We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Had a very disappointing stay recently at the Low Wood. The room on arrival was very dusty, dark and dingy and the bathroom not as clean as it should have been. I'm not sure why this hotel gets such good reviews as there are many hotels in the area which are far superior. The hotel is very tired and in need of refurbishment. The public bar was also shabby.
I would not stay again and definitely would not recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Krissie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear Guest, I was very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us here at Low Wood Bay and that you do not agree with other Trip Advisor reviews. We did receive an email from yourself regarding your points which were immediately responded to by the hotels General Manager, as he stated in his email a thorough investigating was conducted and re-training provided to the room attendant responsible for looking after your room. We pride our self on our team and our ability to rectify issues on the very few occasions they occur, I am sorry that although the Duty Manager assisted and rectified this issues during your stay and the General Manager wrote to you after your departure that we still have been unable to settle your concerns. Kind Regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,354 - 1,360 of 1,791 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

I stayed with 3 girlfriends Sunday 6th May and it was just gfab. We were surprising a friend for her 40th birthday and reception helped us hide and gave us the nod when she walked in. Dinner was devine, especially the home made bread and olive. The rooms were very comfty with great big beds, breakfast was efficient and delicious; I think we ate all the potato cakes! We hired a boat as reccomended by the hotel, which was great fun. Even the spa staff gave us water as we lounged around the pool!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caroline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear guest, thank you so much for your recent wonderful review – I was delighted to read that you and you friends enjoyed your stay and more importantly your friend had a wonderful 40th Birthday, I am also glad that you enjoyed your dinner and breakfast during your stay. It was pleasing to read that you all enjoyed your rooms as well as the boat you hired at the Watersports center, it sounds like you had a great time especially in the leisure center with your SPA treatments. I will ensure your comments are passed on to our team. I very much hope to welcome you and your friends back to the hotel in the near future for another enjoyable break. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Stayed at the Low wood Bay hotel from the 4th May 12 to 7th May 12 and had a wonderful time. The staff are lovely and helpful, breakfast was very good. The leisure centre was great and loved the hot tub outside. We had a classic lake view room which was very clean and the bed was comfortable and large and the view of the lake was stunning. Only downside the road at the front of the hotel can be noisey but next time i visit i will borrow from the local council a road closure sign lol. I would recommend this hotel and will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sopwith137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your review and the fantastic comments about hotel, the team and the excellent service you received. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you again in the future Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My pal and I stayed in a twin room for 2 nights just recently. Room very adequate. There was a wedding on at the hotel but the party was kept totally seperate from the other guests.
Ate on Saturday night and food was very good. As was the breakfast on Sunday and Monday.
The staff are second to none and really went out of their way to please.
The hotel has a good pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub.
There is a little pleasant walk into Ambleside (2 miles) along the lake.(managed to see an otter one evening).
The only reason the hotel didn't get an excellent rating is due to the awful coffee supplied in the rooms. Otherwise a really pleasant stay, very reasonably priced (used Superbreaks) and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PHIL J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Guest, thank you so much for the review - I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Just got back from this lovely hotel and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was excellent with beautiful views over the lake. The room was well equipped with a large bed which was very comfortable. There was plenty of storage space with tea and coffee facilities including a teapot and coffee pot which was a nice touch. The bathroom was lovely with very nice toiletries and large fluffy white towels. The leisure facilities were also very good and although it was a bank holiday was not overcrowded enabling us to use steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. We ate at the restaurant and found the food very good with very attentive staff. The breakfast the next morning was excellent with lots of choice. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sdmNewcastleUponTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your recent review. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed mast weekend and overal was a good stay. The bar let the whole evening down.

I was happy to see a cocktail list on the bar so ordered my favourite cocktail a dry gin martinni.

What a disaster. The bartender had no idea how to make one and had to refer to the cocktail menu when making it.

The only thing he got right was serving it in a martinni glass. Never have I had such a horrid drink which was swimming in crushed ice which is not a martinni. You could not taste the gin due to the amout of vermouth put it.

I could have understood it if I had asked for something strange but a martinni is a classic and there is no excuse for not knowing how to make one especially when it's on the "menu"

Didn't bother to have another so went onto gin and tonic which was not what I really wanted.

Training re cocktail making needs carrying out if you are to offer them.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your recent review, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel although I would like to sincerely apologise that we were unable to provide you with your favorite cocktail as it should be served. I can assure you that training has been reviewed and actioned and your comments have been discussed with the team. We hope to see you again in the near future where we will be only to happy to provide you with a complementary Gin Martini. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Lovely hotel, with outstanding Dining Room and breakfast. Beautiful views of Lake Windermere from the front of the hotel. We got this stay on a Groupon Voucher 2 nights with Breakfast £129 Standard Room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LesleyinCITY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Dear Guest, thank you so much for the fantastic review - I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
4.3 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.9 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
504 reviews
7.6 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#15 of 20 in Windermere
1,208 reviews
0.4 km away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,105 reviews
4.0 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $249 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing