We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good decision”

Mountain Goat Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$57.65*
and up
Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip from...
More Info
US$60.27*
and up
Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise
More Info
US$65.51*
and up
The Best of the Lakes Small-Group Day Trip from Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With over 40 years experience of the Lake District, the Mountain Goat is nationally and internationally recognised by many coach and tour operators as their first and foremost Lake District tour specialist. From Holidays and Short Breaks to half-day and full-day guided mini-coach tours; this is the ideal way to explore the spectacular scenery of the Lake District and beyond.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good decision”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We opted for the Tour C 'High Adventure Tour' and would recommend it. The tour guide Malcolm was delightful, he was very knowledgeable, funny and genuinely interested in The Lakes, which makes it easier for others to enjoy the tour. Tour C does include a steam railway but it didn't run and we weren't informed of this until the day (due to end of season) however, to make up for this Malcolm did take us to various other places so we didn't mind much.

It is a long day, start time is 09:35, finishing 5am/6pm. They provide a pick up service from where you are (very handy) there are plently of photo opportunity stops, bathroom breaks, lunch break and we were even provided tea & coffee from the mini bus.

They offer a range of tours and once we go back to The Lakes, we shall be taking advantage of all the others.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    110
    13
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middleton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very long day”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We opted for Option A which was the tour of all the ten lakes. it was the most expensive but only by a little bit, and it was a full 8 hour tour!
the booking experience was easy, although the lady told us the incorrect pick up time - 15 mins after the correct time so we nearly missed the pick up! but we did get picked up at the hotel and that meant we didn't need to walk the mile up the big hill to the main venue - which was very nice at 9am in the morning!
we had a small group of four, as well as the driver who tried to make sure we spoke to each other during the trip. the driver had a lot of local knowledge which was excellent for tourists.
she was a lovely lady and allowed us to stop off in places if we asked which were not scheduled. the only down side was that she did bring in a lot of personal life thoughts into the day which led to awkward moments.
there were plenty of toilet breaks, and a boat trip included in the price so we worked it out as £3 per hour plus the £12 boat ride. all together being £36 per person
we stopped in Keswick for an hour after the boat ride for lunch. we didn't need to stay with the group at this point and could relax on our own around the town.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank MillyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent intro to the Lakes”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Being first timers to the Lakes the High Adventure tour gave us a snapshot of somes of the area's most amazing and beautiful features ..a very informative and enjoyable tour ( thanks Malcolm ) . At the lunch stop if you can manage to forgo lunch and visit the Water Mill it is well worth it ...not to mention good for the waistline !

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Evansfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The only way to enjoy the views and learn a little history of the Lake District”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Firstly a top class tour guide and driver in Tony, we went on the high tour and there are some scary roads on this one. Tony was a great driver and we felt safe the entire time in his care. Good patter as well look out for the Michael Jackson joke!!
Good value for money and we will definitely try another tour next time in the Lakes.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to discover the treasures of the Lake District”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We booked a half day tour to experience the wonderful delights of the area. Our driver (Peter Fox) made our journey very enjoyable with his knowledge of the area. Travelling in a mini bus allowed Peter to venture up in to the hills where a coach would not be able to.
There are so many different trips you can choose from, and whenever we get to return to the Lakes we will definitely use Mountain Goat Tours again to discover other areas.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mark529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain Goat Tours also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Mountain Goat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing