We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,436)
Filter reviews
2,436 results
Traveller rating
176
389
426
406
1,039
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
389
426
406
1,039
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 2,436 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2018

We had one night here in late October, to take the kids to see the illuminations. We had stayed before a couple of years ago, so we knew it was shabby and needed attention, but we'd had a pleasant enough stay that we decided to go back, just for one night.

Parking is tough - there are about 50 spots for 120-odd rooms. Thankfully, we found a spot and were making the use of the trams for the duration so we didn't have to move.

We were able to check in even though our room wasn't ready. The staff on reception are so helpful and cheerful.

The room itself needed attention. It was baking in there, we had to turn off the radiators and open the windows - one of the radiators wouldn't turn off so we had to get someone into the room to do it for us - they did it, forst time of asking, no issues.

The toilet door shut after a bit of a wiggle. The taps were also a bit wobbly on the sink, and there are chips, cracks and scratches in most of the walls - but these are cosmetic.

We had a family room and the large beds were pretty comfortable - the kids did complain that the bunk bed mattresses were uncomfortabel, though.

The evening meal and the breakfast that were included for us you cannot fault, the food was delicious (especially the meatballs).

None of the hotel is out-of-bounds, my two young sons took great delight in taking to the empty dancefloor in the unused function rooms.

So, the downside - it is shabby, which is a shame. It needs A LOT of work to get it up to its full potential - the most recent "Thank You" card I saw adorning the walls was dated 2006. It's also 2 miles from the main attractions of the town centre which is a good thing or a bad thing, depending on which way you look at it - although the walk along the seafront is very nice.

The good points - it is cheap, the food is decent and the staff are professional and friendly.

I think we'd stay there again, for a short stay only, but Brittania Hotels should invest some money into it - it could be so much more than it is.

Room tip: There are very few rooms with views.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2018 via mobile

When my husband booked the Savoy I thought it would at least be clean, how wrong was I. A hotel that's a little tatty in places doesn't bother me but dirt and grime does as that's just down to lazy staff. Check out is 10 but they serve breakfast until 10.30 which seemed a bit odd. Sign on door as you enter states not to bring your own food into the hotel but it's ok for the reception staff to have Dominos pizza delivered. Don't bother paying for breakfast, you're best off going to Wetherspoons, no coffee as machine broke. No glasses for orange juice. Eight dirty tables needing clearing when we arrived and no staff to be seen. Please don't stay here, typical Brittannia owned hotel!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank 425dawnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

Terrible, ignorant receptionist bad attitude! No hot water in room!! Room overly hot, disabled daughter and bunk bed unsuitable for her also buck beds was wobbiy, gave her the bed I slept on thin mattress on floor horrendous, reception could not do anything about it ?? Sink was blocked water would not drain, also hanging off the wall !! Toilet disgusting !! And no working shower!! Which I may add 2018and it was a mixer with nothing to turn to work it !! Bath all moldy and black around edges!! A lot of money paid for huge dissapointment !! Poor two girls on breakfast are who was nice was ran off their feet un believabley wrong !! I am not one to moan or complain and believe every single review on this STAY AWAY sh!t hole !!!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank GoPlaces10217972628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

We must admit after booking we looked on trip advisor and were very apprehensive.
How wrong that this hotel has been so badly reviewed, speak as you find.
We were greeted by a lovely couple of youngsters on reception very welcoming, got to our room 228 which was good, clean and comfortable beds were comfy too. The housemaid was very accommodating and pleasant. Breakfast was really good as we're the evening meals. We'll done Christine you did us proud.
You get what you pay for at the end of the day it may need a lick of paint here and there but nothing awful.
The entertainment was top draw both the Lionel Richie tribute and Diana Ross, bar staff were very good and so was the DJ.
If there was anything to say untoward..... There were a couple of miserable folks who wouldn't smile if they won the lottery bless em.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jillyducky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2018

We stayed in this hotel as a group of 8 adults and 2 under two's in October. We had a variety of rooms so I feel we experienced almost every possible booking option, and I just CANNOT recommend this hotel at all. My review is long, and honest and hopefully the hotel can get some constructive feedback from it, because it could have so much potential given the location!

ROOMS
- Single executive Rooms - No's 134 & 132.
Solid mattress, air con not working (just made a noise) and window's unable to open, and due to the heating seemingly on full blast constantly, the heat was just uncomfortable. These rooms are next to some sort of fan that goes on & off every few minutes, which meant a decent nights sleep was impossible.
- Double Rooms - No's 225 & 111.
One room had a leaky toilet, had not been hoovered before we arrived as there was rubbish under the bed. 3 Days later, the rubbish was still there. Cups dirty upon arrival, and when left out for housekeeping to replace/clean, they were just turned upside down & put back as clean - we did complain about this during our stay.
- Family of 5 - No. 236
Double bed had a solid mattress, single bed was great, however was situated right next to a leaking roof & window that wouldn't close - the curtains were blowing with the wind. Bunk Beds - bottom bunk mattress was so soft & used that you could feel all the springs. We did not try the top bunk because of how much it moved. We had 2 under 2's with us, which meant we had their own travel cots with us - had we had children aged appropriately to use the bunk beds, it would not have been safe!!
Burning hot pipes all around the bottom of the rooms- this is a family room designed for kids - Cover them with insulation or something?! The Iron left a black mark on a white shirt. The Bathroom Door handle was broken & came off leaving a sharp edge. Shower is either burning hot or stone cold, fortunately we had a bath for the children to use. We had to wiggle the handle to get the toilet to flush. There is no real housecleaning - no hoovering, and we didn't even have toilet roll to use for our last night there! On top of all this, the rooms are the wrong way round: The children's room leads directly into the bathroom & into the main hotel corridor - no sane parent wants this, considering the doors are easily able to be opened just by using the door handle from the inside, kids can easily get out of the room whilst the parents are tucked in bed nextdoor. The room had tables with glass tops that were not glued. Everything is easily accessible for disabled people, but this does also mean that with kids - nothing is safe, our 2 year old twins were easily able to get hold of the kettle, bathroom with razor's etc in. This is a family room! Put some shelves up where parents are able to put things out the way - we actually ended up using the top bunk bed, as it was unsafe to use!

FOOD
Cheap, bought in with no flavour desserts. There is a good selection of breakfast & main meals, but it's all cheap cantine food, our two year olds couldn't eat the vegetables because they were too hard to chew. General cleanliness is an issue - all the plates/cups etc are not cleaned/dryed properly so they all have residue on them. The highchairs were absolutely filthy - we had to clean them up before we used them, and then every Day that we were there with the wet wipes we'd bought.

STAFF
Generally very friendly & this is why my rating is 2 starts not 1! In the restaurant they played with the children, spoke to us & were very approachable. Anyone you approached did seem very nice, however sometimes you just can't find staff! on the bar there's a sign saying 'go to reception if no-one there' which we did; after waiting 10 minutes, we knocked on the reception desk (no bell & our knocking was heard by people waiting in the lounge area) but no-one came to the desk. A man came over & called into the room behind the reception to which a girl came out & apologised - she couldn't hear us knocking because she was doing her university work!

LOCATION
Excellent location - right on the sea front, far enough away from the hustle & bustle of bars & clubs. A Tram stop right outside the hotel - free parking onsite & down the side which is great.

GENERAL/OTHER
This hotel is filled with elderly people holidaying, the majority of which did seem to enjoy their stay. It clearly seems that this is who this hotel is catering for, however they have one lift that can hold 3 people (1 wheelchair) for a whole hotel at people. Fortunately there was enough in our group to walk our children down the stairs, and carry their pushchairs down, rather than waiting in the queue for the lift!
The lobby is spacious, and they have a games table (which our kids loved) however, even that needs updating - the sofa's have tape on them covering holes.

I'm sure there were other smaller things that I've not mentioned, and it's really sad that this review is so negative, because the hotel has potential to really be great, however it needs to be shut, refurbished, and re-opened as something new. Until then, it's only going to get worse. I will also be uploading pictures with this review, to back up my comments.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dyetiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews