We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay”
Review of The Lamplighter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lamplighter
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The service was excellent, super friendly and helpfull. The restaurant has the best home made food I have had in England! The rooms were very nice, very good beds and very clean. Its the place to stay or at least have dinner if you go to the Lake District.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ines L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

Fantastic food and friendly staff will come again beautiful area to stay plenty to do

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We had an overnight stay at The Lamplighter recently with our 2 children, aged 3 and 5, it was fabulous. Having recently been refurbished we stayed in a lovely large room with the most comfortable bed in the world and our children both had put up beds. We all slept amazingly well considering we were away from home. It was clean, spacious, fresh, warm and welcoming to name just a few. It was also well equipped to suit our needs with tea and coffee making facilities, TV and both shower and bath, although a few more tea bags wouldn't have gone amiss!!

In the morning the children found it most amusing that they had a sink each to wash in and that Nanny and Grandad's room was right next door with nobody else around. The hotel is an intriguing maze of different levels and corridors and as a result it felt like we had our own private wing.

The level of service and attention to detail is remarkable. It is a family run hotel and as such really offers a personal service. All of the staff were very friendly and always willing to help. There is a very relaxed atmosphere in the bar, which appeared to attract many locals aswell and is always a good sign.

The Breakfast was by far the best hotel breakfast I have ever had, and they catered for all of our needs including 2 fussy children. We each had something different but nothing was a problem and it was all freshly cooked not reheated.

We wouldn't hesitate to go back when we are next in the lakes, it was a fantastc overnight stay and a lovely start to our holiday, thank you.

Room Tip: If you are a family travelling together ask for room 11 (I think) and the one next to it, the two ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayWebbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We have visited this hotel on many occassions and have always been very happy.On our recent visit after the refurbishment WOW! the change is amazing ,we could not fault it in any way.This is a family run hotel nothing is to much trouble ,you have a problem they will sort it.All the staff are very helpful and friendly.As for the food excellent,breakfast a choice to suit everyones needs.The restaurant offers a good choice and all perfectly served.and delicious.We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valeriej59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

When we arrived, we couldn't get into the carpark due to the contractors vans (currently refurbishing). The gent we found inside, moved his vehicle to allow us to park. We found out later that he was one of two sons who run this fine establishment with their Mother (who was very sweet). Our room had just been refurbished and it was lovely. Brand new carpet, towels and shower room. The breakfast was the best we've ever had anywhere. The Greek yoghurt with berries was to die for. One regret, we were there for two nights only and due to the travelling around never got the chance to eat inthe Lamplighter in an evening. We will return and we will try the Lamplighter fare.
Lovely staff, no further problems parking. A lovely place to stay. Can't wait to return. :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelagh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The rooms have been refurbished up to a high standard and are very clean. The staff are friendly and very accommodating. The food in the restaurant is excellant and offers a good selection, the specials menu changes daily and has a good choice of fresh fish etc. If I had to be very picky the room I stayed in could have done with privacy glass in the bathroom.
Really recommend!! I will definitely be back to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_P186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel is being refurbished, so some rooms may not quite be up to the standard mine was. We stayed in room two which faces out front. It was a bit noisy from traffic and people chatting outside, but that was all there was against it. We were, I was told, the first guests to use it since ith was refurbished, so there was a little snagging to do. Hooks in the bathroom and a door or two easing but otherwise all was good.

Usual tea/coffee, freeview TV, MASSIVE bed, wonderful BATHroom ensuite. Everything you could want, even the smell of fresh paint!

We dined on braised beef in the restaurant one night and it was to die for, the veg etc. to go with it was a bit of a small portion but there was plenty of meat and it just melted in the mouth. The desserts were VERY small......

There looks to be a decent bar, although I did nto try the real ales on offer.

To sum up, get a refurbish room and although not cheap (and the restaurant is not cheap either) it is rather nice. Five mins from the station. Great staff.

Be warned, there is not a lot to Windermere, very small town centre.

Room Tip: Get a refurbished one (room two was ours)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuislipTropic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.9 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
0.8 km away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,115 reviews
0.8 km away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#17 of 20 in Windermere
605 reviews
3 km away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamplighter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamplighter

Address: High St, Windermere LA23 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
#15 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $125 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lamplighter 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned Victorian guesthouse and pub, situated in the heart of Windermere Village and located in the heart of the Lake District. Two minutes walk from Windermere train station, just off the A591 and the perfect location from which to explore the idyllic surroundings, with local amenities on your doorstep. Offering seven comfortable en-suite bedrooms and two shower only, also attached is The Lamplighter bar serving home cooked traditional pub food and beer affording great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lamplighter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakthorpe Hotel Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing