We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night in blackpool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chesterfield Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2011

The welcome was nice, cup of tea etc. the room was very disappointing, there was us two, a dog and a toddler in a cot and we could hardly move and the room smelled of smoke, not very good for a small child. The breakfast was lovely and they couldnt have been more helpful. Very close to the front at blackpool. It was nice, but we were glad we were only there one night.,

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonnaPEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuandSteve, Owner at The Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

So sorry to hear that you didn't really enjoy your stay here with us x it would probably have been better if you had booked a family room rather than a double so that you would have a bit more space. I appreciate it must have felt cramped for all of you sharing a small double. I do apologise for the smoke smell. This does happen occasionally in the rooms where smoking is allowed although we try very hard to eliminate it. Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. We value your opinion and hope to make things better for our future guests.
Best wishes
Julie and Steve xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for The Chesterfield Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

This little guest house does exactly what it says on the tin, we stayed one night (26/09/2011) having seen the place on the internet, we enquired by phone and spoke to julie the landlady who was very courteous and cheery, and she offered us a rate that was cheaper than advertised so that was nice.We noted from the website that it is described as small but as it was one night only we didnt mind, however on arrival we found our room (number 8) to be more than adequate with enough room to walk around the bed easily and a good sized wardrobe. The tv actually worked and the picture was good and it had freeview.The en suite was pretty small but very functional nonthe less. The decor was a little dated but the room itself was very clean and the double bed was very comfortable. This guest house is one of the few that is pet friendly so I expected a doggy smell but have to say there was none, in fact the whole house smells nice even though one of the guests had a dog with them. Obviously dogs are not permitted in the dining room but are welcome in the bar, and since we are dog lovers this was fine by us. The bar is in the basement and we were expecting it to be dark and hot but in fact it is large and bright and airy with a door leading to a small covered area outside with table and chairs where smoking is permitted, also there are smoking rooms available should you require one. The draught beer and lager and also the branded spirits etc are in my opinion very cheap, especially during happy hour (8 till 9pm) about £1.80 a pint or measure !!
Breakfast was very good , it was free of oil and tastefully presented with a smile, there is a choice if you dont want a full english but we did and we enjoyed it. All in all I have to say that this little guest house is the best value for money I have ever come across and we cannot reccomend it and Steve and Julie highly enough.We felt at home from the moment we crossed the threshold and we will definitely be returning for a longer stay soon Oh and nearly forgot its just a stones throw from the promenade as well (check out their website for pics)
Keep up the good work guys and see you again soon

Room Tip: our room was nice and quite but had no view, the front rooms face onto the street but I would imagin...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smifco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Soon as we arrived there was a pot of tea waiting for us. Car parking wasnt a problem either. Cooked breakfast was excellent and has for dinner we had a great choice to choose from. The bar was welcoming and cheap aswell !!!. Julie and Steve coudnt have been better hosts...hats off to them...we are definitaly going back....

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dazzasazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Myself, my partner and 2 children stayed here for 5 nights and loved it! Steven and Julie are fantastic hosts and make you feel very welcome. The food is amazing and can highly recommend the 3 course evening meal. The bar is very cosy with a relaxed and homely feel ideal when holidaying with children. The family room we had is a decent size and is clean and comfortable. We had a great holiday and can't wait to go back and we will definately be staying here again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plastictramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Lets see - weekend at the Chesterfield check list:
Amazing Hospitality - check
Amazing Food - check
Amazing Entertainment - check
Booking again for next year - check.
...What a great weekend - made to feel at home from the minute we stepped through the door. Steven and Julie make such a great double act (especially in Bingo!!). They make you feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble. All your needs are catered for and hotel is in an excellent location with only a short walk either way to Tower and Pleasure Beach. AAAAAAA++++++++++

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuandSteve, Owner at The Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2010

Wow! Thanks Mandy x so pleased you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to seeing you again soon x it was a pleasure to have you to stay with us x thank you so much for your comments they can make all the difference to us in these difficult times xx thanks again x best wishes Julie and Steve xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

we really loved our stay and we was very happy with the room and the service from steve and julie they were both very inviting from start till we left and they loved our dog skye from the first time we arrived.from when we arrived we were offered a tea or a coffee and also were asked if we needed help with the bags we were also given a parking space

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regan41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuandSteve, General Manager at The Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2010

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. How could we not fall in love with Skye? She is a stunner! We really hope to see you all again here at The Chesterfield.
Best wishes
Julie and Steve xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

I have stayed in alot of hotels in Blackpool, but this hAs to be one of the most friendliest I have ever stayed in, nothing is too much bother to them, the location is great just 2 minutes to the prom, the breakfast was lovely as was their genuine love of animals, I would chose this hotel first the next time am in Blackpool and will take my dogs with me as I said dogs cats etc all stay free, I have stayed in other hotels in Blackpool who have wanted more for my dogs per night that they did for me.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triciat43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,104 reviews
3.4 km away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#20 of 73 in Blackpool
258 reviews
2.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,027 reviews
1.3 km away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
1,286 reviews
3.7 km away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#11 of 73 in Blackpool
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Hotel

Address: 5 Wellington Road, Blackpool FY1 6AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Blackpool
Price Range: $92 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chesterfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Julie & Steve warmly welcome you and your dogs to The Chesterfield Pet Friendly Hotel. (Dogs stay free of charge) All rooms small but with en suite toilet and shower, flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Licensed bar. 50 mtrs beach & near all attractions. Dog sitting and dog listening available. Cleanliness, a great breakfast & excellent service guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Chesterfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing