We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton House
Nearby Hotels
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$373
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$103
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lamplighter(Windermere)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
US$189
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Windermere Hotel(Windermere)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$210
US$182
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
111
54
16
7
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
111
54
16
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedvery nice place to staytown centrebreakfast is servedstayed here for nightsbreakfast roommy partnervisiting windermerelovely guesthouseon arrivalminute walk to bownesseaster weekendwould stay againfirst morningbed was very comfortableboth morningsshort break
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 199 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2011

lovely room had a four poster bed,only thing was that the room was a bit small,and there was no wardrobe :(
apart from the room,the whole house was stunning,and would defintly stay here again,
its in a lovely setting and is not far from the lake and is close to pubs and resturants
also the english breakfast did not have a sausage which is very odd,but it was tasty,and staff were very friendly :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gizmochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at the Hilton for the Weekend of 28th October 2011. We arrived at 4.15pm to find no access to the property and nobody around to check us in, after a long period of walking around the property we eventually met a young man who seemed a bit confussed about our booking. Our Room was very nice and the decor was lovely, however we returned to our room mid afternoon after a long walk, we felt cold and very wet and found it freezing cold. The central heating did not come on until 5pm approx. There was no wifi as promised, which was disappointing. Breakfast was disappointing, small amount of food. We thought check-in is late (after 4pm) and check-out too early especially at weekends. If the above things are improved Hilton House would be a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Tricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My boyfriend took me to the Lakes for a romantic break and chose this b&b for its character as well as the price.
The breakfast was a great start to the day and kept us going till tea time! choice of full English - the bacon was very thick!, with a vegetarian option, croissants, beans or egg on toast. on top of this we could have cereal and yoghurts! the staff were well organised and served us quickly and politely.
the house was kept tidy and very clean and is so pretty to be in.
we didn't visit the lounge/communal area other than the dining room.
our room was kept clean, and they made the bed for us, even when we made it ourselves. everything was washed and replaced daily.
the bed was to die for! you can not get a mattress thicker than in that b&b, and as comfy as that! there were enough covers on the bed to keep a perfect temperature as well - as they kept the heating on thick covers weren't needed.

only thing that could have been different was the bathroom lights as only one worked - but it was nice mood lighting!

this hotel is perfect if you want to be in Windermere, but you are also close to Bowness on Windermere :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MillyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Chose the Hilton from their website and other recommendations. Spent 3 nights M/T/W. We had the ground floor newly refurbished room 8 ? excellent furnishings and finished to high standard. Lovely breakfast and at a very reasonable time 9- 9.30 ! made a change. Rooms appear to be priced right,plenty of off road parking to the rear and ideally situated between bowness and windermere,although the walk back from bowness can be a bit hard going,especially after a meal and a beer or two !
No real complaints, few minor almost irrelevant things.
Would choose a different room though,probably upstairs,felt privacy of room a bit compromised due to its location to the front door and walkway from the rear car park.
would definately recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms probably better,individual choice though
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonathankinroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed here for my honeymoon in March 2011. Had a very pleasant stay, the place was lovely and rooms furnished to a high standard. The Owner went out of his way to be of assistance, providing glasses for champagne and cake knife and plates for us to cut our wedding cake.

Breakfast was plentiful and we would definately stay again.

The owner and his daughter went out of their way to provide over and above in the way of hospitality on this very special occasion.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews