We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (645)
Filter reviews
645 results
Traveller rating
351
216
42
20
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
351
216
42
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslamb shankrecommend this hotelevening meallovely hotelfour poster bedweekend breakfamily roomenjoyed our stayon arrivalowners and staffbreakfast was excellentsmall hoteltop floorpleasant staybooked this hotelfull englishstayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 645 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2018

We stayed at the Glenburn in September and had an absolutely amazing room. Very well presented. The staff were all excellent and helpful, and it served as a great base for our day tours around the lakes. It is an easy walk to both Bowness and Windermere, and there is a very nice pub around the corner that serves good food (although they do show sports in the non eating part of the pub - in case that's a concern). The only reason I've not gone 5 star is the bar was early to close, pretty much empty, and did not have a great selection of beers. Minor thing when you consider how nice the accommodation itself it. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Clayton_Doige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2018

Hello from snowy Windermere .. a little different to when you stayed in September. Thank you for your nice review and lovely comments about the accommodation. The staff should keep the bar open until 11 pm which is the normal closing time ..i am sorry if this was not so. Thank you and hope we see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2018

Lovely little hotel, very clean & child friendly, family room was a good size for us all (four of us). Breakfast was very nice and my kids enjoyed their evening meal each night during our stay at Glenburn during summer holidays. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aisha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2018

Thank you for your review and we hope you will visit us again sometime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2017 via mobile

I brought a friend here this weekend and had a fabulous time in Windermere. Lots of childhood memories came flooding back.
The Glenburn was very nice. The heated towel rail in the bathroom didn't work so had a cold bathroom but didn't bother us enough to mention it. We had a nice evening meal on Friday night. The breakfast was more than enough and kept us going way past lunch.
We spent most of Saturday relaxing in the Burneside Spa which you can use free if staying at The Glenburn. We also watched a film in their cinema with sofas for free.
We had a great weekend and will definitely be back

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2018

Hello and Happy New Year to you. Thank you for your review and we are pleased you made use of the free facilities at the Burnside Spa. Sorry about the radiator but the switch was just outside the bathroom door. Hope we see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel to spend a weekend in Windermere! Rooms are very nice with a jacuzzi style bath! Breakfast is great and very filling! Friendly staff and a great place to rest your head after a long day of exploring Windermere!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and a very nice one too. I will pass your kind comments on to the staff. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2017 via mobile

Arrived Monday 13/11 after six hour drive we where very tired and fancied some food kitchen wasn’t open until 6 so reception staff recommend places to eat we dropped bags to room headed out found nice restaurant.
We got back to room shower and time to get some sleep one pillow was dirty old stain mark on it where obviously stain hadn’t fully come out in wash easily done if your not up close sleeping on it didn’t spoil our stay as it was laundry issue not case that they had not been washed in first place. I just took pillow off bed and used my own that I had brought for car journey.

En-suite was very clean.

We can not comment on food as evening two the chef was not available we were up and out each day earlier than breakfast was available

Tea coffee facilities in room which we noticed they had topped up in our absence

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Noel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews