We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thornbank Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thornbank Guest House
Ranked #7 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Home from Home experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

we recently stayed for a 3 night break at the above guest house. Mark and Jayne could not do enough for you. The bedroom was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast excellent. You must try Jane's home made marmalade bril. When we were there is snowed heavily and Mark the day after cleared all the path and cleared a way for the vehicles to be able to get out. All in all a wonderful guest house and would not hesitate to stop here again or recommend to friends to stop here.

The guest house is half way between bowness and windermere so is ideally situated to walk either way.

Mark and Jane have a leaflet with all the decent local restaurants in the area and you cant go wrong, they also have a list of local walks in the area.

Many thanks Mark and Jane for a lovely short break hope to see you again soon

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellently decorated so any room is a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trish042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    43
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
207
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Thoornbank Guest House in Windermere, on first impressions the Guest house is set down a side street to the main road, there was on street and off street parking.

On arrival - we were met by Jane who introduced herself, explain about breakfast, explain about the entrance and showed us to our room. We were also offered wine chilling. The welcome was very warm which put myself and hubby at ease instantly.

The room - we stayed in room 1 which is at the front. The room is very tastefully decorated in muted fawn and mulberry tones with matching bed linen. The en-suitre is small but realistically how much time do you spend together in the bathroom?? The room had tea/coffe making facilities, hair dryer, bible and flat screen TV. the room is spacious, spotlessly clean and warm. In the bathroom was fresh fluffy white towels with complimentary shampoo, showergel, shower cap and flannel.

Breakfast - is served between 8.30-9.00 which does seem strict but then again we are usually up and wanting brekkie for this time. Breakfast itself was lovely, I am dieting (as usual!!) so I asked for my brekkie to be grilled - not a problem as all items are grilled, nothing fired apart from fried egg! - there was a good selectioon of cereal, fruit and yogurt as well as juices. There was even a dieters option based on weightwatchers. The service was very quick, smooth and attentive as well as tasting fab. Coffee was in a cafitiere which I love.

The guest house is approx 10 mins walk into Bowness and 15 min walk into Winderemere (not walking fast!).

I would recommend this accomodation to anyone and will be using again - thank you for a lovely stay xxxxx

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Perfect modern, comfy, spacious room. Perfect location - basically in the middle of Windermere and Bowness - ten minute walk to both. Perfect hosts - really lovely friendly happy people offering great advice and a fantastic breakfast. Perfect stay - would highly recommend.
Thank you Jane and Mark x

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katiemyers85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Excellent is all I can say. The room was clean and modern. The breakfast was substantial and more than enough to see you through to a late lunch. Mark and Jane were welcoming hosts and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.Situated almost halfway between Windermere and Bowness it was basically a 10 minute walk to either. There is a list of dining options for your evening meal available on a printed sheet to show you the local options available in and around the area, plus a breakdown of the meal costs in each individual place recommended on the print out. A very friendly couple and most welcoming.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 and it was very comfortable with everything you could need. Tea/Coffee facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret_kenneally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamberg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Excellent non-smoking bed&breakfast-like accommodation. You'll find a very friendly, humorous and informal landlady and a landlord that makes the breakfast according to your wishes. Everything is very clean and convenient, showers work perfectly and in-room tea facilities are updated every day. In the breakfast room there is one separate table for each guest room.
The house is positioned just beween Windermere and Bowness, both in walking distance; you are provided with a town map and we got information leaflets with suggestions for walks and restaurants when we arrived there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernhard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
194 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We did enjoy our stay at Thornbank and Jane was very kind and hospitable, but it did feel as if we were staying at our grandparents' house. I suspect most B & Bs in the area are like this...converted homes with many bedrooms squeezed in, but we were a bit surprised. This is the first time we had visited the Lake District and were forewarned about the commercialism of the southern region. We still enjoyed our stay, but if you are used to medium sized rooms, be prepared to squeeze together. The ensuite bathrooms was spacious in comparison and spotless. Breakfast was a very good English breakfast. The location was in between Windermere and Bowness but about a half mile walk to restaurants. There is no view from the B & B, the beds are a bit lumpy, the walls are thin, but a great price in comparison to London hotels. I would recommend it for couples, not for families although they graciously allow children which is not always the case in B & Bs. I think it is a place to sleep and eat breakfast, but not relax. There is no other space other than the room. As long as one realizes it is a basic accommodation, there is no disappointment. Great value!

Room Tip: Go on booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tampann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We recently had 9 nights at Thornbank House and shall never forget Jane and Mark's friendliness, help and hospitality. Nothing was too much for them. The room and bathroom were spotless and the varied breakfast delicious. They made our stay unforgettable and if we are ever in their part of the world again, we shall definitely stay with them. Parking was on site and we even made use of their garden swing where we would plan our route for the day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telavivjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.9 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 km away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 km away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
St John's Lodge
St John's Lodge
#5 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 km away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.6 km away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornbank Guest House

Property: Thornbank Guest House
Address: 4 Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornbank House is privately owned and run by Jane and Mark Hibbitt. We are just 10 minutes walk from Windermere and Bowness-on-Windermere, where there is a wide selection of shops and fabulous restaurants. We offer bed and breakfast with a personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thornbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing