We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
350
77
22
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
77
22
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool spa bath superior room carrot cake jet shower quiet cul de sac on arrival lake district good size lovely guesthouse definately stay again breakfast was excellent received a warm welcome train station quiet location stayed here for two nights comfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 455 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2018

I’ve never written a negative review for a hotel before but I feel that this place is so bad for the price people need to know.

Firstly, this is not a 4 star hotel, at a push I would give it 2.

On arrival on our 3 night stay we were lectured on how to park our vehicle, there are not enough parking spaces for the number of rooms and their double parking policy requires you to leave the keys at reception so the owners can move your car to let others out.

We were shown to our room which was very small, dirty and had a bad smell about it, some areas hadn’t been dusted for years, the blinds had what looked like food splattered all over them, radiator fixings hanging of the wall, bedside lamps were badly damaged and no signal on the TV due to a broken connection wedged in by a piece of toilet paper.

We tried to remain positive so decided to head for the pool, we hired our bath ropes and made our way over. After braving the freezing cold water it was clear that this was nothing like the pictures on the website. It was very tired and run down, there was black greasy slime on all 4 walls of the pool, obviously we had to get out as staying in any longer would have been detrimental to our health.

The first night we managed to get a good nights sleep but as we later found out this was only down to the fact we were the only guests in that part of the hotel.
There is no soundproofing whatsoever between rooms, you could clearly hear conversations from other guests, this we could handle but the constant droning sound that resonated through all 4 walls which went on all through the night was impossible to deal with.

The following morning we mentioned this to the owner, he said he’ll have a word with the guests next door as it will probably be the extractor fan in the bathroom, obviously aware of the problem but no apology. Later that day he did say he’d spoken to the guests and received an apology, I didn’t think this necessary as it wasn't their fault the walls are so thin.

On our 3rd and final night, sleep deprived we went to bed early, after 30 minutes the dreaded droning sound returned, this time it appeared to come from the other side of the room. We gave it an hour before making the decision to leave the hotel and make our way home.

We checked out about 9pm, the owner still didn’t apologise or even offer a refund for our final night, he just said that nobody has ever complained about this before, a quick check on TripAdvisor can confirm that we’re not the only guests to have experienced this.

If you’re going to pay this sort of money for your stay in Windermere there are plenty of other places that offer much better value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthviewGuesthouse, Owner at Southview Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018


This is a very critical review and from our perspective we can only imagine that it largely comes down to unmet expectations. In their review the guests state that “this is not a 4-star hotel” We are actually a 4 star B&B / guesthouse which is judged under a completely different star rating system to that of hotels. This is therefore reflected in the price. Just looking at a 4-star hotel and spa nearby, the prices are almost double ours.

We are fortunate in that we can accommodate a car for each room in our car park. However, as it is relatively small, we find it difficult to fit in oversized vehicles such as the large van these guests came in. This limitation is clearly stated on all the sites we advertise through and again on the booking confirmation. Despite having a full house that weekend we managed to fit the van in. However, it was necessary to explain where their vehicle could and couldn’t be parked and when asked if they could leave their keys if they blocked someone in, they seemed quite visibly annoyed – so not off to a good start!

The room these guests stayed in measures 18 square metres which is considered standard for a superior room in a B& B and our modest 8m pool is kept at a constant 29 degrees C, which is also the standard temperature for a public swimming pool. Spa pools are warmer. Again, perhaps they were expecting a 4 star hotel and spa?

As for the comments about cleanliness. Yes, I’m sure you can always find some dust under the bed or behind the TV if you look hard enough but it only takes a glance at our high cleanliness rating on Tripadvisor to see how much pride we take in this.

We welcome both positive and critical feedback from our guests and of course we do make mistakes and fall short sometimes; in such situations we are the first to apologise. The room this guest had was one of three which have a whirlpool bath feature and yes, when the pump is running, you can hear a hum in the adjacent room and there have been a couple of comments in reviews about this before which is why there are signs in the rooms asking people not to use them late in the evening. Those particular rooms were only constructed 7 years ago and fully comply with industry standards in terms of soundproofing. We certainly have never had a guest complain to us before about the extractor fans!

We do want all our guests to have a positive experience during their stay. However, we realise we will never keep everyone happy all of the time –we just try to do our best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2018

This is the second time we have stayed and once again we had a wonderful time. We were made very welcome from the moment we entered to the moment we left. The first room we were in was nicely decorated and furnished and very comfortable. Because we extended our stay we changed rooms and again the room was well decorated and furnished, we didn1t even have to move our own luggage.

Breakfast was very good, plentiful, with a great selection to choose from and service was very friendly.

Everyone was friendly and very helpful. We will be back.

Room Tip: stayed in room 9, room 2 and room 5 all are great. Rooms 2 and 5 have a great view.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cathyh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2018

Arrived Wednesday welcomed by kath shown to our room every where was spotless.the room was nicely decorated this B and B is ideally situated just off the Main Street.The breakfast was excellent plenty to choose from. Swimming pool was nice and warm will definitely return. Many thanks to kath and her staff for making our stay.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LiverpoolJohnmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2017

The welcome made you feel at home the moment you enter the building which sets you up neatly for what's to follow - they ask you if you had a good trip, did you park the car OK and then proceed to tell you about the facilities before showing you to your room. They have an indoor swimming pool that is simply heavenly and tell you how to get to it then you have all the time you want in the pool oasis. The room was warm, the bed so comfortable, plenty of room for the single traveler and clean throughout. You can come and go as you wish which is always a bonus, while the breakfast the following morning was divine and, again, no rush. All in all, the perfect getaway to the perfect getaway.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs, don't go for room 7 which is the equivalent of a loft room.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyberkrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2017

We used this B&B as a base during a short stay in the Lakes and we were very impressed. We received a warm welcome and made to feel very much at home throughout. Our room was on the top level up a steep stair, so it would not have suited a disabled person, but it was fine for us. It was very clean and looked like it had recently been refurbished. In particular, the en-suite had a fancy modern shower with multiple jets - excellent! It was also quite interesting, and a real bonus, that there was an indoor pool for guests to use. Not something you see very often in B&Bs I'm sure.
Breakfast was excellent too, with gluten-free bread and sausages available on request.
Only slight downside was that parking is a bit tricky. Space for cars is very limited, so during busy periods, its sometimes necessary to double park, which means blocking people in. If you do have to double park, then keys are to be left at reception so that cars can be moved around, if necessary.
Other than that, we were very impressed and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms are generally not easily accessible for people with disabilities, but other than that, ours was perfect for our needs.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank F1whiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews