We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Civil Partnership Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We had a magical weekend with family and friends in this wonderful venue. We were welcomed warmly and the service we received was excellent throughout our stay. The food for our wedding breakfast was also fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

840 - 846 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

I booked The Langdale Chase as a surprise birthday present for my wife. We had watched The Lakes TV programme and she always used to say that we should go there one day.
The hotel is a wonderful older building, the entrance hall and other groung floor rooms are simply stunning with beautiful wood lined walls and a superb staircase.
We had a room in The Lake House which is a new building in typical Lakeland style. The room was excellent and fitted out to a high standard with lovely views over the lake and the fells.
The grounds were also nice to walk aroung with gravel paths which lead down to the shore of the lake.
We dined in the restaurent which overlooks the lake and fells. The food was superb with a different menu each evening, the breakfast was also very good.
The hotel staff were very pleasant, helpful and efficient and seemed to work as a close team. Well done to the manager and his staff for making us so welcome, we hope to return at some time in the future. Joan and Malcolm

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoniG60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Our room number 2 was large with a balcony. We requested chairs to sit on the balcony which came speedily - however the following day on our return they were missing so we had again to ask! The shower tap was hanging off and it was difficult to regulate the temperature. The room had an adjoining door which appeared not to be locked, this was confirmed by residents of room 1 who had pushed the door open to check their fire escape!!! We were out so they made arrangements to get the door locked. The dining room chairs were rickety and breakfast was cold on three consecutive days.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank DollyinWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

A beautiful hotel with stunning views of Lake Windermere, but.......contrary to other reviews, and confirming others, sadly lacking in it's ability to offer comfort and value for money. On checking in we were not given a cheery welcome, barely a 3 out of 10 - but 'hey ho'. We were given the key to room number 9 on the first floor, a very impressive view of the lake but the decor was sadly very 'tired', the ceiling lamp shade was in a very ragged state, the material was hanging from the wire frame, giving a feeling of neglect. Representation was made at the front desk and we were then offered room number 21. Up another flight of stairs with luggage and clothing etc. to find that the room was in a very similar state, lovely view of the lake which was marred by the double glazed window unit having condensed, and wall paper peeling off the wall. One of the occasional chairs had a couple of holes in the cushion, giving the over all appearance of a 'drop in' centre for the homeless.
Again I made the trek to the front desk, and after a bit of 'jiggling' about with other guests we were eventually offered room number 53. On the face of it, it looked quite a lot better that the other two we had been offered so we accepted, possibly out of sheer exhaustion of climbing up and down stairs!
Room 53? - being a man, the toilet seat wouldn't stay up, it was very difficult to flush the toilet, several attempts were needed, the bathroom door handle needed to be lifted up in an effort to keep the door closed and there was no 'hanging rail' in the inside wardrobe. The wardrobe problem was mentioned at the front desk and we were informed that maintenance were aware of the problem. This 'problem' was never dealt with, and for the whole of our stay our clothes were hung over the chairs and doors. The mattress on the double bed offered no relief and gave the feeling of sleeping on a cobbled road and the filling in the 2 pillows was vitually non existent. Comfort? Out of 10? - barely a 3.
Evening dinner was not for the faint hearted,(in my opinion), I enjoy fine dining, and food that I can pronounce and understand, but I'm not a lover of wood pigeon, wild hare etc. Desserts and coffee were palatable, but overall dinner was very, very expensive to only enjoy the desserts and coffee.
Breakfast? This was quite good but you had to accept that it was bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomatoes and scambled egg - it would have been nice to have had a choice, maybe boiled egg? Perhaps fried egg?
This break was arranged to celebrate my wife's 65th birthday - needless to say she was very disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KenSpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed in the Lake House. The view was excellent. The room was spacious and very clean. The bed wasn't too comfy as it was two single beds put together. The bathroom was fantastic with both bath and seperate shower. Breakfast was good, however the service wasn't up to scratch, had to ask the waiter for simple things such as condiments several times. Ths did not spoil our stay though. Excellent location.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lake House. The view from our room was excellent. Bath and shower were fantastic an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chelle1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We have just spent three days at the hotel, our second visit but not our last, the management and staff really make the break worth while,the food is second to none very very nice, and room 22 with wonderfull views over lake windermere are outstanding, also plenty parking spaces. and you will be made to feel very special by management and staff

Room Tip: go for a room with views over windermere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ninahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We first saw Langdale Chase Hotel from the lake and loved it from then on. We looked at a few venues around the area but Langdale Chase sold itself with the stunning views, magnificent building and endless character. We met with Andrew who managed our wedding booking and made the day run smoothly with the help of his fantastic staff team. No question was too small for them to answer politely and efficiently during the run up to the day.

We had just a small wedding with 35 people so dined in the Oak Room which was a perfect size and very in keeping with the character of the hotel. The meal was amazing, I've never seen sirloin of beef looking and tasting so good and all the other meals were equally as fantastic. Service was impeccable and the staff really made you feel like one of a big family whilst staying 100% professional making the whole wedding experience really personal.

We stayed overnight in the Boathouse which, as you would probably guess, it right on the bank of Windermere. When you are in the room you are tucked away and all you can see is the views of the lake - you wouldn't even know the hotel was there. Quirky and perfect if you want to get away from everything.

I would highly recommend Langdale Chase for anyone thinking of getting married near Windermere and photo opportunities are endless whatever the weather. Thank you so much to all the staff in the hotel, I can't express how proud we were of you all. Everyone loved it.

One last point is to mention the souvenir booklets on sale at the reception which tell you all about the history of Langdale Chase and are a perfect keepsake for close family or for your own memory box.

Room Tip: Several rooms have balconies and majority have a view of the lake, ask reception as they will be hap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
4.0 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.6 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
470 reviews
0.7 km away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
0.4 km away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,770 reviews
3.7 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $171 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing