sold and none of the arrangements made with the previous owner would be honoured. Personally I found this to be disgusting and not very good business. However we were stuck as we had paid for our non-refundable room. What we arranged with the previous owner was to have a triple room, as all the family rooms had gone, and she would put up an extra bed in the room. The new owners refused this and made us book another room at an extra cost. Another family due to stay just couldn't afford the extra cost so ended up staying else where which was a great shame.

The guest house itself is nice, Easy to find, situated on a main road and opposite a petrol station. Our rooms were nice enough and the bathrooms were done to a good standard! The rooms were clean, beds comfy, they were tea & coffee making facilities and also bottled water. Cotton pads were also provided which I thought was good for us ladies that need to remove makeup.

Breakfast in the morning is served between 8-9 which I thought was quite a short space of time. There is a continental section and full cooked is made to order. The main gripe I and a few others had here was the young girl serving was walking round taking our order, walking in and out of the kitchen, to bring tea, coffee and food with no socks or shoes on and she was dressed quite inappropriately but apart from that breakfast was lovely and enjoyed by all.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank JMRH06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick O, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Thank you for your review. However I would just like to address some of the points you have mentioned above; You are unfortunately incorrect with how the arrangements for your parties booking were handled. You are correct that the booking was made in October 2016 but you had in fact not booked out our entire guest house. There were errors made by you in booking (which were discussed with you at length by ourselves and then again discussed with you by booking.com who you booked your accommodation through) and there were errors made by the other member of your party who had to cancel her room. You originally booked a room for two adults and two children (aged 0 years). The room your booked was a triple room, the system allowed you to book this room as you incorrectly inputted the ages of your children who were both over six years old and would both require a bed. Unfortunately, you are also incorrect when you mention the previous owner mentioning a extra bed in the room as this was in fact me that said this may be an option depending on availability (this was when you called to check your booking, two weeks prior to arrival). Having taken your details, as you were being particularly difficult on the telephone, I began to investigate the parties booking. This is when it became apparent that you had booked a non-refundable no breakfast option room and had only paid for three people and there was four people coming in your particular party. Another member of your group had already booked and paid for the extra bed, this is why this option was not available to you. This was not something that was not honoured, it was simply not an option for your family. The reason that you had to pay for an extra room, is because you booked incorrectly and we did everything possible to rectify that issue for you, and this was explained to you in great detail several times over the evening that the issue with your booking came to light. To say that we refused to honour your booking conditions quite frankly is a down right lie, we did everything we could to accommodate all of your party. The other member of the party that you mentioned also booked incorrectly and this was explained in great detail to them also, however I will not discuss other bookings taken through the Guest House. Also, I would like to point out that at no point did you ask me about early check-in and this was actually another member of your party that asked me about this. Your party, checked in five and half hours early and were not charged for this and you also checked out nearly 45 mins late and again you were not charged for this when you should have been. This was done as a goodwill gesture and quite frankly after the trouble caused we did not need to accommodate this.
I must thank you for the nice comments about our rooms, but would like to say I would have appreciated if you had taken photos of the rooms with the beds made, and if you had asked to take pictures of the halls of the Guest House, which also contain our personal possessions!
Our breakfast is served over an adequate period of time and we have never had any complaints about the length of time breakfast is carried over. As for your comments about "the young girl" serving breakfast, this was in fact myself, the Owner of the business and I don't understand how black leggings and a black top are inappropriate to be serving breakfast! You and no member of your party made reference to any issues, in fact many members of your party complimented us on there stay and were grateful for the extra effort we put in. Also, may I point out that the children in your party (yours included) pulled out all the games provided in our downstairs lounge and left the parts scattered all over the floor and ran around the dining room all through breakfast, even though hot food and hot liquid were beings served and other guests were trying to enjoy there breakfast. We also had to clean up abandoned empty drinks bottles and crisp packets that were left strewn outside in our car park by your party.
I am not surprised by the tone of your review, or the personal insults that you have aimed at one of the owners, as you were quite clearly unhappy with having to stay here in the first place, this was obvious throughout your stay by your attitude to the owners.
I think it best to say that you and no member of your party will be welcomed back to our Guest House in the future and please note I do not say this lightly!

Kind regards,

Lauren Chalmers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2017

Just had 4 nights at the Acorn, lovely family run guest house, rooms lovely and clean well cooked breakfast that sets you up for the rest of the day. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners to make your stay memorable.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank jjrk500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick O, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review. It really is appreciated! We hope to see you all soon. Thanks again, Lauren and the Acorn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with our 3 year old in the triple room. Was a perfect base, just a short walk (10 mins with a toddler in tow) into Penrith centre. Was also a 5 minute drive to Roundthorn Country House where we were attending a wedding. Great breakfast, comfy beds and very clean. They went out of their way to accommodate us, even leaving a car mat out for the little one to play with! Many Thanks!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Joely G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick O, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure having you! If you are ever in Penrith again, please come back to us for the best prices! Hope to see all soon, Lauren and the Acorn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2017

We stayed here for two nights on a Wowcher deal, and we cannot fault it. Overall the place is very cosy and well-run. Our room was basic but spotless, with tea, coffee and biscuits provided. The bed was extremely comfortable. We had dinner in the guest house on the first night, and the steak pie was absolutely excellent. The breakfast is continental (included) or full cooked (extra) – we tried both and they were delicious. It’s well-located as well – a 10 minute walk into the town centre (which was very good for a stroll), and in the car we were at the foot of Blencathra within 20 minutes.
This is a lovely little place that is extremely well-managed and also serves as a great no-frills base from which to explore both the town and the northern Lakeland fells. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick O, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. If you are ever in Penrith again, please come back to us directly for the best prices! Thanks again, Lauren and the Acorn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2017 via mobile

Stopped here after a heavy days cycling, it rained all day. Awesome welcome, clean rooms with everything you could want. Plenty of hot water and great service to dry our very wet clothes for the next morning.

They stopped serving evening meals but arranged for us to have take away in the dining room...above and beyond.

It's family run and it's hard to believe they have only been in the business a month.

Best of luck with the new venture

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rhyntin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick O, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Thank you for your review. I remember your party well and what a bad day you had for doing the coast to coast. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and felt refreshed ready to go for the next day. I hope we will see you again in the future, and hopefully the rain will be less, although I can't guarantee it!! Please remember and come back to us directly for the best deals. Thanks, Lauren and the Acorn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews