We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A fantastic wedding weekend at the idyllic Merewood” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merewood Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merewood Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
GreenLeadersBronze level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic wedding weekend at the idyllic Merewood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Thank you for our daughter and our now son-in-law’s really magnificent wedding weekend at The Merewood.

We came with high expectations and we can honestly say that every member of staff exceeded them in every respect – there was no-one who ‘put a foot wrong’ at any time. From our very first visit to view the hotel, through all the planning stages and on the day itself, we were given every confidence that it would be a perfect weekend and a very special day… and you did it – it was just that!

We were taken with the friendliness, passion and enthusiasm of Joe on our very first visit (and during the weekend itself), when he made us feel most welcome. Indeed, he wasn’t trying to sell us “what you had got”, he was keen to know what we wanted and to explain how Merewood could then accommodate it for us.

As for Helen, you could not wish for a better, more professional Wedding Coordinator. Nothing was too much trouble when we asked and, very often, she had already anticipated things. She was a very calming influence throughout (and that was very much appreciated at key times!), not only because of her knowledge, experience and attention to detail, but also because she has a very caring, seemingly unflappable and very helpful nature.

After such a successful event, however, it is unfair to mention only those people we had direct contact with - Joe, Helen and Adam, who was always not only willing to help but also to ask if there was anything he could do for us at that particular time. Your “unsung hero’s” also deserve credit:
- the friendly room-maids who were willing to chat and have a joke whilst they waited patiently on the landing for those guests with back trouble, i.e. those who couldn’t get their back off the bed
- the bar staff who didn’t once show how harassed they must have been at times trying to pick up drinks orders over the general background noise and, later, over the extremely loud disco music
- the servers at the wedding breakfast who weaved their way professionally, and with a smile, around children playing on the floor and guests who were socialising with guests on other tables between every course – the atmosphere was marvellous
- anyone else I have missed who played a part in anyway, big or small, to make the occasion so successful.

I have deliberately left until last the chef and the kitchen team. Having seen (and eaten) the quality of the bar snacks on Friday night, any doubts that we may have had (but didn’t) about a wedding breakfast for so many, some with dietary restrictions, were dispelled well before the big day itself. The food simply was amazing – I personally heard quite a few people say after the meal that it was the best meal that they had ever had at a wedding, and I couldn’t agree more!

It was a truly wonderful wedding weekend – one that we will always remember and one that I know our daughter and son-in-law will relive many times over the coming weeks as it happily settles into their memories. It was very much down to the Merewood Hotel, its staff and its idyllic location.

Once again thank you all so much.

Room Tip: Ideal for a wedding weekend, with the nearby Cragwood and Briarwood ideal for overflow asccommodatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    79
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
163
317
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Not much more to say that hasn't already been said. It's just fantastic - food,,situation, staff could not fault anything.
If you want a hotel in the Lakes look no further.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip_1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here for a friends wedding and what a fantastic choice that was. Beautiful settings beautiful food and drink couldnt fault it even the rooms and outside were stunning. The staff were very friendly and would go out of their way for you even ordered a takeaway for a couple wantng the munches. Wouldnt say a place for children although there was children there being a wedding beautiful open fires and library room piano room etc.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raychaeluk2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

My daughter married at the Merewood on 3rd December 2011. We had the whole hotel for all our guests it was magnificent. From the moment we entered the hotel to the moment we left we felt like 'Royalty'. I cannot thank ALL the staff enough you are the nicest most helpful people I have ever met. You made the stay & the wedding the best weekend ever for all of us. The number of guests who phoned & text to tell us what a fantastic time they had & it's all down to you. As the 'mother of the bride' my stress levels were ZERO because Helen & the team did everything so I was left to enjoy every second. Once again we cannot thank you enough & anyone thinking of getting married here do not hesitate you will love EVERY second. Helen I hope we enjoy future stays half as much. As you felt more like family 'Love to you ALL' & a very very 'Happy New Year' to everyone of you.
Best wishes Lynn & Peter Hankinson ( Mother & Father of the bride) xxxx

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coleridge091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

what a fantastic venue. from the moment we arrived we felt special. a gorgeous building with amazing views. cant expect sunshine in december, but never the less it still looked fantastic.
the day of the wedding, Adele and Chris looked great, and the service from Helen and the rest of the staff was beyond compare. dope that i am, i packed my best suit, but forgot to pack my tie. to save me driving on saturday morning, Helen brought a selection of her husbands ties for me to borrow one, second to none service in my book. will definately visit again this year. thank you so much for everything you did to make it a superb weekend. Tony Connolly

Room Tip: try to get a room with a lake view if possible, the room was lovely but the view was disapointing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This place is very impressive, the staff friendly and the rooms large and beautifully presented. Only 2 things stop it getting an excellent rating for me: Firstly the floodlights that no doubt make the building look very impressive from a distance shine right into the room that we were in, so it is like trying to sleep in daylight. Secondly, the waiting staff were not as you would expect from a fine dining restaurant, came across as though they were thrown into a restaurant and told to have a go at waiting tables - we were rushed to the point where it seemed like they may have had somewhere they needed to be! They came to ask about dessert within seconds of us finishing mains and when I asked for more time, they disappeared into the kitchen and didn't come back for about 25 minutes, presumably to prove a point. But the food was very good and I would recommend staying here, regardless of the 2 minor niggles.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CunningLinguist2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Having searched the length and breadth of Cumbria for a wedding venue, with the assistance of Trip Advisor and first impressions we decided on the Merewood. Although our wedding isn't for another 18 months we thought it best to see what all the fuss was about and stay for the weekend. Needless to say we weren't disappointed!
Staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Room (5) was huge with spectacular views over lake windermere and the surrounding fells. Food was amazing! Open fires went down a treat in the first cold spell of the season. All in all an excellent weekend, we really didn't want to come home. Keep it up Merewood, I'm sure we'll be back before the big day!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.7 km away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.4 km away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
3.4 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
6.6 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.7 km away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#7 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merewood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merewood Country House Hotel

Property: Merewood Country House Hotel
Address: Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Green Hotel in Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Merewood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merewood is a country house hotel of great charm and distinction set in a position of incomparable scenic beauty. The Hotel stands on its own secluded estate, overlooking Lake Windermere and is easily accessible from the main route to and through the Lakes. Merewood's friendly and efficient staff, the relaxed excellence of the service and the wonderful food are all of a quality to match the unparalleled location.The Hotel is open all year including Christmas and New Year and the English Tourist Board has awarded it a "Highly Commended" three stars with silver accolade for food and service. It is often worth checking for late availability as there are special deals and midweek breaks throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Merewood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merewood Country Hotel
Merewood Country Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing