We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,252)
Filter reviews
1,252 results
Traveller rating
1,121
97
27
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,121
97
27
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach houseorrest head suiteowners jonathan and carolinelake districtconiston roomfresh milk in the fridgecrinkle cragssmall hotelbeautiful hotelspa bathperfect hostsbreakfast and dinnerhigh standardfantastic foodboth nightswine listmy partner
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 1,252 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2018

Just come back from an overnight stay (1 night only boo, hoo) at one of my favourite hotels-it's small & cosy, the rooms are beautiful with gorgeous bathrooms and I love the luxurious, cool, interior decor. We had really great food with impeccable service from friendly & attentive staff. Jonathon & Caroline make you feel that you are in their own (fabulous) home & chatting to the new front of house person she said they were wonderful to work for -nice praise & another 'tick' for Cedar Manor. If you want to stay in the heart of the Lake District this is a great location and a lovely place to visit. Grainne & Richard Jakobson

Room Tip: It's a small hotel the rooms are all lovely
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Grainne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2018

Dear Mr and Mrs Jakobson
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent night away. Its lovely to see guests returning and receive such positive feedback as we continue to develop the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future,
Best wishes
Caroline, Jonathan and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2018 via mobile

Stayed a weekend late January with Herself, looking for a bit of a treat after recuvering from flu earlier in the month. And what a treat this place is !

The Hotel is located on the Northern end of Windermere Town, easy walk down to Bowness-on-Windermere and the lakeside. Perfect location !

The rooms are all to a very high standard - been refurbished in the relatively recent past. Staff and Management all really welcoming. And the food ! Oh the food . . . Its REALLY good. We have previously stayed in a place with a michelin star'd restuarant - this is VERY close to that experience.

Book it, thank me later, you're welcome. We'll be back, thats for certain damn sure . . .

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BrutusKowalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2018

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent weekend break at Cedar Manor. Wow, what a review. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2018

We have stayed in a number of places in the Lakes but this rates as one of and probably the best we have enjoyed. The welcome was absolutely superb from both the owners and staff; the decoration of the rooms is excellent; good to see fresh flowers each time in the dining room and excellent well presented meals. You may gather we had a great time, despite the bad weather in January and look forward to future stays.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank mrandmrskt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2018

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent short break at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and had a great time. We look forward to welcoming you back and fingers crossed for the weather next time.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2018

Conveniently located in the centre of Windermere but once you turn in off the road, you enter a tranquil oasis! Lovely old house tastefully converted into to a comfortable boutique hotel. All 10 rooms are uniquely decorated to a good standard. Very welcoming and pleasant staff. Delightful evening dining in. Took advantage of drinks in the lounge followed by a most enjoyable dinner. Limited menu (good!) well sourced, cooked and presented. Reasonable selection of drinks & wines. Would recommend and would visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank richardcI9593JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2018

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed dinner and drinks and look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.
We look forward to seeing you again then.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2018

Excellent service, very well prepared and presented dinner, fair choice of wines, good breakfast. The bed was a bit firm for me, and the bedroom was too hot. Our short break was still very enjoyable. Good value.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank lostagain1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2018

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent break at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased the you enjoyed the meals in the hotel. We use orthopaedic mattresses from Cumbrian manufacturer - Sealy. They are described as medium firm. If you would like to return, please do let us know as we have some fantastic feather, deep fill toppers that certainly help soften the bed if required. Sorry you found the room to be too hot, all the radiators have thermostatic controls and can be completely switched off if there are milder nights in the winter.
Glad you found the hotel to be good value.
We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews