We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
221
69
23
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
221
69
23
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cross keys top floor wedding guests poster bed cumbrian breakfast eden valley four poster large room on arrival next morning stayed two nights family room lovely hotel evening meal fresh fruit lake district enjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 319 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2017 via mobile

Got here after a long drive to find I had left my wash bag at home,, one of the staff very kindly went and picked up toothbrush and toothpaste for me whilst I settled down to an excellent dinner in the restaurant.

Now, although the hotel is very comfortable and welcoming and whilst the food is excellent, it's not just these factors that make a place worth returning to, but when you've got staff like they have at the Roundthorn it certainly makes for a place that will be memorable,,,, so, as the title suggests,,, don't even think about it,,,, just book it ,,,

Thanks team you made my stay very enjoyable.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a night at the end of a road trip to Scotland. Very nicely situated and a very attractive building with lovely grounds and outdoor seating. The staff were all lovely and the public areas were smart and pleasant. Our room was large but poorly laid out. There was a large entrance lobby which served no purpose. The bathroom was large and well equipped. The beds were comfy but the headboards were loose...no good for honeymooners! Our radiator was cold before we went out so the lady downstairs said she'd ask the maintenance man to check it. When we got back the room was like a sauna and we couldn't turn it down! We called reception, someone came up but they couldn't turn it down either, but they said it went off at 9.15 anyway...we didn't use the restaurant so can't comment. Breakfast was very nice but the breakfast room was a bit small.
There was nothing really wrong with the hotel but it certainly didn't feel like a 5 star in the guest room.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely small hotel with excellent service. The staff are so friendly and go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect with your stay. I would definitely stay here again.
The food is really good, especially the cooked to order breakfast.
I must also mention the amazing views of this beautiful area.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank SandyBoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights to explore the lake district. The hotel has a wonderful aspect overlooking the distant peaks of the lakes. Very friendly and attentive staff with fab Cumbria breakfast we stayed in room 6 overlooking the peaks great four poster bed and huge shower room our room was kept immaculate by the lovely lady who cleaned for us a credit to the hotel....all the staff were. The hotel is literally a stones throw from Penrith town centre although beware if you walk it it will be uphill coming back !. Overall this place is lovely and we thoroughly recommend it for a stay in the lakes,nearest lake is Ullswater with steamers travelling the full length of it. Our thanks to Roundthorn staff who made our stay so comfortable. I have posted a couple of our room pics.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TangerineDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2017 via mobile

We spent a pleasant couple of nights on a dbb basis. The hotel has views over Penrith towards the lakes & hills when the sun shines (dissapears when the mists roll in). The hotel was a little worn but comfortable with good service. The food was more about popular choices but good ingredients and carefully prepared for dinner and breakfast. They have a big hospitality suite for weddings but fortunately none on when we were there. Overall a good 4 star and would recommend.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Expectal0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews