We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Park(Windermere)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wheatlands Lodge(Windermere)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glencree(Windermere)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hideaway At Windermere(Windermere)
US$151
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$206
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Windermere(Windermere)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$64
US$49
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$125
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
US$101
US$98
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$254
US$246
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,324)
Filter reviews
1,324 results
Traveller rating
1,117
124
45
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,117
124
45
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubultimate luxuryround bedpotter suiteluxury roommood lightingowners and stafffillet steakhigh standardcoffee machinelake districtboth nightsmy partnerspa baththe wow factorwedding anniversaryfabulous hotel
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 1,324 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2018 via mobile

This was our second time of visiting Applegarth and we chose a different suite Broadcragg which was as sumptuous as Devoke where we stayed last time a few months ago.
The service is top class as are the suites and the hot tubs.
We ate in the restaurant and the food was 5 star, gorgeous as was the breakfast.
This is the best hotel I have stayed in in the UK and will return again very soon.
Thank you for an amazing relaxing time

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind words and its great to hear you consider Applegarth to be the best hotel in the UK. Since you have sampled Broadcragg and Devoke you only have five more to try! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2018 via mobile

What a fantastic place to stay, couldn’t rate any better 10/10. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left it was superb and made to feel very welcome. Such a relaxing stay in one of the hot tub suites, will be visited again very soon

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sarahjanelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your fantastically generous score of 10/10. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2018

My partner and I have just returned from a relaxing short break at the lovely Applegarth Villa, staying in one of their luxury suites. The accommodation was absolutely amazing, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. The food was excellent with lots of choice and great quality, and all the staff were extremely welcoming and friendly.
The suites are ideal for a romantic getaway, with a balcony and hot tub, where you can take in the stunning views. We're already making plans to revisit!!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louiseahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your very kind review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2018 via mobile

This most recent visit was our third stay at the Applegarth Villa, the first time we booked a 3 night stay in one of the Ultimate Luxury Suites (room 2) which was absolutely amazing with a massive circular bed (very comfortable too) and an amazing bathroom too, also had a massive bay type window with views to die for, we dinned each night in the restaurant to which I have to say was exceptional, not only was the food top notch quality there was also decent amount on the plate too, unlike some hotel restaurants were we've stopped where you'd think you'd just received a child's portion... all in all I would give the food 10 out of 10 at the Applegarth ......
Second trip was in December (2017) just gone for a one night stay so we could attend the Windermere Christmas Market, this time we being on a tighter budget and so near to Christmas we opted for a cheaper room so we booked a Deluxe Room (room 18) which again for the price we paid was spot on, this was downstairs and boasted 3 rooms, one with a couch and fire, the bedroom with TV and a bathroom which is very modern, only downside is no view from windows with it being in the base of the building, although because it was December it was always dark by time we got back to this room so this wasn't a problem.
Last week we booked another Deluxe room (room 15) as a last minute break to get away for the weekend, although after initially checking into the room out we decided if possible we'd like a little more space (think we've been spoilt previously with room 2) room 15 was quite small (we thought) although for the price we paid we do understand you get what you pay for, so this room excellent value for money we just wanted more space....after checking website for availability we spoke to Alan and he was happy to show us to room 4 which was available.... immediately we both loved it, obviously this was a tad more expensive but it was what we wanted and thankfully Alan was happy to move us. Room 4 was amazing (see photos) another very large comfortable bed, in a big room, which was impeccably clean with a deep pile cream carpet, excellent views of snow capped hills and mountains from the window and a beautiful bathroom.... think we will have this room on our saved list of favourites for next visit, although we are tempted to give the hot tub suites a whirl at some point. All in all we love this hotel and can't wait for our next visit, let's hope it's real soon

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

What a comprehensive review of your three visits to Applegarth which we are sure will be most useful to others. We have 22 rooms/suites it would be great if you could try them all!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2018 via mobile

My wife an I stayed at this fabulous hotel/villa for three days over the Christmas period. We both throughly enjoyed ourselves, the luxury room was great as was the welcome, food and the festive mood. We have no complaints whatsoever and we’re a little reluctant to leave. We shall definitely return, but have not yet quite decided which part of the year.

Thank you again to all staff and management for a wonderful Christmas.

Alan & Celia T.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alantyrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for joining us at Christmas. So pleased you enjoyed the festive mood. It is too easy to forget all the staff that are away from their families that work so tirelessly over Christmas so they will be delighted to be appreciated by yourselves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews