We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places you could possibly visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Quiet relaxing setting, attentive and caring staff, excellent food at dinner and breakfast, what more could anyone ask for?
It is not the cheapest place in the lakes but as a relaxing retreat from the hassle of day to day life it is very good value for the care that the hotel staff put in to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hobbit64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,133 - 1,139 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

My fiance and I were treated to a stay at the Gilpin Lodge. On arrival we received a very warm welcome and were told our room had been upgraded to a Junior Suite - 'Troutbeck'. We were escorted to our suite and I have to say it was beautiful! A very large room - beautifully decorated with french doors leading to a stunning terrace.

The staff at the Gilpin are superb, nothing is too much trouble. All staff were extremely friendly and welcoming.

We enjoyed a beautiful meal in the evening. The only small negative was that when we were given the dinner menus we were told that one of the starters and two of the main courses were not available. As there are only about six mains to choose from - I did think this was a little disappointing. However, the meal was delicious and cooked to perfection.

Breakfast was fantastic.

Overall, our stay at the Gilpin Lodge was faultless and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckyBroomeLtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

It was our first stay at gilpin lodge and it certainly won't be the last. We stayed in "troutbeck" a junior suite. It was beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. Dinner was a lavish experience and the food was simply out of this world. The staff are very attentive without been overbearing and nothing was too much trouble. We were even treated to a look around wine cellar with ziggy the sommelier. It was the most relaxed my husband and I had been in a very long time. We are already planning our next trip in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

As you can see from my previous reviews I've been to Gilpin a few times.

It just gets better and better the food is now well worth a Michelin star!

The service has even though you wouldn't think it possible, has got better.

Again I had a garden suite really nice rooms - can we have iPod docks though?

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My mother and I stayed at Gilpin for two nights for my 40th birthday, in Haystacks, one of the Garden suites. Our stay was perfect, from start to finish. Every member of staff was friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble (right down to digging Mum's Mini out of the sudden snowfall and driving it down the steep drive for her!)
The room was luxurious, spotlessly clean and had every possible amenity. The restaurant was excellent, with local sourced fresh produce cooked to perfection. The passion of the sommelier, Ziggy, made for an entertaining and informative meal each night.
Gilpin Lodge is a truly great small hotel, luxurious, but relaxed and welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The best food we have ever tasted. Attentive, approachable staff who can not do enough for you. We will certainly be back! Thank you for a fantastic break!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Had a couple of days for a birthday at Gilpin, food, service and surroundings were spot on. The llama's were a welcome surprise!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bon Bon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
3.2 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.4 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
469 reviews
3.5 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,191 reviews
4.0 km away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
720 reviews
6.1 km away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $370 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing