We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
745 results
Traveller rating
495
200
37
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
495
200
37
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomcream tealovely hotelbar mealsevening mealsconeslake districtenjoyable staypublic areasa lovely staycooked breakfastnight breakcouldn't do enoughthe ground floorstayed for one nightboth nightsbed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 745 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2018 via mobile

Had a couple of days away at this wonderful hotel. The staff were always helpful and very courteous. The room was spacious with a lovely jacuzzi bath. Food was very appetizing. Will go back again one day

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PatriciaCoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brierywood, Front of House Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Thank for your review of the Briery Wood.

I'm delighted to hear that you found your time with us so relaxing. Here at the Briery Wood, we offer the perfect opportunity to unwind and leave the cares of the world behind, aided by being set in such a beautiful part of the country.

Our staff are a friendly bunch, always onhand to assist in whatever way they can to help our guests make the most of their time with us.

We have a number of different room options, including our larger rooms, complete with jacuzzi baths, overlooking our landscaped gardens. Whatever room you stay in, they're all appointed and furnished to the highest standard to provide a comfortable and relaxing stay.

It's great to hear that you are already planning a return visit, we look forward to welcoming you back when you do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Briery Wood last night and had a lovely time. The hotel is so clean and beautifully decorated and the staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed.

The food was also fantastic! We had a lovely evening meal, which you could tell had been carefully thought about by the chef.

Would definitely book again!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank SJA221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brierywood, Front of House Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2018

Thank you for your review of the time you spent with us here at the Briery Wood.

It's great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. The hotel is kept immaculately clean through the hard work and dilligence of our housekeeping team who work hard behind the scenes to keep things spotless.

The hotel is engaged in a programme of refurbishments at the moment, with our public rooms all being refitted as well as a number of our bedrooms, and we have had much positive feedback from our guests about our new look.

I'm so glad to hear how much you enjoyed the hard work of our dedicated team of chefs, who are rightly proud of the AA rosette awarded for the standard of their food.

We look forward to you booking a stay with us in the future and will still be here with an equally warm welcome when you do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2018

Just back form a short stay with my wife and two dogs for my 50th. Lovely stay (i even got a card and chocolates in my room). Very dog friendly and the staff sre great. I cant recall being in a cleaner hotel. Thank you very much

Stayed: February 2018
Thank jonnnyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brierywood, Front of House Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience of your time at the Briery Wood.

I'm delighted to hear that we manged to make your landmark birthday so special. We welcome dogs into the hotel, recognising them as an important member of any family, and with 7 acres of grounds attached to the hotel there's plenty of opportunity for doggy walking without having to go far.

Our housekeeping team work hard behind the scenes to keep the place immaculate and are always happy to hear that their efforts don't go unnoticed.

I hope you will consider us for any future visits to the Lake District, and look forward to welcoming you back when you do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2018

We stayed three nights and we were very surprised and delighted how nice the hotel was , for the price we paid . The hotel was newly refurbished , good sized rooms , large bathroom with extras in the room which you normally only find in much more expensive hotels . The food in the restaurant was excellent, and the breakfast was equally good . The lady at breakfast and the young receptionist Magda treated us like royalty .

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brierywood, Front of house Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2018

Thank you for your review of your time at the Briery Wood.

It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. We have been engaged in an ongoing programme of refurbishments around the hotel, with our public rooms being given a recent facelift and a number of our bedrooms being updated as well. We have had much positive feedback from guests such as yourselves on how much they like the new look.

Our chefs are proud of their AA rosette standard menu which we serve in our restaurant, and always appreciate the feedback we receive.

Our breakfast provides a perfect start to the day, with options to suit any appetite and set you up fpr the day. Margaret, who serves the breakfast, loves to make the guests feel welcome and special as she serves them, as does Magda, our head receptionist.

I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to hotel for a return visit, and look forward to welcoming you back when you do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a brilliant two night break at the Briery. The recent refurbishments add to the ambience of the hotel. All the the staff were friendly helpful and welcoming. The housekeeping staff were very accommodating when we asked if they could service our room whist we were at breakfast allowing us to get ready for the wedding we were due to attend uninterrupted. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. The homemade chocolates which came with the coffee were scrumptious and didn't last long ! Our room had been tastefully redecorated and had a jacuzzi bath which was very welcome. I would definitely recommend the Briery and hope to return soon.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank P1TKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brierywood, Front of House Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience of the Briery Wood Hotel.

It's great to hear that you had such a great time whilst you were with us. We have put a lot of work into the refurbishment of the hotel, with our public areas given a new fresh look, as well as many of our bedrooms with more of them in line to be done in the upcoming months.

Our housekeeping team work tirelessly to keep the rooms immaculate, working behind the scenes and, often unseen, but not unnoticed as so many guests comment on the cleanliness of the bedrooms and how well kept the hotel is.

Our chefs do produce some spectacular food, which certainly gets a great deal of praise from our guests, and we are lucky enough to have an experienced chocolatier in our employ who hand makes the delicious chocolates we serve with the after dinner coffee.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your break with us as much as you did, and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews