We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (940)
Filter reviews
940 results
Traveller rating
284
345
150
87
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
345
150
87
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself driveshearings hotelsshearings holidaypremier roomcoast countryper daymeal timesbooths supermarketlake districtevening meallounge barreception stafforrest headweekend breaksingle roomthe general managerthe ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 940 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2018 via mobile

The hotel was lovely and food superb and staff excellent. The bus driver was fantastic and had lots knowledge. My only small grip was our shower didn't get hot but we used the bath and toilet but funny and struggled to flush but apart from this was fantastic.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Julie Smallwoo... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindermereHotel, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Dear Julie Smallwoo... S

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

We will look into the issue you experienced within you room.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards

Andrew Goode
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2018

We have just returned from a short break with Shearings and we found the hotel very nice and quiet and the staff, food and our room was very good. The driver Joanne who lives locally was great she told us lots of interesting things when on trips. We have always found shearings to be good value and this hotel was no exception we had £25 pounds each in house spend which was an added bonus. We will be visiting again and we would recommend this hotel to anyone going to the lakes.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pigletns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindermereHotel, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Dear Pigletns,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your experience. we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Andrew Goode
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2018

We came for a mid-week break at the end of January, Mon-Fri. Our trip included
- Car parking which was £8pd but conveniently situated right in front of the hotel, not that we saw anywhere else nearby that was convenient and free.
- View room. Perhaps I should have researched a little better as the view was of Windermere Town/Village rather than the lake I had imagined. Given where the Hotel is what else can you expect? We could , weather permitting, just about see the lake.

If you are active the 1.5 mile walk down into Bowness and the Lake itself is fairly easy. There's a steep section back up from the lake shore but there are lots of shops if you don't want people to know you are catching your breath.
In the opposite direction above the Hotel is a much harder walk up to Orrest Head (the launchpad for Wainwrights life long love of the lakes). My advice go on a nice day. Bracing walk whatever the weather.

The food was good with decent portions, we ate from the set menu, I particularly enjoyed the breakfasts. The staff were all lovely and prepared to stop and chat a little.

There was a Shearings Coach trip and all the guests from that holiday who we spoke too were all without exception very warm and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MikeGreenwood63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindermereHotel, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2018

Dear MikeGreenwood63

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience of The Windermere Hotel here on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to hear what an enjoyable time you spent with us.

There are some lovely views from the hotel but as you say it can be somewhat weather dependent. The views from Orrest Head on a clear day are breath-taking.

Your feedback about the food and team are very welcome and will be shared with the staff who I know will appreciate the comments.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2018

Stayed for 5 days and 4 nights on a Shearing's coach trip. Having travelled with Shearing's the past we had a fair idea of what to expect. However the hotel was excellent it looked like it had just been refurbished. The staff were very helpful and friendly. There were 2 coach parties staying at the time and the only complaint that we heard was that it was to hot. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and I am sure that we enjoy a return visit at some time in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindermereHotel, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2018

Dear Eddy D

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience of the hotel here on TripAdvisor, We were delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I had a three night weekend break in January.
For the price I did not expect it to be too good but was pleasantly impressed.
We were on a Shearing coach trip and having used them previously knew what to expect.
We found the hotel to be clean and welcoming, the staff were
pleasant and friendly and the rooms clean and comfortable.
The food, especially breakfast, was excellent.
My only complaint was that the public rooms were rather
cold for the first two days but were rectified after complaints.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Johnclark639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindermereHotel, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2018

Dear Johnclark639

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we were delighted to read what a great break you had with us and hope that we are able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews