We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,712)
Filter reviews
6,712 results
Traveller rating
418
908
1,294
1,044
3,048
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
418
908
1,294
1,044
3,048
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5,297 - 5,302 of 6,712 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I cannot fault the hotel staff for making our break very relaxing for the two days we stayed there. However, much is desperately in need of redecoration and updating and the facade is crumbling. Work has been completed on the southern end of the hotel and does look impressive.
If you end up in the Windsor wing check your room is non smoking!

Bar prices are pretty much what you expect in a hotel but affordable, however look out for the happy hour between 5pm and 7pm when drinks (pints) are £2.20.
The breakfast buffet food is very good though can be very busy. Don't try for the 7.30am start as it is manic with the long queues of guests for their turn , we found the 8.30am slot perfect.
Though we didn't have the evening meals they looked and smelled very delicious.

The leisure suite was fantastic and very relaxing and the 35 seat cinema was good though films not latest releases.

Few other tips:
Taxi to Blackpool £6.80-£7.20 (trams are expensive) if you have a car may be worth driving into town and parking. (4 miles into town)
Parking: Use the large carpark by the railway station £2.50 for 12 hours...bargin!

Room Tip: When requesting a non smoking room at booking, double check this on arrival as some rooms have clearly had smokers in there.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eezzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2012

we went over night with two friends never again had to wait 4hrs to get in our room took ages to be served a drink....food awful it was packed we were treated like cattle...we went with national holidays complained to them but have done nothing only to say they they haven`t had any complaints i very much doubt this...our bedroom view at the back of the castle was stagnent water with allsorts of rubbish floating about in it. disgusting i even sent the pictures to national but have had no reply!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexandrea123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2012

After looking at many reviews we were quite apprehensive as to what to expect from our 2 night stay in March 2012. However the hotel hit all our requirements for dog friendly with good leisure facilities including decent sized swimming pool, and close to good long beach walks. Additionally the online rate for a double B&B seemed too good to be true. In reality we had a decent enough double room on the 5th floor with amazing views up and down the coast. Swimming pool fine although the steam room was out of order for our stay. Couldn't fault any staff we had contact with. Receptionists very helpful with insulin for dog and other information and efficient service from restaurant staff. Did not eat evening meal in the hotel but had very impressive 4 course curry for less that £10 at a restaurant 10 to 15 minutes walk away. Not too keen on breakfast although there was fruit and yoghurt and fruit juice if you didn't want the hot stuff, which there was plenty of but which was not of the highest quality. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Well worth it for the price we paid and were quite happy with the out of centre location with ample free parking.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freddypup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Travelled over 150miles to get there only to find it is absolutely disgusting, no where near to Blackpool attractions, room was filthy and damp very cold, staff not very helpfull. Did over 300 miles round trip for absolutely nothing very very disapointing, i agree with what other people have said about this hotel and i will definately never ever be booking in there again even if it was for free.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamieandalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2012

on arriving you are told the meal times and other things about the hotel which is normal practice but at meal times you have to wait in line like a child untilsome one can be botherd to show you were you can sit this took half an hour the food is either cold or over cooked and burned.after along journey you like a nice room not here it was dirty from top to bottom the added attraction of torn curtains and mud up the side of the bed are a must for everyone not to have.the nights entertainment was in the concert room it was colder in side than out side the added attraction of over eager bouncers is a must see .

we will go back to blackpool they all cant be like this hotel

Room Tip: try another hotel
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank briantongrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews