We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
PJBookworm
Aylesbury, United Kingdom

Alternative Afternoon Tea

Review of The Wild Boar
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 12, 2024via mobile
We went to the Wild Boar Inn for the Alternative Afternoon Tea. It was really good. Rather than the normal finger sandwiches, you had soup, sausage rolls, mini fish & chips, beef sliders, buttermilk chicken and a salmon cocktail - it really was a nice change. Everything was really tasty and the scones and cakes were yummy! Service was great (service charge was added automatically which is a bit cheeky). Great value for an afternoon tea of this standard.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam Bujok, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Pjwhite72,
Thank you so much for your recent review. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable afternoon tea with us. We hope we have the please in welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$217
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$215
  • Agoda.com
    C$199
  • Expedia.com
    C$214
4.1 km from The Wild Boar
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$188
  • Expedia.com
    C$209
  • Priceline
    C$156
  • Hotels.com
    C$206
4.8 km from The Wild Boar
Free parking
Pool
Exterior
C$235
  • Expedia.com
    C$230
  • Agoda.com
    C$197
  • Hotels.com
    C$249
5.6 km from The Wild Boar
Free parking
Pool
C$236
C$183
  • Expedia.com
    C$189
  • Hotels.com
    C$204
  • Priceline
    C$192
4.0 km from The Wild Boar
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
C$601
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$601
  • Hotels.com
    C$601
  • Priceline
0.8 km from The Wild Boar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Langdale Chase Hotel
C$616
  • Tripadvisor
    C$616
  • Expedia.com
  • Official Hotel
7.9 km from The Wild Boar
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$362
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$362
  • eDreams
    C$362
4.3 km from The Wild Boar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$201
  • Hotels.com
    C$201
  • Trip.com
    C$236
7.8 km from The Wild Boar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$373
  • Agoda.com
    C$316
  • Hotels.com
    C$390
8.3 km from The Wild Boar
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Windermere
Reviews (1,933)
Filter reviews
1,933 results
Traveller rating
1,205
419
194
68
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,205
419
194
68
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild boar feature room afternoon tea copper bath clay pigeon shooting smoke house scotch egg micro brewery mad pig smoked steak real ale cooked to perfection evening meal sister hotel luxury room classic room roaring fire
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,933 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2024

Beautiful premises in a lovely location , nice room with a lovely breakfast.
Beware the sting in the tail though which is a £12 parking fee. Nothing mentioned about this upon booking, nothing mentioned on check in and nothing mentioned at checkout, yet there is was added on to the bill. This is not a budget stay so an unexpected extra fee at the end was a surprise and i feel unnecessary.

Date of stay: June 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam Bujok, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2024

Dear Tim M,

Thank you very much for your review. Having re checked all our third party partner sites and as per many of my replies to TA community, I do believe that (whilst not part of the initial description of the property), our car parking charges are indeed clearly stated on all of them. Whilst we ourselves are unable to dictate exactly how this information appears on most third-party sites, I do believe that there is sufficient information about our car park charge policy on the landing page of these particular sites to enable guests to make an informed decision. We do cancel the charge for those that book direct with us to show our appreciation and to provide not only the best possible rates, but the best experience to those who support businesses by cutting out third parties. We do have framed sign on reception explaining our car parking policy and I can only apologise, that this wasn't explained to you by our team.

We do recommend to book directly with us next time in order to avoid our parking fee and to receive best pre stay experience.

We look forward to welcome you back soon!


Adam Bujok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2024 via mobile

Positives:

Nice bar/Restaurant area - check in was good, our room was ready early so that was a bonus. Nice touch with the Whiskey/Sherry arrival drinks.
Set in lovey grounds and the woodland is beautiful to walk around.
Use of Wellies
Breakfast as it was included - I was shocked at the £25 price, and certainly wouldn’t have paid that!

Negatives:

Cold, dirty, noisy room - our room was tiny and when we got in there was a piece of wood on the floor and when we looked under the bed it was flithy! The bathroom was tiny and separated from the room with a sliding door right next to the bed which didn’t shut properly, not very private! Floor dirty, bath stained and the shower dripped all night and was useless- I might aswell stood under a watering can! Dressing table all stained - not what you expect from a 5* rating.

Food good but very very expensive! Also adding Service Charges - tip pay for your drinks as you go at the bar!

Service was ok, some staff were better than others. We had a liquor coffee and when they were making it, the bar staff complained how much they hated making them (whilst we were stood there)

Large group of lads who were loud coming in from a night out, swearing at breakfast - I didn’t think places like this would accept same sex group bookings.

Based on the price, and the quality of the rooms, lack of sleep due to other guests, dripping shower, fan coming on every time the bathroom light was turned on, busy road noise, we wouldn’t look to return which is a shame as the Grounds are lovely.

Room tip: Pay for drinks at the bar to avoid the 10% Service Charge Try and get a room at the back so can’t hear road noise
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Pioneer537893
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam Bujok, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2024

Dear Pioneer537893,

Thank you very much for your detailed review with feedback following your recent stay with us. I was of course dismayed to read of your disappointment and, at the outset, please accept my apologies for this – I am of course sorry that we failed to meet your expectations during your time with us. All our Classic bedrooms vary in size and décor due to nature of the building, and I am sorry that you didn’t find your room satisfactory. I will of course ensure that your comments regarding your experience with room are shared and discussed with my entire team and indeed with my directors in an effort to better meet the expectations of future guests.
Of an equal concern was your comments regarding restaurant service and large group - whilst this is something completely out of our control, nevertheless this of course had a negative impact on your stay and both of your comments have already been addressed promptly.
It is of course my sincere wish that each and every guest we have the pleasure of welcoming to Wild Boar Inn experiences only the very best possible standards and service and I am sorry that , on this occasion, we did not quite meet some of your expectations and should you wish to discuss your concerns with me or Inn's assistant manager Lina please do not hesitate to contact us direct at the Inn.

All the very best

Adam Bujok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2024

The evening meal, a steak and a burger were over cooked. The room we stayed in was cold, despite it being June

Date of stay: June 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stoylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam Bujok, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2024

Dear Stoylie,

many thanks for your review here on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that you found your room to be cold in June. We do have radiators in all our rooms and these are on standby during summer months, but can be switched on by our guests or team at any time of the day. I was of course also disappointed to read regarding your food being overcooked and please accept my sincere apologies for this.


Kind regards


Adam Bujok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2024

the food was lovely but very expensive
steak for 2 at £100 was very excessive so had the cheaper dishes on the menu
the restaurant was nicely decorated and comfortable seats
the ale brewed on the premises was delightful and complimented the food

Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 790johnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam Bujok, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2024

Dear 790johnc,

many thanks for reviewing your visit to the Wild Boar Inn. I was glad that you found overall experience to be nice. We, at the Wild Boar of course do appreciate and understand that prices and value for money is extremely important to all our guests that visit us and can assure you that we work very hard together with all our partners and suppliers to deliver best produce at the best possible price and I am sorry that failed to meet your expectations.


All the very best

Adam Bujok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2024

Had a wonderful stay here with my partner and our two dogs. Less than a 10 minute drive to the lakefront, it was a great location. The service was friendly and the food was incredible! We look forward to returning.

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sashak703
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam Bujok, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2024

Dear sashak703,

many thanks for your great review. I was pleased to read that you stay lived up to your expectations and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards

Adam Bujok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews