We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brendan Chase

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brendan Chase
Ranked #100 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Friendly, infromative and helpful host. Quiet location very convenient to good pubs and Thai restaurant

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    41
    12
    11
    35
See reviews for
41
37
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stopped in the lakes on our way back from Centre Parcs in Cumbria and decided on the
spur of the moment to book into a B&B, we went to the tourist info centre and got a few numbers, i ramdomly picked the Brenden Chase and rang up and booked a double room for £60
We arrived and he informed us that he isn't really open but would open for us, he was very welcoming and informative, he showed us the revamped living room, but said it was closed to guests at the moment.
The Room was number 4 on the second floor, it was very clean, small and extreamly cold, the matress was old and lumpy which meant we didn't sleep well, trying to find a place in the bed without a spring in your back!
On the plus side the breakfast was lovely, David seemed loney and pleased to have someone to talk too, he is without a doubt a charming, unique eccrentric man. We enjoyed his company and he entertained us, unintentionally i think! if he could just sort the heating out and matresses out, it would have been a perfect ecconomical place to stay. David we salute you, you nutter. Sally & Sam, Leicester

Room Tip: Do not have room 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank sallylou1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

The owner was kind and welcoming, and he gave us all the information we needed to spend a couple of profitable days on the lake. The position is great if you're travelling by train (two minutes walk from the Windermere train station). The room was small and in the afternoon was literally freezing (thankfully it was warmer during the night). The bed wasn't too comfortable and I can't say I had a great sleep. Another problem is that when thay started cooking breakfast, around 7.30 am, the room was suddenly filled with the smell of food coming from the kitchen, and this wasn't the most pleasant way to wake up. The breakfast was good (typical English with egg, ham, beans, sausage and harsh brown) but it was served from 8 to 9 am only, and by 10 o'clock we had to leave the room (there was the possibility to leave the luggage at the reception). We paid 35 pounds per person and I can't deny that for 70 pounds I was expecting something better.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank JoaoMastino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Windermere hotels

USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Worst B&B, owner was vey rude , greetd upon arrival but just went on and on with his irrelevant informatiopn.. won't recommend at all.room was stingy and very small....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
28 Thank BHAWS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We had a great weekend stay at Brendan Chase. David (the owner) is helpful and friendly, his breakfast was great. The room and bathroom were clean, a kettle, tea and coffee were provided and refilled which was great after a day out walking, and there was a flatscreen tv. I think our only little niggles is that the shower in our room was not the best (out-dated), however, on we saw that the shower in the shared bathroom was really modern; our matress was also old and a little uncomfy. Overall I think its a great place for the price you pay. Brendan Chase is in a great location, right in the center of Windermere. The area of Windermere and Bowness is absolutely stunning and I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chbrown2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

The Brendan Chase what can I say!! Upon arrival we were greeted by David who at first appeared friendly and welcoming. He showed us throught the back kitchen and led us to the booking in area which was quite dark and gloomy. The kitchen appeared unclean and the pan scrubber was black!! The double room was adequate however the mattress was in severe need of replacement and the bedding clean but unpressed. David as a host was helpful and pointed out places to eat and visit although eager to point out the recent television programme 'The Hotel Inspector' had set him up. The communal bathroom which was new and impressive had the bath taps taped up with a sign on saying do not use (complete with stray hairs in the bottom'. This was in fact the cleanest and most modern thing in the whole building. David was keen to point out all the rules of the house and left us wondering if there was anything we were allowed to do inside. After a poor nights sleep we were greeted by a less than appetising breakfast which was laden with fat and lacking in taste. We made our polite excuses and left the B & B that day. I would not recommend this establishment to a living soul. After bumping into David in the street at the end of our long weekend he was rude obnovious and confrontational. David branded us liars and cheats and said we had cost him money (which I found hard to believe). We had tried to be polite rather than be honest in leaving the establishment. He had profited from our £70 and we felt for that sum of money we should look elsewhere. Please please dont stay... you have been warned. We are not rude people... we just wanted to enjoy a comfortable enjoyable long weekend in the Lakes. We had initally booked for four nights stay for my 40th birthday but we were not prepared to spend four nights in those surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
32 Thank Nicola Timms B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

Situated at the north end of the town of Windermere, competitively & fairly priced Brendan Chase is within easy walking distance of this picturesque mid-1800’s town. There is limited parking in the back for guests. Our twin room was very clean: nicely decorated in pleasant pale yellow, bedding crisply prepared, lots of pillows and a handsome wardrobe for storage. Amenities in the room include a TV, sink, & well stocked tea tray including fine china tea mugs. All electrical outlets and heating are in fine working order. We booked into a room with a shared bathroom – no problems, as additional W.C. available on the same floor. The bathroom is very spacious & totally modernized, with a tub & shower – observe the intriguing South African succulent in the window ledge should you be on the first floor. Make yourself a nice cup of tea in the evening & relax downstairs in the large, comfortable sitting room (ask to have the fireplace lit) where there is a wide variety of reading material available on the surrounding area – ranging from trail path guides to general information and some history on the surrounding sites. Admire the interesting cactus collection in the window alcove, too. Listen for host David Maloney’s articulate dry wit to add to the enjoyment of your stay at Brendan Chase Guest House. He is a fine cook for your full English breakfast (including tasty Cumberland sausage) and very knowledgeable about places to hike, eat, visit and perambulate while staying in the Lakes District- he is also a wealth of general information on a wide variety of topics, so ask him questions regarding England!

Room Tip: Be straight forward - communicate your needs to host David, he will do his best to meet them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 km away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#9 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 km away
Holly Lodge Guest House
Holly Lodge Guest House
#32 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.3 km away
Green Gables Guest House
Green Gables Guest House
#68 of 111 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Grey Walls Hotel
Grey Walls Hotel
#76 of 111 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.1 km away
The Elleray
The Elleray
#87 of 111 in Windermere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.2 km away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#14 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brendan Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brendan Chase

Property: Brendan Chase
Address: 1-3 College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brendan Chase 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Brendan Chase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brendan Chase Hotel Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing