We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nightmare to stay here.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craig Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Craig Manor Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A nightmare to stay here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

I had reserved my bookings with family (2 adults and 2 children) a month in advance to ensure we get the desired rooms. The pics and view from the rooms were impressive till we landed and realized all this was a mirage. We had travelled all the way from Mumbai (India) and were looking forward for the vacation. The rooms were very very small and to compound our problems, we were given a room facing the road. Neither did we have a view nor the space. Intact we couldnt sleep the entire night due to frequent traffic or conversations of people walking by. There were 2 tiny beds and while one accommodated my wife and younger daughter (aged 3), the other one was used by my elder daughter (aged 8). I had no options but to use the floor for 2 nights. While I paid 225 pounds to sleep on the floor, what frustrated me is that the hotel was immune to the requirments we made. Very dissapointing, one leg of my vacatian that i would like to forget and would urge that if you are with a family, please refrain from using this hotel.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
24 Thank Mahesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    220
    90
    23
    26
See reviews for
59
401
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Staff was very helpful, room comfortable, food excellent and reasonably priced. Had a very enjoyable time there. The views were excellent and they had plenty of space to just laze about. The shower was tiny but the water pressure was terrific. We enjoyed ourselves very much.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimCarmody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights. The rooms are very comfortable but the major plus is the large area for relaxation on the ground floor of the hotel, which includes a very good restaurant. We eat out for the first three nights but when we tried the restaurant for the first time we wished we had eat in every night. All staff were very friendly and welcoming. The large lounge areas made it very easy to get to know other guests

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake have much better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonE5695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Bought a voucher from kgb deals to stay here but don't think I'd pay full price for it. First thing - you do not get a lake view as advertised!! Our room was basic but ok - the shower was excellent!! Breakfast was also very good. Just a short walk down to Lake Windermere and also a short walk to nearby Windermere. The hotel bar does not take payment by debit or credit card so be sure to have cash on you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank polythenegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Not bad, not bad! Would say that our stay here was good! Booked a cheeky DBB here for good Friday, the room was disappointing, very small and noisy, however clean! Dinner and breakfast was lovely, and service fantastic! The downstairs of the hotel was tastefully decorated, and asked if we would stay again then the answer would be yes, but with a different room!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melistockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
workington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Maybe I expected too much but I did pay a princely sum and I did tell them ahead of time it was a special occasion! I had paid extra for champagne to be in the room on arrival as an extra surprise for my partner's 60th birthday, but it wasn't there which meant I had to disappear to reception to ask for it, taking away the suprise element completely! Then even though it was agreed they would bring it at 6.30, by 6.45 still no sign, causing me to be pacing the room and my partner wondering what on earth was wrong! My second visit to reception revealed that they thought I meant I wanted it in the bar at 6.30 (wouldnt I have said that?) although it was nowhere to be seen in the bar.....eventually it arrived but by this time I'd had to tell my partner why I kept running off to reception, completely spoiling the surprise. The champagne came with a complimentary box of 9 chocolates but no apology.
Apart from that the hotel was very nice, the food at dinner and breakfast was excellent and the setting was nice. The lake view room which I'd paid exta for was a lot further away ffrom the waters edge than I'd expected even though I'd google mapped it when booking. The staff weren't particularly friendly and we certainly weren't made to feel special like a previous reviewer was due to staying there to celebrate a special occasion!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank cumbriangrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clancrow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

stayed one night , found price to be reasonable , rooms comfortable, staff friendly. Used the restaurant for our evening meal, very good food and service. Atmosphere in bar was good.
Breakfast excellent., .buffet style but all warm and plenty of choice. View of lake well yes its there but a little distant! overall a pleasant stay

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clancrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 km away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.5 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
1.9 km away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
1.4 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig Manor Hotel

Property: Craig Manor Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Windermere
#14 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Craig Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Craig Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig Manor Windermere
Hotel Craig Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing