We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Blackpoole”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We staid in the Big Blue Hotel for Two nights the room was very comfortable and the hotel staff were very helpful and polite, the food in the restaurant was also very good. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Family Room Front facing is better as roller coaster from the pleasure park is at the back of the ho...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,148)
There are newer reviews for Big Blue Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,446 - 2,452 of 3,148 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

Several times a year, the conference and holiday seasons mean that all of the major hotels in Blackpool are booked up. This is how I came to stay at the Big Blue Hotel.

What a lovely hotel it is. Well decorated, clean and spacious with friendly and helpful staff. The room was ideal and, with a flame-effect electric fire and - unusually - a DVD player, it was positively cosy. Ideal for a cold winter night.

Breakfast was a good selection of hot and cold food, not as extensive as hotels such as the Hilton or Imperial, but more than adequate. The evening menu is a la carte with a good range of high quality food and good standards of service, though the restaurant itself was certainly not busy.

The car park requires a key code to exit, something that should be provided on check-in but is sometimes neglected. This can be annoying when you get to the barrier and then have to walk the 75m or so back to reception to get the exit details.

Overall, I would probably stay there again though with one caveat: the room I stayed in backed directly onto the Pleasure Beach rollercoaster - the tracks were roughly 10m away. In winter it was very quiet as the Pleasure Beach was closed, but during opening times I can imagine that the room would be quite noisy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank storuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

this hotel is very clean.rooms excellent.breakfast brilliant.nice relaxing hotel.would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 987,654,321,186,337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We have stayed at the Big Blue a few times, its a refreshing change to some of the many horrendous Blackpool Hotels that seem to only cater for Hen and Stag weekends!.. this is not the case at the Big Blue, its modern, clean, child friendly and perfectly situated for the Pleasure Beach and south pier.
Food was good, just one thing missing at breakfast.. mushrooms!,not the end of the world but an English breakfast isnt complete without them! ha.. we also had dinner and the food was very good quality and well presented.
we stayed in a deluxe family room, spacious,clean and my 4 year old loved his own little "blue room" with bunkbeds, big snakes and ladders board and TV.
would be nice if the hotel installed safety deposit boxes to the rooms, have to leave valuables in the reception area at present.
Staff were very friendly, polite and helpful, from the reception, restaurant and bar staff, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie160174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Just returned from a fab weekend break at the Big Blue. Booked direct on their own website and on arrival were very pleased to have been upgraded to a delux room. Staff on reception were very polite and efficient. We enjoyed a lovely meal in the resturaunt. Lots of choice and well priced for very good quality food. Lovely spacious room, very clean, extra comfy bed :). All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Visited Blackpool many many times but don't think I could stay any where other than the Big Blue from now on! Will return in the near future with the family. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a delux room unexpectedly but defiantly would be worth paying the extra few quid...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lancashirehotpot74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed 3 times last year and the breakfast was fantastic every time but they've certainly let their standards slip. The crispy bacon, well-cooked sausages and well roasted potatoes of last year have turned into soggy bacon, sausages and potatoes this year. I would have put it down to the chef being changed but it is exactly the same woman as last year. She was even late putting out hte potatoes the other day but if they were the same as the previous day I certainly didn't miss much.

It's a real shame that standards have slipped becuase this hotel had a lot going for it even though housekeeping never replaced shower caps and the pillows are on the lumpy side. I can only imagine because the hotel is not very busy they feel they don't have to make an effort but they've just lost a customer with a losy attitude like that.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Icecoldlogic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

1 night stay booked over Valentines weekend.
On arrival we were told we had a free upgrade to the superior suite. The suite was complete luxury with his and hers robes and slippers, bottle of wine, kettle and Esspresso coffee machine and lots of other little extras.
We actually only left the suite to go for dinner at the restaurant which sadly didn't meet my expectations and was quite overpriced too, Didn't mind though as the accommodation more than made up for it. Breakfast was lovely with lots of variety too - full english, cereals and pastries.
The staff were very polite and chipper which makes all the difference to your experience.
My only complaint would be that the check in time of 2.00pm is a little late.
May I suggest that superior rooms and suites come with the bonus of an earlier arrival time??.
Would most definitely visit again!!!

Room Tip: If you arrive early, ask at reception if you can leave car in their car park as we did, saved ourse...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niki f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
4.6 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,102 reviews
4.4 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,260 reviews
0.0 km away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,027 reviews
1.9 km away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
862 reviews
4.2 km away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $128 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing