We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay at Hilton House”
Review of Hilton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton House
Ranked #67 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Gawsworth, Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at Hilton House”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I took my girlfrined here to celebrate our 1st year Anniversary together and started with arrviing and being given an upgrande to a 5* room. They went out of their way to make us both welcome and was no trouble for them to leave a message from me on the bed. We will both be returning to The Lake and without a dout we will both be staying here again and have told friends and family about our fabulous stay. Breakfast was top dollar and the lady who served us was making each couple at home including us, she is a credit to the establishment.
Thank you again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    50
    16
    6
    8
See reviews for
7
153
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
chester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

lovely room had a four poster bed,only thing was that the room was a bit small,and there was no wardrobe :(
apart from the room,the whole house was stunning,and would defintly stay here again,
its in a lovely setting and is not far from the lake and is close to pubs and resturants
also the english breakfast did not have a sausage which is very odd,but it was tasty,and staff were very friendly :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gizmochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at the Hilton for the Weekend of 28th October 2011. We arrived at 4.15pm to find no access to the property and nobody around to check us in, after a long period of walking around the property we eventually met a young man who seemed a bit confussed about our booking. Our Room was very nice and the decor was lovely, however we returned to our room mid afternoon after a long walk, we felt cold and very wet and found it freezing cold. The central heating did not come on until 5pm approx. There was no wifi as promised, which was disappointing. Breakfast was disappointing, small amount of food. We thought check-in is late (after 4pm) and check-out too early especially at weekends. If the above things are improved Hilton House would be a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Tricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My boyfriend took me to the Lakes for a romantic break and chose this b&b for its character as well as the price.
The breakfast was a great start to the day and kept us going till tea time! choice of full English - the bacon was very thick!, with a vegetarian option, croissants, beans or egg on toast. on top of this we could have cereal and yoghurts! the staff were well organised and served us quickly and politely.
the house was kept tidy and very clean and is so pretty to be in.
we didn't visit the lounge/communal area other than the dining room.
our room was kept clean, and they made the bed for us, even when we made it ourselves. everything was washed and replaced daily.
the bed was to die for! you can not get a mattress thicker than in that b&b, and as comfy as that! there were enough covers on the bed to keep a perfect temperature as well - as they kept the heating on thick covers weren't needed.

only thing that could have been different was the bathroom lights as only one worked - but it was nice mood lighting!

this hotel is perfect if you want to be in Windermere, but you are also close to Bowness on Windermere :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wetherby
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Chose the Hilton from their website and other recommendations. Spent 3 nights M/T/W. We had the ground floor newly refurbished room 8 ? excellent furnishings and finished to high standard. Lovely breakfast and at a very reasonable time 9- 9.30 ! made a change. Rooms appear to be priced right,plenty of off road parking to the rear and ideally situated between bowness and windermere,although the walk back from bowness can be a bit hard going,especially after a meal and a beer or two !
No real complaints, few minor almost irrelevant things.
Would choose a different room though,probably upstairs,felt privacy of room a bit compromised due to its location to the front door and walkway from the rear car park.
would definately recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms probably better,individual choice though
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathankinroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Stayed here for my honeymoon in March 2011. Had a very pleasant stay, the place was lovely and rooms furnished to a high standard. The Owner went out of his way to be of assistance, providing glasses for champagne and cake knife and plates for us to cut our wedding cake.

Breakfast was plentiful and we would definately stay again.

The owner and his daughter went out of their way to provide over and above in the way of hospitality on this very special occasion.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Just had a couple of nights at Hilton House and enjoyed the stay but there were 2 minor points which should be mentioned. An english breakfast without a sausage.............what`s going on !!, and if you like a shower with loads of water then forget it.........you can pee faster !
Having said that ,the owner and staff are very friendly,and the hotel is well placed just off the town centre.Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hullenforcer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 km away
Ellerdene Guest House
Ellerdene Guest House
#11 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.3 km away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.2 km away
Meadfoot Guest House
Meadfoot Guest House
#46 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Newstead Guest House
Newstead Guest House
#54 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.4 km away
Bonny Brae Guest House
Bonny Brae Guest House
#51 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.3 km away
Kirkwood Guest House
Kirkwood Guest House
#23 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton House

Property: Hilton House
Address: New Road, Windermere LA23 2EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton House Hotel Windermere
Hilton Windermere
Windermere Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing