We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”
Review of Windermere Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windermere Suites
Ranked #29 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Stayed in the Keswick suite, with a romance package (Champagne, Chocolated and rose petals on the bed in the shape of a heart - It was perfect. I was shocked at how amazing the room looked and all the extras. There were so many I had forgotten about the TV and ovesized airbath. I think all our future visits in the lakes will be at this hotel, which is a first because usually I search out the best deals but this hotel is too special for words. I felt sad to leave, whereas I'm usually happy to be returning home.
Thank you to all the staff who are so charming and helpful without being too obtrusive. Can't wait to return.

We ate at mojos bistro which was also lovely, however our choice of restaurant wouldn've been Hooked, which is just over the road but closed for December and January. Will be sure to check next time.

Room Tip: The Keswick room - I fell in in love with but I think they're all fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank benvalenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie1983, Manager at Windermere Suites, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear guests, we are all so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in our Luxury Keswick Suite. The Romantic Package is a fabulous option when staying with a loved one, as it just adds to the beauty and romance of the room....And Champagne in a double spa air bath is always enjoyable! All of your kind comments will be shared with the team, and we all hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    27
    23
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
403
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

After researching online, we booked The Coniston at The Windermere Suites for a short honeymoon in the Lake District. What a wonderful place - from the moment we arrived, we were given an extremely warm reception and the staff were very helpful, thoughtful and friendly. The Coniston suite is amazing; a beautiful bedroom, patio area outside (unfortunately it was too cold to use), a lounge area, a walk in storage area, and the bathroom is to die for, with an air bath, tv and walk in shower and lots of other fabulous features and original decor. You order breakfast the night before from a huge choice (we tried to sample them all - eggs benedict was my favourite, but it was all perfect), and it is delivered to your door at the time of your choice.
Windermere is a great base if you are new to the Lake District, and there is plenty to do in the area. Bowness is about 15 minutes down the hill and has some great restaurants and pubs, as well as attractions including the Beatrix Potter museum and boat trips on the Lake.
I would heartily recommend a stay at the Windermere suites and would like to thank Vicky for posting my charger to me and enclosing a 'New Home' card - so thoughtful!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie1983, Manager at Windermere Suites, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear guests, it sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in our Super Luxury Coniston suite and we would like to thank you for sharing such lovely comments on Tripadvisor. Your comments regarding the service received are extremely rewarding as all of our staff strive to ensure our guests have the most enjoyable experience possible. Thank you once again, and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

My boyfriend took me to the Retreat in Windermere for my birthday, part of the Howbeck hotel, which is a sister hotel of the Windermere suites. The room was absolutely gorgeous, the bed is huge, there is a TV, fridge, iPod dock. The bathroom is fab, huge Jacuzzi bath with a TV and mood lighting too. With the retreat you are set not within the hotel but behind the hotel, still attached but to get in the hotel if needed you have to go out the door of your room and then round to the front on the hotel, you had your own little terrace which would be lovely on a nice day, we also received breakfast in bed the next day which was very very nice. There were a couple of restaurants in walking distance. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I will be going trying other suites in the future.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie1983, Manager at Windermere Suites, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear guests, thank you for sharing such a lovely review following your stay in 'The Retreat' suite at The Howbeck (sister guesthouse and next door to Windermere Suites). Your scores and comments are all warmly received, and we're thrilled to hear you plan to visit more of our suites in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Everything was perfect and will be returning again shortly. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom1191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My husband treated me to a 2 night break,we stayed in the Ambleside suite,and it was the best weekend i have ever had,i absolutely love everything about TWS - its luxurious, romantic,relaxing and in a fabulous part of the Lake District.Every aspect of this little gem, is 5 star! The staff are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble, the furnishings are out of this world,i wanted to take the entire contents of the suite home with me, and as for the bathroom - TV, air bath, mood lighting, why would you want to go out? Total luxury!! I have never enjoyed a full english breakfast as much as the one served here, all served on fabulous V & B crockery,at a time to suit us, and in our room, what more could anyone want? The attention to detail is first class, it is so rare to find a place that ticks all the boxes, TWS was so much more than we expected,we didnt want to leave,and will definetely return next year! Once you have stayed at The Winderemere Suites, i promise you, you wont ever want to stay anywhere else!!! :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie1983, Manager at Windermere Suites, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear guests, Wow.... what can we say!? What a fabulous review. We take great pleasure in hearing how much our guests have enjoyed their stay here at Windermere Suites. Your comments regarding the service, decor, facilities and breakfast are all appreciated greatly, and we're thrilled that our Luxury Ambleside Suite, ticked all the boxes for you. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This place just gets better and better, the staff are first class, service to match and the suites are heavenly. We stayed 2 nights over bonfire weekend and weather was great, we did not want to leave our suite it was so comfortable but when we did tear ourselves away we went back to Hooked restaurant for another great meal.

Tried Robertos restaurant too and that also very good.

We hope to go back between Christmas and New Year.

Room Tip: They are all good, you cant go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theschofys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie1983, Manager at Windermere Suites, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear guests, another 5/5 all round...It's like music to our ears, and we all greatly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. Your comments regarding the staff and service are very kind. We're glad you had some good weather, and it sounds like you enjoyed some lovely meals. The Windermere Suites is located within walking distance of a a vast range of excellent restaurants, helping it be the best place to stay when visiting Windermere. Thank you for an excellent review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This hotel was by far the best standard i have ever been too, clean spacious and the bathroom was the best feature having a tv and mood lighting was amazing. Staff very helpful, breakfast out of this world and to have it in bed was a real treat! Would recommend to anyone! 10** hotel in great location!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenna_stokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie1983, Manager at Windermere Suites, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear guests, yet again another 5/5 all round. We are thrilled to read your kind comments and are so pleased you had such an enjoyable stay with us. '10** hotel', what more can be said!? Thank you for such a fabulous review, and we sincerely hope you will return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.9 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,366 reviews
6.4 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#7 of 20 in Windermere
292 reviews
0.6 km away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,453 reviews
0.7 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Suites

Property: Windermere Suites
Address: New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windermere Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 super luxury suites aimed toward romantics & honeymooners wanting somewhere very special, each suite contains its own dining area and lounge, walk in dressing room, out of this world bathrooms with airbaths with tv's above & superking hand made beds. The Windermere Suites were the winner of the AA's 'Funkiest B&B' award for 2010 and are also finalists in the 2012 Conde Nast Johansen's Awards for Excellence, and Winners of Cumbria Tourisms 'Best Guest Accommodation' These butler-serviced suites offer designer luxury set in the natural beauty of the Lake District. The 8 super luxury suites are aimed toward romantics & honeymooners wanting somewhere very special, each suite contains its own dining area and lounge, walk in dressing room, out of this world bathrooms with airbaths with tv's above & superking hand made beds. With a 5-star Guest Accommodation rating from the AA, suites come with luxury bathrooms and modern furniture from designers such as Philippe Starck. Each suite features a handmade, silver-leaf Frank Hudson super-king bed. All suites have 42-inch LCD TVs, crystal lights and free Wi-Fi. A hearty Cumbria platter or continental breakfast, with freshly ground coffee, is delivered to your suite every morning. Breakfast is served at a time to suit you. A room service menu is also available. Windermere Suites are just a 2-minute walk from the town centre and Windermere Train Station. Lake Windermere and Bowness-on-Windermere, home to the 'World Of Beatrix Potter' are also within easy walking distance. Guests receive free spa and health club membership at the Old England Hotel, which is just a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windermere Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hotel Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing