We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Wheatlands Lodge(Windermere)
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Elleray(Windermere)
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
YHA Windermere(Windermere)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lakes Lodge(Windermere)
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
No availability for your dates from these sites
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (732)
Filter reviews
732 results
Traveller rating
486
196
37
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
486
196
37
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomcream tealovely hotelbar mealsevening mealsconeslake districtenjoyable stayon arrivalpublic areascooked breakfastnight breaka lovely staycouldn't do enoughthe ground floorstayed for one nightboth nights
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 732 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Had a restful weekend at Briery Wood Country House hotel. Graet room with large queens size bed, flat screen TV. Restful time. Service was good and the bar has an excellent selection of malt whiskeys and gins. Breakfast has a large selection of cereals, fresh fruit, as well as porridge, whilst the hot food is very well presented. Whilst not a great number of options, the Full English is well worth a try, whilst the salmon and scrambled eggs was a delight. Situated between Windemere and Ambleside, near to Brockholes Visitor centre, Briery Wood is ideally placed for touring the South Lakes. We will be visiting this hotel again

Stayed: March 2018
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brierywood, Front of House Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Thank you for your review of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves on the relaxing atmosphere here at the Briery Wood, with many of our guests commenting on how at home they feel whilst staying with us.

We have an impressive range of drinks behind the bar, with a number of local options including bottled beers, liqueurs and, of course, gins with our range featuring gins from around the world as well as some more local varieties.

Our breakfast menu includes options to suit all appetites, with a well stocked cold buffet, as well as a range of cooked options, including various types of eggs on toast, smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, ranging right up to the full Lakeland platter to really set you up for the day's activities.

Our situation on the main A591, the main route into the Lake District and beyond, gives ample opportunities for further travel and exploration of the area, either by car or public transport, making us a great base from which to see the Lake District.

It's great to hear that you intend to visit us again, we look forward to welcoming you back when you do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Never had a bad stay, food and service excellent and it has only improved on each visit! May want to add resurfacing the spacious car park to the upgrade list! Great attention to detail 100% recommended

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ajgray2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brierywood, Front of House Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience of the Briery Wood Hotel.

It's always rewarding to have guests returning to us time and time again, and I'm delighted to hear that we have managed to outdo ourselves on each subsequent visit.

At the moment, we are engaged in upgrades and refurbishments to the interior of the hotel, but I shall certainly pass your comment on about the car park.

It's great to hear how much you recommend a stay with us, we look forward to your next visit when we can work on surpassing ourselves even further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for one night, on Easter Sunday. We booked the Beer Lovers Break offer that includes a tour of the local Hawkshead Brewery which was really great! The tour was 1-2pm and we enjoyed a few drinks in the brewery’s bar afterwards.

We arrived at the hotel to check in at around 4.45pm and there was no one on reception. I rang the bell on reception 5 times and waited for almost 10 minutes and still nobody arrived. We could hear a lot of noise coming from the bar area so I walked into the bar to see if I could locate some staff, and it turns out the noise was the staff all having a little chat and they said they did not hear the bell. Not a great start!

We were shown to our room which was ok, decor not to my taste but the room was clean and spacious. We relaxed in the room until our pre-booked dinner. The dinner is advertised as a 3 course meal using Hawkshead Brewery beers, which we were really looking forward to and found this concept really interesting! We were handed the “Beer Lovers” menu which oddly just appeared to be a smaller more limited version of the main menu and literally not a single item on the menu mentioned beer or how the Hawshead Brewery beer had been incorporated into the dish. I found this really disappointing.

The service at dinner was really poor, but the food was AMAZING, one of the best meals I’ve had in a long time. It’s just a shame about the staff and lack of customer service as it really let the whole experience down.

Neither of us slept very well at all- I’m not sure why but the room was like a sauna during the night so maybe that was why.

Breakfast again was great food!

I wouldn’t hurry back to this hotel but I would probably return for dinner or recommend to others purely for the food alone. We weren’t impressed with the service at all but the food makes up for it.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brierywood, Front of House Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Thank you for your review of the Briery Wood Hotel.

I'm sorry to hear of the issues you had whilst you were with us. Here at the Briery Wood, we pride ourselves on the high level of service we provide, as previous reviews have mentioned. Obviously, on this occasion we fell short of our usual high standards for which I apologise.

Our team of chefs work hard in the kitchen to produce the food we serve, and it's great to hear how much you enjoyed your dinner whilst you were with us.

I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel, and you can experience our normal level of service which matches the food we serve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

Beautiful hotel and from the minute we walked in we were looked after.Personally shown to our room which had recently been refurbished and was lovely.The bar was well stocked and had lots of different gins which was great.Food was brilliant especially the belly pork starter and staff really looked after us

Room Tip: Im sure all the rooms were of a similar standard to ours which was beautifully decorated
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brierywood, Front of House Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Thank you for your review of your stay with us.

I'm delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us, and how well you feel we looked after you whilst with us.

We have been putting a lot of work into the refurbishment of the hotel, with our public rooms, as well as a number of our bedrooms recently undergoing work with more bedrooms due to be refurbished over the coming months.

Gin has certainly become the drink of the moment and our bar stock reflects this with an impressive array of gins from around the world, as well as some more local varieties made right here in the Lake District. We also carry a range of single malt whiskeys as well as imported varieties, with spirits, liqueurs and a range of beers on offer as well.

Our chefs are always happy to hear how much our guests enjoy their work in the kitchen, producing our table d'hote menu which has earned them an AA rosette for excellence.

I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel next time you fancy a break away to the Lake District.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

My husband and stayed in this hotel, Friday to Sunday to celebrate our anniversary and my birthday,we had a garden room lovley view of the grounds and gazebo, evening meal and breakfast were very good, staff were very professional, lovley hotel will definitely be going back.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank carrie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brierywood, Front of House Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you for your review of the Briery Wood.

It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your double celebration with us. Our ground floor garden rooms can be very popular with, not only views overlooking the gardens, but patio doors giving direct access to the gardens from the rooms, especially popular when we have some Lakeland sunshine.

We have a dedicated team of experienced chefs who work hard to produce the AA rosette standard food and our front of house team strive to ensure our guests have the best experience of the hotel and the Lake District whilst staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for future visits to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews