We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
21
14
2
2
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
14
2
2
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 52 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2017 via mobile

I was a bit apprehensive about our stay after reading some of the reviews.
I arrived with my sister and children, Irene welcomed us and showed us round the place and how to use things like the boiler
Etc. The only things she asked where that we leave the bathroom light off when not in use as its noisy and we clean the dishes before we left. Nothing unreasonable I would say.

The apartment was clean and spacious with everything you need in it - plates, towels, shampoo etc. Decor a little old fashioned but adds to the charm I felt.
It's in a great location really close to everything.

She was lovely to my daughter and told us where we could find the nearest park, and even invited her to play with her grandson. When my mum arrived she rearranged the drive so my mum could also park her car on the drive directly outside.
We didn't see Irene again u till we checked out and were left to enjoy our trip with no bother. However she did stress if we wanted/needed anything just to ask.

When we did check out there was no inspection or anything of the sort. Irene simply said thank you and asked if everything had been OK, then arranged for us to park the cars close by for the day, and gave us some more help and information about where we planned to go that day.

We cooked meals every night and even made a cake, and having a 3 year old and a 3 month old I'm sure we weren't the quietest of guests.

Irenw was nothing but friendly and helpful. We had a lovely stay in a lovely place for a good price and would definitely go there again. The only complaint we have was the rain!! Xxx

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank beccab2264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

Had lovely stay, apartment was very clean and presentable, right next to all shops and very close to town centre.
Cannot see any faults with the hotel and land lady (Irene)
Definitely would love to comeback.

Thanks again Irene.

From Vishal and Akansha

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Vishal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topdropper, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review.You were lovely people and we would be happy to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2016

I stayed with my parents and brother while on holidays, when we got there she took half an hour to explain to us how to turn on light switches, open doors and turn on a tv. Yay. She then decided that she was going to set the heating in our room to how she wanted it and not how we did. Yay. She was just weird and crabby and acted like we had never been inside a first world home before. What all the other guests are saying about her is true, they are not 'revenge reviews' she just wants to charge them over the most ridiculous things you can think of. Oh and the wifi doesn't work on Apple devices

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blake A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topdropper, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2016

Oh dear,oh dear Blakie lad,you must have had a terrible time here,what with no Wi-Fi because you couldn't figure out how to get the access key even after we wrote it down for you and you trying to turn automatic PIR lights and off all by your little self with your little handypoos,Ahh bless,it must have been horrendous for you.We are so sorry you couldn't manage to turn the radiator stats up and down to alter the room temperature either,oh no,this just gets worse,poor little you.We are at at loss as to what we we supposed to have charged you extra for,the only time we charge extra is for criminal damage and if you leave the apartment like a landfill site which you actually did but we made no charge for it,I wish we had now,you must realise we are a self catering apartment,the clue is in the name "self" if you lay down here we will not carry you about, but look on the bright side Blakie lad, we will never have the pleasure of seeing you ever again,I for one am very relieved to hear that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend break in Windermere for a birthday celebration. Booked oakdene for 1 night and had a lovely time. We had the ground floor apartment. It had just been redecorated and was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The landlady was very friendly and happy to let us go in even though we arrived a bit early. She explained everything to us. She provides toiletries in the bathrooms, washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets and even tea, coffee, milk and sugar. It's a couple of minutes walk to windermere centre and 5 minutes by car to bowness. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend these apartments and hope to visit again later in the year for a bit longer. Thank you for your hospitality.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topdropper, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2016

Thank you so much for your nice review.Our job is always a pleasure when we have nice people to stay.
We hope to see you all again soon.
Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

On our way home from a great New Years Eve, celebrating at these lovely home from home apartments. Firstly I was a bit concerned with some of the reviews, but from before our visit, I had to contact the land lady on a number of occasions and each time she was extremely helpful. On arrival we was greeted in person by the landlady who again was lovely and helpful, she shown us around the apartments showing us the basic things we needed to know, which most good owners should do then she left us to it. Everything you need is there, iron, hairdryers, in the kitchen there is a microwave, fridge, freezer, oven and dishwasher. It was very nice, clean and homely. We had a nice time having a buffet we made and we had music on (at a respectful level due to others in the apartments) before getting a taxi into Bowness which was only a few pounds. This is in a quiet street and if you repect this you will have no problems at all and we would like to say a big thank you to them both for making this a wonderful stay.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lozsheffy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topdropper, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review,we enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you all again soon.My regards to your lovely family.
Irene.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews