We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cant wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Golden Sands Guest House
Ranked #153 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
walsall
1 review
“cant wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

my husband and i both had a wonderful time thanks to sylvia and delwyn. nothing was too much trouble and you could tell that it was sincere breakfast really set you up for the day scrumptiuos rooms are spacious and spotlessly cleaned beds really comfy great value for money really friendly we will definately absolutely 100% go back as will our cousins who joined us THANKS A MILLION for a lovely break goes to you both from Dee Den Val and Brian in walsall

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natasha25Walsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    31
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
70
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

A very clean and comfortable b+b just off the promenade near Gynn Square. Cosy en-suite room with all the bits that make a comfortable stay and an excellent breakfast too. Easy access to trams into Blackpool and Fleetwood.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brearleybagley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

I stayed here for three nights with an old mate for some male bonding. With both our rooms comfortable and clean, and a well cooked English breakfast, by the very friendly owners, we were set up for the day. In a nice area near Gynn Square we were very convenient for the trams, although walking to the tower area only took 30 minutes. A good idea is too buy a day ticket for the trams, £6, covers buses as well. Served us well going to pleasure beach, Fleetwood and seeing illuminations.
Plenty of safe car parking in surrounding streets, we would definitely use the Golden Sands again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auxerre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

Stayed at the B&B for a weekend with husband breakfast good and plenty of it this included cerals juice and a choice of a full cooked or you could order fish. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Good point is no stag or hen parties allowed in the B&B this aided a good nights sleep. coffee and tea making facilities in the room as well as a small fridge. ensuit bathroom very clean and towls changed and room made up every day. Parking ok and a shart walk about 10mins to the North pier which was the nearest. we ate at the pub down the road,Thwaites which was good food and value for money. we would recommend this for a place to stay. overall accomodation excellent if you want a cheap seaside break in England and want to try Blackpool for change. The only thing that lets Blackpool down is the amount of Stag and Hens Parties. Overall would recommend this B&B as a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pouncey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2008

When we arrived there was little on street parking left for us but we found a good spot not too far away and abandoned the car there for the whole weekend. Service was excellent, very friendly couple. Cleanliness was outstanding. Breakfast was served in copious amounts if you wanted it! Nothing is too much trouble. Fantastic hotel would recommend to anyone who wants a quiet weekend away! :)

  • Liked — Quiet, friendly, great food!
  • Disliked — Breakfast time being so short (8.30 - 9)
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawebz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2008

We booked into the Golden Sands for 2 nights for the (future) Sister-in-Laws birthday. She goes every as she was born in blackpool. This is the first time I have gone with them and also the first time they have stayed at the golden sands. Upon arriving at the hotel we found that there is no parking available but this wasn't an issue as we found a space on the road right outside the hotel. One of our party didn't arrive until about 7pm on the friday evening and had to park towards the bottom of the road - get there early if you want a space would be my suggestion. Checking in was very easy and after paying the remainder of our bill we were shown to our rooms. We were in a standard double room on the top floor. The room consisted of a double bed, chest of drawers, bedside drawers, recessed wardrobe, mini fridge and a sink. The bathroom consisted of a shower cubicle and toilet. The room was small but was spotlessly clean, The only bad thing was it was advertised as including a small bottle of wine upon arrival which we didn't receive. Breakfast on our 2nd day consisted of a selection of juces and cereals to begin with, followed by toast and a full english breakfast. Breakfast was enough to fill us up all day(and it was no trouble for the hosts to get us extra toast when required!). After being out all day we returned to find our beds made and all our towels had been replaced. After another restful nights sleep we had another lovely breakfast and checked out with no problems. The only negative thing I would say is that breakfast isn't served very long - from 8:30 to 9 so you don't get chance for a lie-in. Noise wasn't an issue at the hotel as stag and hen parties aren't allowed. You wouldn't be able to book this hotel for a large group either as you can only book a maximum of 2 rooms at a time.

I would definitely stay here again if I wanted a break away with my girlfriend but this is not the place to stay if you are looking for a lively hotel for a party weekend

  • Liked — How Clean it was
  • Disliked — No parking
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jevoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.2 km away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#382 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 km away
Sheron House
Sheron House
#169 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
3.8 km away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#232 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#282 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.3 km away
Waves Hotel
Waves Hotel
#26 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.0 km away
Arendale Hotel
Arendale Hotel
#266 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Sands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Sands Guest House

Property: The Golden Sands Guest House
Address: 20 Gynn Avenue, Blackpool FY1 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golden Sands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Golden Sands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing