We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,423)
Filter reviews
2,423 results
Traveller rating
174
387
423
405
1,034
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
387
423
405
1,034
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 2,423 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2018 via mobile

On arrival your faced with a settee in the shape of lips ?! I mean really then and there I should have walked out stupidly I didn’t. The building is old and tired but you can see that at some point this building would have been amazing it’s such a shame it’s been left to become so run down past the point of no return. Then there was the room 136 a family room for 5 I paid extra for a sea view yet they failed to mention the sea view was obscured by scaffolding ironically the only part of the building with scaffolding was our room. The window handle and lock was broken in the children’s room luckily the scaffolding bar prevented the window from opening wide preventing access to the room. The heat in the rooms was absolutely off the scale it was like being in the centre of the earth so the actual windows had to be open in both rooms to try to reduce the temperature so you can only imagine the road noise.
You may actually think I’m over exaggerating about the temperature but as soon as you got in the room you had to strip down it was unbearable.
The water temperature in the shower went from the right temperature to scalding hot and when you turned to hot tap off to stop the hot water the cold water had turned scalding hot too ! Extremely bizarre and dangerous, to the extent of us not allowing the children to shower while we were there it just wasn’t worth the risk. I have put a complaint in I at least think they should refund the sea view upgrade cost.
Staff on arrival seemed ok but that was about it. Not impressed won’t be returning.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank FarAway727221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here two nights with my six year old and 11 year old to see the illumination.what can I say run down basic and dirty.no sleep second night due to noise and bed as hard as rocks.stayed in a family room totally not what advertised when booked two rooms with adjoining door one area ridiculously hot and other room freezing,with no option to turn heating up or down windows didn't open.beds extremely uncomfortable to the point even my children complained.rooms dirty rundown old fashioned no hit water and the shower just a drip.i would not recommend this hotel I believe you can take dogs to stay with you as all we heard all night was barking from above.thus place is only suitable to lodge dogs.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2018 via mobile

Stayed during October half term

We had a family room that can sleep six people

Room was Clean
Beds ok
Furniture dates like most Britannia hotels
Carpet had few staines
No views
Bathroom modern
Lounge area and bar ok

We done room only so can’t comment on food

For the price we paid it was fine

Next to tram stop or 25 min walk to town

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lutonbeds1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Savoy hotel last night and it was terrible. The room was not clean, with dust and dirt visible in the the bathroom and on surfaces, one of the bedroom windows could not be closed properly due to it being broken and the room was in need of general repair. Breakfast was disgusting even though we were down for half 7 the breakfast had been lying; sausages were hard and chewy, yoke of eggs were like jelly and bread was stale. Overall poor experience and will not be returing

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank vickymcalinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile

Went for one night to see the lights, is in decent walking distance to the tower, and the tram stop is right outside, it also has great car parking services

HOWEVER

it is not as clean as we all thought it would be, the hot water in the bath/shower and tap in the bathroom works intermittently and there is no wifi service in the room. All in all, a very poor hotel living in the past

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MatthewW3294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews