We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“frosty receptionists, bathroom room dirty and like staying in a prefab.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Windermere Hotel
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Reviewed 19 February 2012

not a pleasant stay, my mother in law and myself approached the reception desk we both said hello, joanna the receptionist just looked blank at us,she did,nt recipriate, we gave our names, she barked at us that the room wasn,t available till 3, the bathroom tiles were disgusting a tile was littraly droping off, at breakfast we were shown a table then ignored, i had to ask were juice excetra, was, after waiting sometime for a waiter to take our breakfast order, i had to find someone myself, as we had waited for 15mins, not acceptable, when the food finally arrived it was good, the location of the hotel was good.

Room Tip: maybe the rooms in the hotel were ok, the room we had was in need of a good clean especially the ski...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Angel187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Reviewer
I am sorry you feel disappointed with your recent visit, we have so may positive reviews which are mainly regarding the friendliness of our staff and the great service received, we strive to please everybody and ensure everyone has a great stay with us, I guess occasionally some guests leave not as we would like. I do believe and so do most of our guests, that we offer great value for money at the Windermere Hotel. However I am glad you enjoyed the food and you found the hotel’s location ideal.

Regards

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 677 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay with Shearings at this hotel, and we had a really good time, The staff all work extremely hard. We went with friends and we all thought the meals were excellent. Breakfasts had choices of juice and cereals, yoghurts and porridge, then cooked breakfasts with toast, tea/coffee, what more could you want, set us up for the day. Restaurant was busy in the evenings, but the meals had a great choice and I have to say the waiting staff were brilliant. The bar did get very busy at times but there is also a TV lounge where you can escape to! Our room was clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable! We did walk into town, and down to the Lake where you can get a boat to Ambleside etc. All in all we had a really good time and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheTerribleTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Reviewer



Thanks for your very detailed review I’m delighted that you found our hotel, staff, food and facilities were what you needed for having a really good time.

It is a great base to explore the area and I hope to see you return soon.

Regards

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We have just arrived home from a four day stay at the Windermere and must let others know what a good time we had.The hotel has been greatly improved since our last stay 6 or 7 years ago.The food is the best we have ever experienced at a Shearings and we been to many in fact it compares very favourably with other much more expensive hotel chains.Staff were all very obliging,despite almost knocking down the manager in the car park.We were self drive and found the hotel well placed for touring.Cant wait to return later in the year.

Room Tip: Front rooms have the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ken w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Reviewer

I’m glad you had such a good time with us, thank you for being so complimentary on how much the hotel has improved since your last stay and the food experienced was above your expectations.

It will be great to see you back later on in the year but please drive carefully!!!.

I will of course pass on your kind comments to the staff.

Regards

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Just arrived back after long weekend,enjoyed stay at the hotel.
+ side staff well turned out polite helpfull.rooms clean,bar and dining area pleasent ,hotel in good location.value for what you pay,
_ side room cold.evening meal very average it has impression all meals costed down to last penny like eating in hospital .portions very small ,ate out for last night,
But overall a nice place to stay .

Room Tip: Ask for front upper rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wetherby12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Reviewer



Thank you for your review it is clear by your many positive comments overall you got value for money, I am sorry if the food did not meet your expectations this does surprise me as many previous guest trip advisor reviews regarding our menus have been so complimentary.

Regards

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a four night stay at this clean and welcoming hotel. We travelled by train and received a great reception from the staff who quickly booked us in and explained about meal times etc. The room was on the first floor affording a view out to Lake Windermere and it was clean and well presented.(We hadnt booked a room with a view.) Meals were very good, with pleanty of choice. Though it was very cold outside the hotel was warm in the bedrooms and the public rooms. The staff were always ready to ensure that you were enjoying your stay and I can say, if you visit and have a problem, 'tell them', and they will rectify your problem. This hotel gives 'value for money'. Yes, there is a problem with seating space in the bar but work is in hand to build-on in the future. I think bar prices are a bit steep but we found similar in other bars in the Lake District during our stay. Local buses are just across the road and it is downhill to reach them. If you want to go down to the Lake by taxi it's £4 each way. An enjoyable stay. We will be coming back later in the year. Well done Windermere!!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a front room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TedBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for such a great review. We are getting more and more guests travelling here by train and then using the bus or taxi’s when going out and about sight seeing.

It was nice to read the staff ensured you were looked after throughout your stay and your got value for your money.

It will be a pleasure welcoming you back later in the year.



Regards

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We have just returnrd from a 3 night stay at this hotel, travelling by coach. My advice to anyone thinking of this is don't!! The hotel is at the top end of Windermere close by the railway/bus station. Every time you leave the hotel you are going up or down a hill. To the shops in Windermere it is about 5 minutes. to Bowness allow 20 going down and upwards of half an hour coming back up the hill.
The hotel itself is fine. You must bear in mind that it is a coaching hotel and therefore not the most modern.

Reception staff were pleasant and helpful. We arrived about 12.30 by coach and couldn't get into our rooms until 3pm.

Room. This hotel was built in the 1800s at the same time as the railway arriving. The floorboards in our room must be the origional given the noise they made every time we moved!! The beds were comfortable and the room was clean and tidy. The bathroom had all that you need with regard to toiletries. The TV felt that it was also installed in the 1800s. Digital does not seem to have caught up in Cumbria!! Tea, coffe, horlicks, biscuits etc replenished every day.

Eating. The restaurant was very nice. The staff there very efficient. The food fine for what we were paying.There was a fair selection on the menue and it was nicely presented. The food was always hot on arrival. No complaints at all.

Bar. The usual rip off for drinks. You are better going to one of the local pubs and getting a drink at a much lower price in a place with more atmosphere. Better still, nip over to Booths Supermarket across the road and get your own stash in your room!!

Entertainment. If you want to be entertained in the evening don't go here!! Only one night when there was a very mediocre vocalist on. If you are happy with your own company or want to chat with friends this is the place to go.

Conclusion. I would go back here but only by car so as not to be relient on either a trip out on the coach or the buses/trains. Give it a try and see what you think.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mrhilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Reviewer



I am sorry you found the hotel location not to liking, however the majority of our guests even if they come by coach find being directly opposite the bus and trains ideal for exploring the Lake District. The hotel is situated at the top of Windermere which gives our front facing rooms their stunning scenic views of the Lake and the Langdale hills. The entertainment we provide is of a relaxed style, if you felt it should have been more perhaps you should next time try our Bay Hotels. I am surprised by your comments regarding the drinks being too expensive, I agree the local pubs are cheap but like for like hotel’s prices we are very competitive. I pleased you enjoyed our Restaurant service.

Thank you for your review and hope to see you again.

Regards

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a New Year break in Windermere where the hotel staff and food were superb. The evening entertainment was very good as was the cleanliness of the rooms. As with most hotels, there is a certain amount of refurbishment required in some bedrooms, but we understand there is a refurb programme in operation. We would not hesitate to visit this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123Mojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Reviewer



And Happy New Year to you, thank you for your great review. I am pleased you celebrated this special occasion with us, by your comments the staff looked after you well and the Festive menus were enjoyed.

Hope you come and stay with us again soon.

Regards

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 km away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#17 of 20 in Windermere
597 reviews
7.0 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 km away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,492 reviews
0.1 km away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#19 of 20 in Windermere
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Address: Kendal Road, Windermere LA23 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $153 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windermere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windermere has been called the ‘Gateway to the Lakes.’ With mountains, moors, lakes and tarns it is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the splendour of the English countryside, right in the heart of the Lake District. The Windermere Hotel occupies an excellent location at the head of the village of Windermere itself. Built from traditional Lakeland slate, our hotel is listed by English Heritage, and is one of the oldest hotels in Windermere having opened back in 1847 to coincide with the construction of the local railway. The hotel’s location is ideal for exploring the local villages of Bowness and Windermere, as well as the beautiful Lake District scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Windermere
Windermere The Hotel
Windermere Hotel Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing