We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,593)
Filter reviews
6,596 results
Traveller rating
414
901
1,281
1,031
2,969
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
901
1,281
1,031
2,969
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5,521 - 5,526 of 6,596 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Where do you start, this was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in,anywhere. It does not have one saving grace. The staff, paticularly in the dining room totally lack any sort of motivation but it must be difficult for them being in the front line and answering for the swill that is presented as food. The catering manager should be ashamed to carry that title, I have been in catering for over 20 years and I have never seen such badly cooked garbage in my life. Breakfast time was a scene to behold, people just sat anywhere in the hotel trying to eat food that was served in a hallway out of mobile serveries that the overhead halogen heaters were broke. The floor was strewn with discarded food. I will be writing to the local EHO. Please do not waste your money staying at this dump. It needs closing down, a complete revamp and the staff training in the basics of working in hospitality. I could go on but it would take to long to list all the faults at this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't ome here
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tpg004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norbreck_Castle, Manager at Norbreck Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2011

Dear


Thank you for taking the time to share your honest and balanced feedback with reference to your stay and experiences at the Norbreck Castle Hotel. We, here at the Norbreck Castle Hotel, pride ourselves on offering a fun and vibrant atmosphere to all our guests at competitive rates.

I am saddened to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion and can assure that all the points, which have been raised, will be looked into in an effort to improve our standards and develop further the services that we offer.

Mr Tony Banks
General Manager
The Norbreck Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Where to start....
Rooms - Awful, dirty, smelly old fasioned and the last guests dirty linen on the floor, requested a sea view - got a building site.
Staff - unproffesional, common, rude and unhelpful.
Food - Won't even go there - unedible
All in all, won't ever return to this hotel - even if it was free i wouldnt go back the only thing going about this hotel is the entertainment even then cant get seat as people coming off the street

Room Tip: try another hotel
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biganto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norbreck_Castle, Manager at Norbreck Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2011

Dear biganto

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest and balanced feedback with reference to your stay and experiences at the Norbreck Castle Hotel. We, here at the Norbreck Castle Hotel, pride ourselves on offering a fun and vibrant atmosphere to all our guests at competitive rates.

As you will be aware we offer our services to a diverse cross section of clientele from all walks of life, with various age groups and demographics taking the opportunity to experience our unique ambience. The hotel is very popular with families, many of whom return regularly, as we offer a safe and friendly service.

I am saddened to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion and can assure that all the points, which have been raised, will be looked into in an effort to improve our standards and develop further the services that we offer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review and everyone here at the Norbreck looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Mr Tony Banks
General Manager
The Norbreck Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2011

something out of the dark ages rooms interiors 1980's smell was like damp window didnt open. If you like to be kept awake all night by load music its fantastic but would'nt recomend the beds not many springs that dont poke out. Floor the best option. Feeding time at the zoo and not forgetting the feeling of being in an old folks home.....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunshine04303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norbreck_Castle, Manager at Norbreck Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2011

Dear sunshine04303

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay at the Norbreck Castle Hotel. The Hotel is very popular with clients of all ages and thousands of families visit the hotel each year and many chose to return again and again as we offer a safe and friendly service, I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
I wish to thank you for your balanced feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Mr Tony Banks
General Manager
The Norbreck Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2011

we have just come home from a 2 day stay at the Norbreck Castle and it was awful, when i first walked into reception it was the same as the hotel in The Shining! The only thing missing was Jack Nicolson
When the receptionist gave us our key she pointed and said, "your room is that way". now there are 480 room in this hotel, so it took a while to find it.. We paid extra for an upgraded room and i would hate to see a ' normal ' room because ours was awful, There was toilet paper in the toilet when we arrived, the walls and paintwork were scuffed, ( i later found out from another resident that they have smoking rooms so that would explain the yellow paintwork) There were tea and coffee splashes on the walls, which would take 2 minutes to wipe off, a very creaky bed with a very thin quilt, and the furniture was very old and scratched............. The staff obviously get told off if they smile, and we weren't told where our room was, or about the facilities. when i asked where the dining room was she said we had to book a time for the evening meal which i didnt know about (good job i asked where the dining room was or i would never have known).........The dining room reminded me of the school dinner hall, the inch thick bacon was microwaved (it was very pink) and the toast was like chewing leather along with cold stewed tea! .. Not a nice place!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norbreck_Castle, Manager at Norbreck Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2011

Dear Barbara I

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on trip advisor, as it is only through constructive comments such as yours that we can constantly monitor the standards of service we offer our guests.

I am saddened to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion and can assure that all the points, which have been raised, will be looked into in an effort to improve our standards and develop further the services that we offer.

Tony Banks
General Manager
Norbreck Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2011

rooms were very basic not compared to price i made a complaint and left hotel at 4am on the second night /Hi i booked 2 rooms at your hotel in blackpool norbreck castle think it was 28th and 29th of july on the first night we returned to hotel and we came in 2 taxis first taxi i was in the group that was with me whent to bed and i was on the pc in the hotel lobby thir was 3 security a sleep behind me this was around 3 am when the second taxi arrived one ogf my friends came into lobby and said have u lot not got jobs to do after that we went to bed.

Day 2 we went out and i had one drink as we had early drive in morning we returned to hotel ans security was awake on facebook on thir phones so i said oh u up tonight which one replyed we was last night i said i was on pc 20 mins and u didnt even know i was thir anyway go to bed get in bed phone rings around 4am bye now i was sleeping the person on the phone said they have had 2 complaints about my room and one more and we will be kicked out i said this was not true as im in bed i decided a could stay thir with the threat of being removed at 4am so i woke everyone up and left your hotel on my way home i was puled bye 2 traffic police saying they had a report from your security saying i was drink driving well i obviously passed the test and even the police when i explained said thir were being out of order so the i ring your hotel and got a letter ive attached to this email im not happy with whot has been offered and i never want to visist your norbeck hotel again ive stayed in meny of your hotels and always been happy please can u look into this as a discount is a insult after whot i webt through thank you for reading my email Letter attached off hotel THIS WHOT OSE NT THEM THIR REPLY WAS AS FOLLOWS /Good Morning Mr Taylor

Many Thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay with us, Mrs Sheridan has offered you a Preferential rate on your next stay with us.

We are satisfied that Mrs Sheridan has investigated the complaint properly and we are happy with Mrs Sheridan's reply.

We once again thank you for bringing your points to our attention.

We believe the complaint is not closed.

Kind Regards

Customer Services

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justint223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews