We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Canasta Hotel
Ranked #220 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 October 2011

From the moment you arrive, you are greeted like an old friend, with a warm welcoming smile and a nice cuppa whilst you are checked in, then staff help park your car and carry your bags into the Hotel, the Hotel run a yellow & red card system to insure other guests do not spoil your stay at The Canasta Hotel, the staff are ALWAYS available to assist you and via a bell a reception dueing the night, through out our stay at the Canasta the staff was so helpful and always with a smile and a joke, even on the wettest days their up beat attitude brighten our day, really can't say enough about the Hotel and staff, you really need to stay to get the full picture of just how warm this hotel is.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pathfinderpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Thanks for the review Pete - we're so pleased you enjoyed our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

The hotel season in Blackpool is long, starting from Easter and going through till the end of November. It is clear that Doug and his wife Mandy work a seven day week. How anyone can find the stamina to do that I have no idea.
On arrival we were offered to your coffee which makes a nice start. there are indeed 16 parking places but you have to leave your keys at reception as unless you are parked nearest to the street, other cars have to be moved to let you out. I felt more comfortable parking in the back streets behind where there are no restrictions.
It is convenient to have free Internet access at the bar so I could glance at my e-mail from time to time.
The rooms are not vast but adequate for a short stay.
I noticed that in general the food portions are good, but in this case the breakfast portions were particularly generous. My partner had different types of fish including haddock and found them very fresh.
With over 700 bed-and-breakfast establishments and hotels the competition is ferocious. I paid £125 for a Saturday and Sunday night stay for two of us which is around £31 per person per night. If you walk along the promenade you will notice signs offering rooms from £12 but I think frankly you get what you pay for.
There was no food served in the evening but there are masses of restaurants, and hotels serving foods so this is not a problem.
They have karaoke and quizzes when the demand is there.
I cannot speak for all the other hotels but I found this a pleasant enough introduction to this my first visit to Blackpool.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back can be a little noisy because they abbut on a main road but in general the noise d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian-Snellgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Thanks for taking the time to write the detailed review Brian. We're pleased you had a pleasant stay. I agree with all your points.

Yes - it's a long season but we always have lots of time off in the winter months to recharge :)

The rear facing rooms are compact but, as you mentioned, adequete for a short stay. As they overlook the rear of the hotel onto the main road at the back of the property then passing traffic noise may disturb especially if you leave the bedroom window open (it was one of the hottest weekends we have had). As mentioned though noise will diminish later at night.

Yes - we're quite proud of our breakfasts. The haddock is on form at the moment and is popular. We also offer kippers as well as the traditional 9 item English brekkie. We're glad you enjoyed them. For the knowledge of potential future guests we do not serve evening meals but do have menus for local takeways and lay a table for you providng crockery and cutlery (no charge). We do ask you do this before 10pm though. We also recommend 5 restaurants in town - you aint going to go hungry!

There are more hotel beds in Blackpool than the whole of Portugal so competition is stiff and we're pleased you found us to be good value.

Yes - Blackpool was designed with the horse and cart in mind - not the modern day equivalent so parking is tight. If our car park is full then guests can usually get parked nearby on a well lit main road - and its free. No problems have been reported to us in 10 years.

Having read your other reviews on Blackpool, especially the Tower Ballroom we're glad you had a great time. The ballroom is a magical place. We were lucky enough to see the Kings of Swing act there and it has such great acoustics for this type of music.

Thanks again.
Doug and Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Thank you for a lovely welcome when we were looking for a hotel for the weekend
got a friendly welcome when we walked through the door, room was excellent, clean tidy and big

Breakfast was superb - cannot fault you on anything

Will certainly be back again - telling everybody we know how great you all were

Big pats on the back for all the staff & yourselves

Karen & George - Aberdeen

Room Tip: Large room at the front of the hotel is great for the view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Thanks very much Karen and George.
We appreciate you choosing us to stay with and taking the time to make the review.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Just back from an enjoyable weekend stay at this friendly, spotless, comfortable hotel. The rooms are comfortable, and kept clean. Big tasty breakfast! Good entertainment and a short walk from all the shops and pubs, in a quiet area at night so no problems sleeping! Staff friendly really good atmosphere all in. Thanks for a good stay
Regards
Stuart & Sharon
Tony & Debbie

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuarty2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Thanks very much Stuart & Sharon and Tony & Debbie for your business. We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves. Thanks for taking the time to make the comments.

Just a note about entertainment for potential future guests - we don't always have entertainment on - when we do its normally karaoke and obviously we need a few singers in for that to be worthwhile. I just didnt want anyone thinking we *always* have entertainment on :).
September and October weekends and most Bank Holidays we do and then it's selected weekends if there is sufficient demand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

As soon as you walk through the door you know that you have made a good decision. The atmosphere is so friendly, The hotel spotless,the breakfast 1st class and only exceeded by the management and staff in their efforts in making your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: The front seaviews are wort that bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pensioner50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Thanks very much Ellie and Colin for taking the time to make those comments. It makes our job all the more worthwhile when we get appreciative comments like this. I'll give the team a big group hug :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

we were looking for a week away after my wife was told she couldn't fly due to kidney illness so we searched the internet and found this wonderful hotel in a great location just a short walk from the center and a great view of the sea from the lounge, staff always polite, helpful and approachable,rooms a good size even for the slightly rotund person like me good size shower with plenty room, hope to be visiting the canasta more often now that we have found it,the breakfast was just the tops my compliments to the cook. well worth the visit

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

Thanks very much for the glowing review Andy S. The pleasure was ours. I'll give the staff a pat on the back :) We'll look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

agood welcome awaits you here . acup of tea or coffee for free all day long when you walk in .good sized and clean rooms towels changed every day .a good full english braekfast in the mornig or any varyation .it is the best hotel i have been in blackpool with the gand kids nothing too much trouble. thanks again for the 4 days we had there will definately be back .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2011

Thanks very much for the glowing review barrie07. It gives us all tremendous job satisfaction when we know we're getting it right. I'll make sure the team read this. We'll look forward to welcoming your family again (and the teddies too!)
:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackpool
0.2 km away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
1,597 reviews
24.6 km away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#9 of 15 in Preston
619 reviews
0.6 km away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Shard Riverside Hotel
Shard Riverside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poulton Le Fylde
573 reviews
4.3 km away
Stuart Hotel
Stuart Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
271 reviews
1.2 km away
Chequers Plaza Hotel Blackpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canasta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canasta Hotel

Address: 288-290 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $65 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canasta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 en suite bedrooms (10 with sea views) located on the seafront within 10 minutes walk from the Blackpool Tower. Family run hotel - very friendly and meticulously clean. No stag or hen parties. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing