We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Lakes Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We are regular stayers in Shire Hotels and I have to say that N.Lakes is up there with our favourites. The staff were absolutely fantastic, especially the waiting staff who went above and beyond what they needed to. The first night we had Claire to wait on us (no surname). She recognised us, despite it being over 2 months since our last stay and offered us a great table by the fire. It was quiet, which we quite enjoyed as it allowed the staff to be tentative and have time for a chat. Sue served us our wine and she was professional and excellent despite I believe being new as Claire gave her friendly guidance. The second night we were waited on by another Claire i believe, Stacy and Rene, who were all again brilliant. The service was great despite it being a busier evening and again we were recognised as having stayed before. We were the last ones out of the restaurant and despite it being 10pm, Rene still offered us tea and coffee - there was certainly no sign of urgency to rush us off and we were treated with the courteousy you would expect if it were just opening. As always, the food was unbelievable, completely stuffed to the eyeballs both evenings as we couldn't resist what there was to offer. The terrine and sticky toffee pudding were amazing what excellent and talented chefs you have! The log fire was beautiful as were the Spa Facilities. The only downfall would be the small, basic room, it needed a bit of a spruce up. I think some have been done up as we were in a larger room on our previous visit (still paying the same price). There were a few holes in the sheet and a milk jug which stayed in the corridor for about 6 hours but these were minor pitfalls, hardly anything that would spoil a weekend away. We will certainly be back but maybe when the weather is a bit better!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Such lovely comments, thank you so much. We will look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Antony Penny - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    327
    123
    62
    22
See reviews for
251
319
23
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Oh dear, where to start. Lets just say if you have high standards or even standards befitting a 4 star hotel, you are unlikely to find them met here. Ive rated based on fact its meant to be 4 star and isn't and on the cleanliness, quality and customer service.
The standard rooms are best described as rather cramped and shabby, budget range style, functional but certainly no wow factor or even for us, a "yes I think I could happily spend two nights here" factor. I can honestly say that as a comparison premier inns have bigger, better more inviting rooms and are cleaner. Firstly cleanliness : we had dirty tea making facilities, damaged furniture worn with holes, no tea bags, filthy (ie hard to see out of for external muck) ageing windows with wonky catches and corridors being used to store a consignment of office chairs on wheels or extra bedroom chairs just sort of plonked there for no apparent reason - not great the the event of a fire, corridors should be sterile environment, very poor!
So firstly we raised our unhappiness with reception. We waited about 20 mins for the duty manager to come, with no tea to drink due to the dirty spoons and unstocked facilities. She was very polite and said she would could see what we meant, she could hardly say otherwise. She went away to see what she could do, 20 mins later she came back and offered and us an exec room which was equally uninspiring, about a foot or two bigger and had a double bed, not a twin, so not a solution for 2 friends. We said no, she went away again and after half an hour of no return, we packed up and went to reception to check put. The duty manager was summoned again and took us to see a newly refurbished standard room, admittedly better than before but the same size and totally lacking in any style at all, just functional and to be honest... cheap. My friend asked if this was the same price as the one we'd been allocated (it was) and so why had we not been offered it before, why are guest paying for different quality room, some upgraded some not? We were told it was a disabled room and that was why we hadn't been shown it before and it had already been allocated but theyd swapped the booking and I guess put the other unsuspecting arrivals in our reject room. As an aside it clearly was not disabled adapted, as it was no bigger that the original room, no way to turn a wheel chair. So why say that? All getting curiouser and curiouser!

So ultimately we left but not before another staff member had a pop at us saying no one ever complained before. Very unprofessional. In summary very poor customer service, Its not just about being polite, its about being assertive and caring and wanting to find a quick solution and not leaving people to stew for the best part of an hour and half with them still having to root out the manager for a third time.

The hotel allowed us to cancel our booking and did not charge. We went elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 10diamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
I can only apologise that our efforts to appease you at the time were unsuccessful, and that the alternatives offered to you did not meet with your approval.
The last thing we would ever want is for any guest to leave with a negative impression of the Hotel, and I am genuinely sorry that this was the case.

Kind regards
Antony Penny - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

stayed for 2 night break 27&28th jan 20012 nice hotel staff friendly polite /helpfull
good breakfast didnt have lunch or evening meals at hotel as out walking bar staff give good service but i found the wine list very expensive ( cheapest bottle of wine nearly £20 )

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garlicmushrooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

When you arrive at the hotel you are immediately struck by the bright blue exterior paint (love it or loathe it) which is let down by tatty window sills in dire need of repair / re-painting.
The receptionists were extremely helpful especially when I asked to be upgraded to a larger room at an extra charge of £25 for the night.
The restaurant, bar and public areas are excellent with 3 huge log burning fire places giving a warm ambience - smashing !
The indoor pool and gym were also very nice and free of charge for residents.
We ate in the restaurant and chose from the daily menu at a cost of approx. £15 per head - the food was extremely good and the restaurant staff very professional and friendly.
The bar was also a nice place to spend time, but the drinks were far too expensive ...... a pint and a g & t - £8.30 !
We found the coridoors and bedrooms clean and tidy but a little 'tired' in places ..... I believe there is an ongoing redecoration / refurbishment of rooms taking place, so ask for one of those when booking.
Overall, the hotel is a nice place to stay when visiting the Northern Lakes !

Room Tip: Ask for a newly re-decorated / re-furbished room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rotiel321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thanks for your feedback. We are delighted to announce that the exterior decoration and window replacements are imminent. I’m sure you’ll notice a big difference next time you visit, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Antony Penny - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel 5 nights a week with business for over 4 weeks. The staff are consistently polite, efficient and friendly. The service is excellent and the food is of a very high standard with a good selection of wine. What really makes it is the log fires, which are lit at breakfast and last throughout the day in winter months. The bedrooms need a little attention as they do not reflect the standard of the service or restaurant and need some investment but overall they are comfortable and all have coffee and tea in them.
I didn't try the spa but did hear good reports and the pool is inviting but gets very busy in peak periods as locals can have membership too.
I would definately stay here again for business and pleasure as it is the best in Penrith and walking distance to town.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the lift - the third floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you very much for the lovely comments, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Antony Penny - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed here on business (after recently staying at the Aztec, near Bristol -same group).
Lots of space in public areas for meetings, with log fires, free wi-fi, proper coffee.
Leisure club looked nice with half term holiday makers enjoying themselves.
Polite, helpful, well trained staff and good menu of local produce.
Phoned to book and asked if there was a taxi rank at Penrith station? 'Give us a ring and we'll pick you up!' That's service for you.
Will keep looking for those 'Shire Hotels' when I travel as they are also good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deskjet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback, especially regarding the team, it means a great deal. Don’t leave it too long before your next visit.

Kind Regards

Antony Penny - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Well what can I say. The whole place runs like clockwork, the staff are smart and tidy, the restaurant offers a wide range of locally sourced traditional English cuisine, the surrounding area is beautiful and the beds are really comfortable.

However. I am fourteen years of age and when I visit I always end up getting the sofa bed. Now, that's not a problem for me as I practically sleep like a log. However when trying to get to sleep the bed doesn't seem to offer any softness or even suspension. The bed is as solid as a rock.

Everything else is great. The pool area is clean and modern which is nice to return to from a long walk. The jacuzzi is as hot as a lobster pot which is great when retreating from the quite cold pool. And the rooms are nice and spacious.

The staff are friendly especially Rennie the head-waiter. and the reception offers a embracing log fire which is nice to have evening tea by.

Overall the stay gets better each year. I couldn't ask for anything else.

Thanks.
(Regular).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joejohn0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
32.7 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
10.6 km away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
39.5 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
34.8 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
30.8 km away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Lakes Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Lakes Hotel & Spa

Property: North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Address: Ullswater Road, Penrith CA11 8QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Penrith
#3 Family Hotel in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Lakes Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional hunting lodge style of the North Lakes Hotel & Spa, Penrith reflects the rugged beauty of the Lake District. Local stone, natural wood and open log fires create a genuine 'away from it all' environment in this exclusive 4 star resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your North Lakes Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Lakes Hotel And Spa
North Lakes Penrith
North Lakes Hotel & Spa Penrith, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing